Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Crimson and Bone

Crimson and Bone

‘A rich jewel of a story, full of desire and danger’ – Julie Cohen. A dark tale of love and obsession, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White.

London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for – she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter – and her world is changed forever.

Francis takes Annie as his artist’s muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society’s darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind.

But Annie’s lavish new life is not all it seems – and there are some who won’t let her forget where she came from…

‘A thrilling tale of love, lust and revenge’ The Lady

‘A captivating gothic blend of mystery and romance’ Sunday Mirror

‘Exquisite…this is historical fiction at its best’ – Book Literarti Reviews

‘Gothic, dark [and] rich with atmosphere’ – Louise Loves books

‘A glorious story of art and passion’ – Tea Party Princess

‘Dazzling’ Goodreads Reviewer

‘Captivating’ Goodreads Reviewer

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 17th May 2017

Price: £17.99

ISBN-13: 9781473610507

Reviews

'An exquisite read...will keep you engaged from the first page to the last. This is historical fiction at its best.'
Book Literarti Reviews
Marina Fiorato's latest novel will delight her ever increasing number of fans
Dilly Court, bestselling author
Jack the Ripper meets Pygmalion... very creepy
Best
'A rich jewel of a story, full of colour, desire and danger. I was transfixed.'
Julie Cohen, author of <i>Dear Thing</i>
Captured in every character and locale is Fiorato's artistic flourish: a true chiaroscurist, she renders her models not only with radiant colour but rich meaning
To the End of Her Days
A thrilling tale of love, lust, and revenge
The Lady
A captivating Gothic blend of mystery and romance
Sunday Mirror
A great summer read, I would highly recommend it if you enjoy tense, romantic thrillers, and have an interest in the Victorian art world.
Sixty Surfers
A beautifully-crafted novel..., by turns opulent and visceral. The encroaching sense of menace was perfectly paced, as was the slow reveal of the shocking truth underpinning the story. I adored it.
Clare Harvey, author of <i>The Gunner Girl</i>