Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Wicked Cometh

The Wicked Cometh

‘We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .’

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKS ARE MY BAG BREAKTHROUGH AUTHOR AWARD

‘Beguiling’ Stylist

*********

Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and the city’s vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.

When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock.

But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking. . .

A compelling page-turner from a gifted new voice in historical fiction, The Wicked Cometh is the perfect read for fans of The Witchfinder’s Sister, Fingersmith and The Essex Serpent.

*********

‘Carlin can tell a good story’ Observer

‘Contains lovely, lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart’ Sunday Express

‘A deliciously dark confection of a novel’ Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 1st February 2018

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781473661370

Reviews

You can almost taste the gin and the soot . . . but we reckon you'll be enjoying it too much to care
Metro
Splendidly diverting . . . Spirited and highly readable
Irish Times
The darkest corners of Georgian London are gleefully drawn in this brilliant story
Emerald Street
Richly detailed with well-drawn characters and evocative language, THE WICKED COMETH is an entertaining piece of Victoriana-style literature that's sure to label Carlin as one to watch
Culture Fly
Charming and a delight to read. An added bonus is that the cover of this book is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen.
Yorkshire Post
Satisfying
The Times
This deliciously dark confection of a novel has as many twists and turns as the London backstreets of its setting and I devoured it in two sittings!
Ruth Hogan, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS
Contains lovely lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart
Sunday Express
Historical fiction with a lesbian slant usually begs comparison with Sarah Waters, but Carlin is more than up to the task as she carefully weaves an eerie, evocative tale where no one can be trusted and everyone - even Hester herself - has secrets
DIVA Magazine
A captivating debut that brings the squalid and sinister Georgian London to life . . . will appeal to fans of vintage gothic à la Wilkie Collins and Sarah Waters
BookRiot
Carlin's great at conjuring up an image of darkest 1800s London, while her female characters are both of their time, while also being witty and modern
Stylist
Laura Carlin earns every single comparison to Sarah Waters she's going to get. It's a sterling, historical, dark, twisty novel
Kaite Welsh, Radio 4 Open Book
A delightful romp. I can't wait to see what Carlin writes next
Lauren James, author of THE NEXT TOGETHER