Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Ivy Tree

The Ivy Tree

Mary Stewart, one of the great British storytellers of the 20th century, transports her readers to rural Northumberland for this tale of romance, ambition, and deceit – a perfect fit for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.

There are few to equal Mary Stewart‘ Daily Telegraph

‘Mary Stewart is magic.’ New York Times

Whitescar is a beautiful old house and farm situated in Roman Wall country. It will make a rich inheritance for its heirs, but in order to secure it, they enlist the help of a young woman named Mary who bears remarkable resemblance to missing Whitescar heiress, Annabel Winslow. Their deception will spark a powder-keg of ambition, obsession and long-dead love.

The ivy had reached for the tree and only the tree’s upper branches managed to thrust the young gold leaves of early summer through the strangling curtain. Eventually the ivy would kill it . . .


One of the great British storytellers of the 20th centuryIndependent

The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writingDaily Express
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 28th April 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444720471

Reviews

The Ivy Tree has the ideal thriller blend of plot, suspense, character drawing and good writing
<i>Daily Express</i>
Mary Stewart harvests a rewarding field. Her credible heroines get caught up in credible adventures; her place is deceptively gentle; her atmosphere perfect
<i>Evening Standard</i>
She set the bench mark for pace, suspense and romance - with a great dollop of escapism as the icing
Elizabeth Buchan
A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.
Harriet Evans