Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Glassblower of Murano

The Glassblower of Murano

The bestselling first historical love story set in Venice, from Marina Fiorato. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir.

1681. Glassblowing is the lifeblood of the Republic and Venetian mirrors are more precious than gold. Jealously guarded by the murderous Council of Ten, the glassblowers of Murano are virtually imprisoned on their island in the lagoon.

But the greatest artist of their number, Corradino Manin, sells his methods and his soul to the Sun King, Louise XIV of France, to protect his secret daughter . . . Centuries later his descendant, Nora Manin, escapes an unhappy life in London, determined to apprentice as a glassblower in the city of her ancestors. Passionate and gifted, her famous family name places her in danger within the ancient foundries when timeles rivalries rise to the surface. As she finds new life and love in Venice, Nora’s fate becomes inextricably linked with that of Corradino as the treacherous secrets of his life come to light.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 19th July 2012

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781848547957

Reviews

'A great read with a plot that moves seamlessly between seventeenth-century and modern-day Venice. If you've never been there, you'll be booking to go, if you have, you'll be going back!'
Best
'Recommended'
Good Book Guide
'As mesmerising as the perfecet glass at its heart'
Waterstones Books Quarterly
'The enchanting tale of one woman, her past and the magical art of glassmaking is rich with passion, mystery and intrigue'
Booktime
'A sizzling . . . read, and a must to pack in the suitcase'
Italian Magazine