We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Fervour

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781399724647

Price: £24.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The Secret History meets Jewish horror meets Jonathan Safran Foer in this exciting debut novel about a Jewish family in contemporary London.

Hannah and Eric are a successful couple living in North London with their three children and Eric’s father, Yosef, a survivor of the camps. They are devout Jews who believe in the literal truth of the Old Testament, all except for their youngest son, Tovyah.

The death of Yosef fractures the family’s apparent harmony and has a disastrous effect on Elsie, the model daughter, who disappears for four days, plunging her parents and siblings into a living nightmare. When she returns, just as mysteriously as she left, she is strangely altered.

Witnessing the complete transformation of their daughter’s personality and some increasingly hard-to-explain events, Hannah and Eric begin to suspect Elsie is under the influence of black magic while Tovyah, a brilliant university student, believes his sister is suffering a mental collapse caused by his parents’ antiquated beliefs.

But who is right? And can the family be reconciled before tearing itself apart?

(P)2024 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Fervour is the book we need now. Bracing, compassionate, wise, terrifying - this beautifully written novel will haunt your dreams. That is, if you can put it down long enough to get any sleep
Darin Strauss, author of MORE THAN IT HURTS YOU
Intriguing, propulsive and profoundly disturbing, this is a fearless look into the dark heart of family politics from a naturally gifted storyteller
Jonathan Coe, author of BOURNVILLE
Both a provocative work of Jewish horror and a modern biblical tale, Fervour is the tightly coiled story of an idiosyncratic family whose unlikely survival skills also spell its doom
Francisco Goldman, author of MONKEY BOY
A gripping and powerful story of a British Jewish family visited by ghosts and divided by politics . . . Fans of Isaac Bashevis Singer and Stephen King alike will thrill to this superb modern folk tale
Starred review, Publishers Weekly
Lloyd's suspenseful debut novel propels the reader deep into the heart of an idiosyncratic family . . . Infused with motifs from Jewish folklore and classic horror films, Fervour animates themes of betrayal, belief and the past's long tail
Hephzibah Anderson, Observer
A North London Jewish family, by turns close-knit and dysfunctional, take centre stage in Lloyd's remarkable debut . . . Lloyd has given himself a large canvas, peopled with complex characters, but produced a work of real poignancy
Max Davidson, Daily Mail
Lloyd splices paranormal chills with domestic intrigue in this tense debut about the disintegration of a devout Jewish family who suspect their daughter is possessed . . . A rich and dark stew that mixes ingredients from the Bible and the headlines, with a biting send-up of the vampiric nature of writing itself
Anthony Cummins, Daily Mail