We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Close to Home

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781444796186

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 28th August 2014

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Sarah McAdams needs a fresh start. So she’s come home to the shores of Oregon’s wild Columbia river, to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren’t impressed by the rundown property, and as soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories – of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found outside, feverish and delirious.

Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumours that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past.

But there’s a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters’ safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house’s walls closing in on her again.

Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more…

(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton

Reviews

Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers' nerves, and CLOSE TO HOME is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding's suspense novels or fans of Mary Higgins Clark
Booklist