Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Man I Think I Know

The Man I Think I Know

As seen on ITV in the Zoe Ball Book Club

‘What a beautiful, tender, unexpected story. It uplifted me a lot. It was LOVELY’ Marian Keyes

‘Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet’ Heat, 5*

This is the stunning new novel from bestselling author Mike Gayle, for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. A powerful and bittersweet story of an unexpected male friendship and an unlikely love story, a thought provoking storyline told with Mike’s distinctive wit and insight, touching on issues which affect us all. This uplifting tale reminds us of the simple courage at the heart of every human being.

Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.

He likes to know what happens next.

Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.

The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly.

But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways.

*******************

Praise for The Man I Think I Know

‘Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming…reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences’ Ruth Hogan

‘That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship…I absolutely loved it’ Lisa Jewell

‘Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him – read it!’ Jenny Colgan

You’ll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read’ Fabulous magazine

*******************

Readers are raving about this book!

‘This is one of those books that is tugging on your heartstrings one moment and has you laughing out loud the next – another stunning plot line and narrative from Mike Gayle.’

‘I loved the narrative and I left this novel feeling totally uplifted . . . I now feel like there is some hope in the world!’

‘This book is sad, funny, quirky, touching, heartbreaking but – and this is going to sound totally cliched and corny – life affirming.’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 19th April 2018

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781473608986

Reviews

A very special book. A moving, thought-provoking storyline told with humour and insight. I loved the distinctive voices of James and Danny and really missed them when I finished it!
Tracy Rees
Mike Gayle is the king of touching, human stories, and this big-hearted book is his best yet. 5*
Heat
Mike is always wise and wonderful, but this is a whole new departure for him - read it!
Jenny Colgan
The Man I Think I Know is gloriously good. Touching, uplifting, brave and funny, it's a story of life, second chances and daring to believe in better things. James and Danny's friendship is beautifully portrayed: I was rooting for them from the start and cheering them to the finish. I defy anyone not to fall in love with this book. Downright wonderful!
Miranda Dickinson
You'll be both laughing and on the edge of tears with this brilliant read
Fabulous magazine
The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle is amazing! Really uplifting and a jolly good read to boot
Katie Fforde
That rarest of things; a moving, beautifully written novel about male friendship. The Man I Think I Know is a truthful, wise and wonderfully redemptive story about men stripped bare of the traditional ideals of masculinity - success, strength, power - learning to face up to the real world. I absolutely loved it.
Lisa Jewell
Powerful
Hello magazine
Loved this novel - insightful, moving and funny. Read it
Freya North
Beautifully written, thought-provoking and completely charming. Mike does a wonderful job of tackling a tricky subject (ABI) with sensitivity, wit and humour. His story reminds us that the everyday things we take for granted without realising how precious they are, can be snatched away in an instant with catastrophic consequences. But I think the thing that struck me most about this book were the voices of Danny Allen and James DeWitt. They were pitch-perfect and helped to create a pair of characters I was rooting for from the start and cheering for by the end.
Ruth Hogan