Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Winter Foundlings

The Winter Foundlings

Getting into the mind of a killer isn’t for the faint of heart… Psychologist Alice Quentin is running out of time to save a kidnapped child, in this thrilling novel for fans of Nicci French and Ruth Rendell.

Ella Williams is ten years old. She loves her granddad and her sister and her shiny new red shoes.

She’s just been abducted by a killer – someone who kidnaps young girls, holds them for a few weeks then returns their bodies clothed in white foundling dresses.

The crimes are clearly linked to notorious child murderer Louis Kinsella, locked away in a high-security hospital. Is it a copycat? Or is he giving someone direct orders from behind bars?

To save Ella’s life, psychologist Alice Quentin must form a relationship with Kinsella. But he is slow to give up his secrets, and all the while, time is running out…
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 14th August 2014

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781444738858

Reviews

Praise for Kate Rhodes
.
Kate Rhodes is the queen of atmospheric suspense. Her murder mysteries are extremely creepy and intriguing.
Gumshoe Reviews
Page-turning
Penny Hancock, author of <i>Tideline</i>
Like Nicci French, Kate Rhodes excels at character, pace and sense of place
Erin Kelly, author of THE POISON TREE
An exciting story, very well told
Literary Review
One of those books that leaves the reader wanting more. The life of each character is so vividly painted that even those in minor roles become intriguing, and the pace never slackens from the first page to the last.
Rachel Abbott, author of <i>Only the Innocent</i>
The suspense...will have nighttime readers pushing their bedtime well past reasonable limits
Booklist
Alice is a vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline
Sophie Hannah, <i>Sunday Express</i>
A terrific new heroine on the block
Woman & Home
Great twists, turns and surprises
Sun
An utterly brilliant, exhilarating read
Elizabeth Haynes, author of <i>Into the Darkest Corner</i>
An enjoyably scary chiller
Sunday Mirror
Atmospheric and suspenseful
Publishers Weekly
A fast-moving, entertaining mix of sex, suspense and serial killings
Washington Post
Fans of the first two books starring Quentin won't be disappointed; the mood is rife with fear and sexual tension as Quentin and Burns attempt to catch a child killer before he strikes again
Library Journal
One of the most absorbing books I've read in a long time. Alice Quentin is such a warm character - unique, yet very real. I loved the sense of menace too - perfectly thrilling.
Mel Sherratt, author of <i>Taunting the Dead</i>
A pacy psychological thriller that makes good use of its London setting
Laura Wilson, <i>Guardian</i>
First-rate writing
Publishers Weekly
Quentin is one of a cast of really believable and entertaining characters and both the plot and the writing keep one thoroughly engaged throughout
Daily Mail