We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Guilt By Degrees

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781444707557

Price: £7.99

ON SALE: 10th May 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Select a format:

Paperback
The gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci.

Rachel Knight has never been one to let justice slide from the grip of the law. So when a deputy district attorney mishandles a murder case and then shrugs it off – the victim was a homeless guy, so who cares? – she decides to take the case on herself.

With the help of Detective Bailey Keller, Rachel soon finds a missing piece of the puzzle. And a new mystery: the homeless man’s death is somehow connected to the vicious murder of a LAPD cop a year earlier.

The prime suspect in the murder was acquitted – but now Rachel and Bailey are hot on the trail of new leads. What Rachel doesn’t know is that she’s being watched. Someone is following her every move, and just waiting for a chance to strike…

Reviews

It's no big surprise that Marcia Clark knows her way around a courtroom, and a murder mystery - but she's also a terrific writer and storyteller.
James Patterson
Marcia Clark knows her villains, and GUILT BY DEGREES gives us one you won't forget. She also gives us one of the toughest and most appealing heroes to come along in a very long time. Prosecutor Rachel Knight is smart, funny, and just about fearless in her pursuit of justice and a good martini.
Joseph Finder
Praise for the Rachel Knight series
.
You must read this book: it is wildly and complexly plotted, ebulliently witty and filled with riotous humor; it details the inner workings of the L.A. legal system with unprecedented accuracy and verve - and to top it off, it is a damn, damn, good thriller.
James Ellroy
Charms from the first line then surfs a tide of knockabout humour, sassy backchat and armour-piercing observation
Daily Telegraph
Marcia Clark's debut novel showcases her experience and knowledge of the legal system. The pace, plot and dialogue are as sharp as they come in the genre.
David Baldacci
Knight makes a compelling protagonist - rebellious, straight-forward, salty
Guardian
Spying on the system's inner workings proves increasingly addictive, and it's refreshing to find a lead character pursuing a stressful life because she actually enjoys it. A blade-sharp read.
Financial Times
Taut, compelling, and accomplished, with a gritty authenticity that comes from an insider's knowledge of the criminal justice system...A first rate legal thriller
Meg Gardiner
Written with verve and wit, this is a superior piece of crime fiction that entertains from beginning to end.
Canberra Times
Suspenseful and gripping.... Clark's own expertise enables her to realistically portray the drama and vicissitudes of a criminal prosecution
Publishers Weekly
Legal thrillers don't get much better than this.... Boasting a feisty protagonist, a winning supporting cast, and steadily escalating courtroom drama, KILLER AMBITION finds Clark at the top of her game
Booklist
A refreshing and suspenseful portrayal of high-stakes trials
Los Angeles Times