Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Kit
An unforgettable historical romance based on an astonishing true story from international bestseller Mariano Fiorato – perfect for fans of Poldark and The Scandalous Lady W.

Dublin 1702. Irish beauty Kit Kavanagh has everything she could want in life. Newly married, she runs a successful alehouse with her beloved husband Richard. The wars that rage in Europe over the Spanish throne seem a world away.

But everything changes on the night that Richard simply disappears. Finding the Queen’s shilling at the bottom of Richard’s tankard, Kit realizes that her husband has been taken for a soldier.

Kit follows Richard’s trail across the battlefields of Italy in the Duke of Marlborough’s regiment. Living as a man, risking her life in battle, she forms a close bond with her wry and handsome commanding officer Captain Ross.

When she is forced to flee the regiment following a duel, she evades capture by dressing once more as a woman. But the war is not over for Kit. Her beauty catches the eye of the scheming Duke of Ormonde, who recruits her to spy upon the French. In her finery she meets Captain Ross once again, who seems just as drawn to the woman as he was to the soldier.

Torn between Captain Ross and her loyalty to her husband, and under the orders of the English Crown, Kit finds that her life is in more danger now than on the battlefield.

(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 16th July 2015

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781473610484

Reviews

Fiorato has written a delightful, if undemanding, adventure story. Our heroine is feisty, the captain is dashing and the plot rollicks along. Great fun.
Times
Wonderful . . . hard to put down. A truly imaginative piece, both touching and delightful.
Jenny Agutter
Richly detailed and evocative . . . an unforgettable historical love story. Beautifully written and worth losing yourself in.
Candis Magazine
In Marina Fiorato's beautifully imagined novel, these two witty, fierce characters once again get to take centre stage . . . Not only does she fill out the details of the protagonists' lives, transforming them into characters with backgrounds, histories and contexts, but she creates meaningful and inventive narratives that inform the play . . . this book is a real pleasure.
We Love This Book
Entertaining and witty
Daily Mail
Fiorato creates her own masterpiece
Booklist
A great read
Best