Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman’s heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and David Nicholl’s US.

New York Times bestseller

‘Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving’ Daily Mail

‘Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it’ Spectator Books of the Year


At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible…
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fiction: Special Features / Fiction In Translation

On Sale: 17th November 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781444775815

Reviews

Readers seeking feel-good tales with a message will rave about the rantings of this solitary old man with a singular outlook. If there was an award for 'Most Charming Book of the Year,' this first novel by a Swedish blogger-turned-overnight-sensation would win hands down.
Booklist, starred review
A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish.
Gavin Extence, author of <i>The Universe versus Alex Woods</i>
A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish.
Gavin Extence, author of <i>The Universe versus Alex Woods</i>
A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish.
Gavin Extence, author of <i>The Universe versus Alex Woods</i>
A MAN CALLED OVE finally rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it. Crotchety old git Ove argues with neighbours, reluctantly inherits a cat, punches a clown and, by the end of the book, has you wanting to hug him.
Mark Mason, Spectator, Books of the Year
There is a method to the madness - by the end of this funny and touching book, you'll come round to Ove's way of thinking.
Mumsnet
Hilarious and heart-breaking.
Stylist
My absolute summer-reading must is A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman: perfect beach reading for a grumpy old man. It has all the minimalist delicacy of Stoner, but with a delicious wry wit. The book works on a very small scale, yet it sweeps through intense life dramas, all the while remaining funny, moving, uplifting...and a cracking good tale.
Rodney Bolt, author of <i>As Good as God, as Clever as the Devil: The Impossible Life of Mary Benson</i>
The most charming book you'll read this year.
Kirkus
An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places.
Sunday Express
It's warm, funny, and ultimately almost unbearably moving.
Daily Mail
It's warm, funny, and ultimately almost unbearably moving.
Daily Mail
It's warm, funny, with the laughs based on a solid grasp of character; and ultimately almost unbearably moving.
Daily Mail
A Man Called Ove finally rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it. Crotchety old git Ove argues with neighbours, reluctantly inherits a cat, punches a clown and, by the end of the book, has you wanting to hug him.
Spectator BOOKS OF THE YEAR
Ove will upset us, cause us to be upset on his behalf and make us laugh till we daren't drink fluids and read simultaneously but by the end we're uplifted and don't want to go.
Bookbag
Delightful ... the perfect holiday read.
Evening Standard
Hilarious and heartbreaking
Stylist
A Man Called Ove is a wonderful novel that will stay with you . . . Ove's story has an underlying sadness which the author tackles with great warmth and humour . . . It's a bittersweet, heart-warming tale which will leave listeners with a restored faith in the power of friendship and perhaps even a love for cats.
Psychologies Magazine
A Man Called Ove is exquisite. The lyrical language is the confetti thrown liberally throughout this celebration-of-life story, adding sparkle and color to an already spectacular party. Backman's characters feel so authentic that readers will likely find analogues living in their own neighborhoods.
Shelf Awareness starred review
Delightful ... the perfect holiday read.
<i>Evening Standard</i>
A funny crowd-pleaser that serves up laughs to accompany a thoughtful reflection on loss and love... The author writes with winning charm.
Publishers Weekly, starred review
A charming debut.
People
A Man Called Ove is exquisite. The lyrical language is the confetti thrown liberally throughout this celebration-of-life story, adding sparkle and colour to an already spectacular party. Backman's characters feel so authentic that readers will likely find analogues living in their own neighbourhoods.
Shelf Awareness, starred review
It's the most enchanting, beautiful tale.
Ben Fogle
The most charming book you'll read this year ... This charming debut novel by Backman should find a ready audience with English-language readers . . . hysterically funny . . . wry descriptions, excellent pacing . . . In the contest of Most Winning Combination, it would be hard to beat grumpy Ove and his hidden, generous heart.
Kirkus
A charming debut...You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll feel new sympathy for the curmudgeons in your life. You'll also want to move to Scandinavia, where everything's cuter.
People
An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places.
Sunday Express
There is a method to the madness - by the end of this funny and touching book, you'll come round to Ove's way of thinking.
Mumsnet
Readers seeking feel-good tales with a message will rave about the rantings of this solitary old man with a singular outlook. If there was an award for 'Most Charming Book of the Year,' this first novel by a Swedish blogger-turned-overnight-sensation would win hands down.
Booklist, starred review
A MAN CALLED OVE is a wonderful novel that will stay with you . . . Ove's story has an underlying sadness which the author tackles with great warmth and humour . . . It's a bittersweet, heartwarming tale which will leave listeners with a restored faith in the power of friendship and perhaps even a love for cats.
Psychologies Magazine
A charming debut.
<i>People</i>
Delightful... there's a bit of Ove in all of us - which makes it the perfect holiday read.
Evening Standard