We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Voice, pace, suspense and detail – BLOOD BORN has it all’ – Lee Child on BLOOD BURN

The sixth Anya Crichton thriller in a series to rival Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta books.

It feels like the safest place on earth. A family-friendly, floating palace. But, as Anya Crichton soon discovers, cruise ships aren’t all that they seem…

Statistics tell us that a woman is twice as likely to be sexually assaulted on a cruise ship than on dry land. Customers aren’t screened, so the ships are a haven for sex offenders and paedophiles. With no policing, and floating in international waters, sexual assaults and passengers ‘disappearing’ are uncommonly frequent…

So when a teenage girl is discovered, dead on the deck of the ship that she is holidaying on, Anya feels compelled to get involved. There’s no apparent cause of death, but Anya’s forensics expertise uncovers more than the ship’s doctors can… or want to.

With the killer still on board, and subsequently a crew-member found shot, it becomes clear that the safe haven of the cruise-ship is actually anything but. And, as Anya comes under increasing pressure to abandon her investigations, will she continue? Or do whatever it takes to keep her own family safe?

The sixth book to feature forensic pathologist Anya Crichton is perfect for fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs.

Reviews

It's a good, well-written story, but read it as a fascinating and awful warning, not simply about the increase in crime on cruise ships but about the appalling details of life behind the scenes in today's water-borne Babels.
<i>Literary Review</i>
Kathryn Fox has found the perfect setting for her sixth crime novel featuring the forensic physician Anya Crichton - a cruise ship, from which no one can escape and which is a law unto itself in international waters . . . Well-executed high level suspense.
<i>Daily Mail</i>
with every new release Fox confirms her place at the morgue table of excellence with Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs and Lin Anderson. If you've yet to discover her scalpel-sharp thrillers, start here. Unless you're on a cruise.
<i>Daily Record</i> (Australia)
COLD GRAVE is certainly a book that I can recommend very highly. The pace is well-maintained, and builds carefully to a satisfying conclusion. In my view, Anya Crichton has already earned herself a place alongside Kay Scarpetta and Temperance Brennan.
www.reviewingtheevidence.com
Praise for Kathryn Fox:
...
Kathryn Fox has created a forensic physician who readers of Patricia Cornwell will adore
James Patterson
Brilliant and breathtaking... Lock your doors and read this book
Linda Fairstein
Voice, pace, suspense and detail - BLOOD BORN has it all
Lee Child
Kathryn Fox is Australia's answer to Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs
<i>Mail on Sunday</i>
A gritty pulse-racing thriller
<i>Woman & Home</i>
Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs and CSI will enjoy [this] new offering from doctor-turned-author Kathryn Fox... It's tense, believable stuff
<i>Sun</i>
If you're in the mood for a page-turner, you can't go wrong with this compelling thriller that puts Patricia Cornwell to shame... It's not for the faint-hearted, but you won't be able to put it down
<i>Look</i>
This book will have you holding your breath at every page, a perfect example of how good crime fiction beats the TV dramas hands down any day
<i>News of the World</i>
A novel with an important message . . . plenty of action and an interesting story
<i>Literary Review</i>
Praise for Kathryn Fox:
...
Kathryn Fox has created a forensic physician who readers of Patricia Cornwell will adore
James Patterson
Brilliant and breathtaking... Lock your doors and read this book
Linda Fairstein
Voice, pace, suspense and detail - BLOOD BORN has it all
Lee Child
Kathryn Fox is Australia's answer to Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs
<i>Mail on Sunday</i>
A gritty pulse-racing thriller
<i>Woman & Home</i>
Fans of Patricia Cornwell and Kathy Reichs and CSI will enjoy [this] new offering from doctor-turned-author Kathryn Fox... It's tense, believable stuff
<i>Sun</i>
If you're in the mood for a page-turner, you can't go wrong with this compelling thriller that puts Patricia Cornwell to shame... It's not for the faint-hearted, but you won't be able to put it down
<i>Look</i>
This book will have you holding your breath at every page, a perfect example of how good crime fiction beats the TV dramas hands down any day
<i>News of the World</i>
A novel with an important message . . . plenty of action and an interesting story
<i>Literary Review</i>