We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Killer Ambition

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781444755251

Price: £7.99

ON SALE: 6th June 2013

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

In this gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, Rachel Knight faces down the dark side of Hollywood – perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci.

Would you kill to protect your career?

When the teenage daughter of a billionaire director is kidnapped, Deputy DA Rachel Knight and Detective Bailey Killer are on the case. But things go wrong fast. The girl is found murdered, and the man they suspect has rich and powerful friends.

In the hostile glare of the media, under attack from her own bosses, Rachel prepares the case for trial. She will bring the truth to light… no matter who wants it to stay hidden.

The stage is set for stunning courtroom drama and a thrilling ride through the dark side of Hollywood.

Reviews

Praise for Marcia Clark and the Rachel Knight series
.
It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller
James Patterson
Suspenseful and gripping.... Clark's own expertise enables her to realistically portray the drama and vicissitudes of a criminal prosecution
Publishers Weekly
Legal thrillers don't get much better than this.... Boasting a feisty protagonist, a winning supporting cast, and steadily escalating courtroom drama, KILLER AMBITION finds Clark at the top of her game
Booklist
A refreshing and suspenseful portrayal of high-stakes trials
Los Angeles Times
You must read this book: it is wildly and complexly plotted, ebulliently witty and filled with riotous humor; it details the inner workings of the L.A. legal system with unprecedented accuracy and verve - and to top it off, it is a damn, damn, good thriller
James Ellroy
Marcia Clark's debut novel showcases her experience and knowledge of the legal system. The pace, plot and dialogue are as sharp as they come in the genre.
David Baldacci
This introduction to LA special prosecutor Rachel Knight charms from the first line then surfs a tide of knockabout humour, sassy backchat and armour-piercing observation
Daily Telegraph
Taut, compelling, and accomplished, with a gritty authenticity that comes from an insider's knowledge of the criminal justice system...A first rate legal thriller
Meg Gardiner
Knight makes a compelling protagonist - rebellious, straight-forward, salty
Guardian
Spying on the system's inner workings proves increasingly addictive, and it's refreshing to find a lead character pursuing a stressful life because she actually enjoys it. A blade-sharp read.
Financial Times
Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget. She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time. Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini
Joseph Finder