Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Venetian Contract

The Venetian Contract

Like her bestselling THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO, Marina Fiorato’s fifth unforgettable historical love story is set in Venice. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

1576. Five years after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire at the Battle of Lepanto, a ship steals unnoticed into Venice bearing a deadly cargo. A man more dead than alive, disembarks and staggers into Piazza San Marco. He brings a gift to Venice from Constantinople. Within days the city is infected with bubonic plague – and the Turkish Sultan has his revenge.

But the ship also holds a secret stowaway – Feyra, a young and beautiful harem doctor fleeing a future as the Sultan’s concubine. Only her wits and medical knowledge keep her alive as the plague ravages Venice. In despair the Doge commissions the architect Andrea Palladio to build the greatest church of his career – an offering to God so magnificent that Venice will be saved. But Palladio’s own life is in danger too, and it will require all skills of medico Annibale Cason, the city’s finest plague doctor, to keep him alive.

But what Annibale had not counted on was meeting Feyra, who is now under Palladio’s protection, a woman who can not only match his medical skills but can also teach him how to care.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 21st June 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848545663

Reviews

'Captures the scents, passion and vigour of Italy'
Books Quarterly
'I absolutely loved this story'
debrasbookcafe.blogspot.co.uk
'A great holiday read with solid historical substance'
Historical Novels Review
Praise for Marina Fiorato: 'Fiorato creates her own masterpiece'
Booklist
'A great read'
Best
'If you like historical fiction and/or medical dramas, you should really give this a try. Fiorato writes with a deft hand and creates a whirlwind world that is excitingly beautiful and uncertain'
http://bcfreviews.wordpress.com
'[Fiorato's] knowledge of the city and its history shines through on every page'
Choice Magazine