Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Competition

The Competition

Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight is brought in to the aftermath of a high-school shooting in Marcia Clark’s gripping legal thriller – perfect for fans of David Baldacci and James Patterson.

It’s every parent’s nightmare.

When a high-school shooting leaves dozens dead, including the killers, the grieving community can at least be sure it won’t happen again.

But as prosecutor Rachel Knight and detective Bailey Keller dig deeper, they realise that the worst isn’t over. The clues at the crime scene don’t add up. It seems that the real shooters are still out there…

In the chaos that follows, Rachel and Bailey must scramble to identify the suspects and stop them before they can strike again.

Because the killers have plans. They want to beat their competition.

They want to be the best… at murder.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 3rd July 2014

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781444755299

Reviews

A refreshing and suspenseful portrayal of high-stakes trials
Los Angeles Times
Marcia Clark has upped the ante yet again... Pulse-pounding, poignant, and provocative, this is a story that will engage your heart and your mind
Examiner
Suspenseful and gripping.... the best yet in the series. Clark's own expertise enables her to realistically portray the drama and vicissitudes of a criminal prosecution
Publishers Weekly
Marcia Clark's debut novel showcases her experience and knowledge of the legal system. The pace, plot and dialogue are as sharp as they come in the genre.
David Baldacci
It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller.
James Patterson
Legal thrillers don't get much better than this.... Boasting a feisty protagonist, a winning supporting cast, and steadily escalating courtroom drama, KILLER AMBITION finds Clark at the top of her game
Booklist
Clark handles sometimes painfully raw scenes with great sensitivity...a tour de force
Booklist
It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller
James Patterson
Taut, compelling, and accomplished, with a gritty authenticity that comes from an insider's knowledge of the criminal justice system...A first rate legal thriller
Meg Gardiner
Praise for Marcia Clark and the Rachel Knight series
.
When it comes to Californian crime, Ms Clark knows her onions
Grazia
Knight makes a compelling protagonist - rebellious, straight-forward, salty
Guardian
You must read this book: it is wildly and complexly plotted, ebulliently witty and filled with riotous humor; it details the inner workings of the L.A. legal system with unprecedented accuracy and verve - and to top it off, it is a damn, damn, good thriller
James Ellroy
Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget. She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time. Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini
Joseph Finder
Thrilling
Closer
This introduction to LA special prosecutor Rachel Knight charms from the first line then surfs a tide of knockabout humour, sassy backchat and armour-piercing observation
Daily Telegraph
A ticking time bomb of a thriller...The twisty plot and dynamic duo make for a suspenseful, if sobering, page-turner
Publishers Weekly
Spying on the system's inner workings proves increasingly addictive, and it's refreshing to find a lead character pursuing a stressful life because she actually enjoys it. A blade-sharp read.
Financial Times