We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Original Sins

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781444777840

Price: £20

ON SALE: 13th February 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields’ AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘The plot explodes with excitement and suspense, proving that Young has become a thriller writer to treasure’ Daily Mail ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It’s a brutal winter in Des Moines, Iowa, and the city is gripped by fear. A serial attacker known as the Sin Eater is stalking women and has just struck again. It’s a tough time and a tough place for Riley Fisher, a former small-town sergeant, to be reporting for duty as an FBI agent on her first assignment.

Teamed with a man she’s not sure she can trust and struggling to prove herself – while fighting the pull of her old life and family dramas – Riley is tasked with investigating a vicious death threat against the newly elected female state governor. Gradually, she traces a disturbing connection between this case and the hunt for the Sin Eater. Through snow, ice, violence and lies, Riley Fisher is drawn towards a terrifying revelation.

Erin Young follows up her acclaimed crime debut, The Fields, which has drawn comparisons with Mare of Easttown, Silence of the Lambs and True Detective, with another stunning thriller full of dark menace and suspense.

Reviews

Praise for The Fields:
The sharp prose and explosive plot immediately drew me in, but the richly textured exploration of life in rural America stayed with me long after I finished. This is a classic crime series in the making
Cristina Alger, bestselling author of Girls Like Us
Loved the vivid sense of place. Hints of True Detective & The Silence of the Lambs. EXCELLENT
Will Dean, bestselling author of The Last Thing to Burn
Young delivers a disturbing, twist-riddled thriller stocked with well-drawn characters
Publishers Weekly
[A] well-crafted procedural . . . vivid portraits of Black Hawk's denizens provide a compelling draw.
Booklist
This book will chill you to the bone. So atmospheric I feel like I've actually been to Des Moines. A complex, tense, dark thriller with a cop to root for and a killer to fear. So good!
Araminta Hall
Praise for Original Sins:
The Fields was an assured and thought provoking debut, but with Original Sins Erin Young takes the authenticity and pacing of her story telling to a new level. This book is both meticulously researched and enthralling.
Anthony Riches
A meticulously plotted police procedural that absolutely has it all: an icy setting in rural Iowa, a timely political backdrop... and one of the most chilling villains I've read in recent history. This book is perfect for fans of Tana French.
Stacy Willingham, New York Times bestselling author of A Flicker in the Dark
. . . intricate plotting, breakneck pacing - and, in FBI agent Riley Fisher, a compelling heroine you'll not soon forget.
Wendy Walker, author of What Remains
Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields.
AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party
Original Sins is compelling from the first page to the last, dealing with important and challenging issues through a propulsive, edge-of-the-seat narrative. A brilliant thriller, and Young's superb writing on every page, along with her engaging cast of characters, lifts the novel into a class of its own.
Marina Palmer, author of The Russian Doll
A proper cinematic thriller!
Tariq Ashkanani, author of Follow Me to the Edge
Incredible. A chilling, terrifyingly plausible and white-knuckle of a thriller. Erin Young's masterful writing makes you not only feel you've been airdropped into Des Moines but that the horrors that unfold are happening around you
Graham Bartlett
a high-octane, ardently feminist thriller
Publishers Weekly
A totally fresh take on the FBI procedural, ORIGINAL SINS is beautifully written and utterly absorbing - an absolute must-read
Kevin Wignall, author of A Death in Sweden
An intoxicating, atmospheric and tense thriller that compels you from the first page
Nadine Matheson, author of The Jigsaw Man
Horrifyingly compelling, ingeniously twisted, each character, every plot turn meticulously crafted. Forensic knowledge of middle America & pitch perfect detail. Brilliant
Sarah Sultoon, author of Death Flight
Erin Young knocks it out of the park with this one
HB Lyle, author of Spy Hunter
Dark, menacingly atmospheric and characters that vibrate off the page. At times poetic, I loved ORIGINAL SINS. Riley Fisher just might be my favourite ever detective!
Rachel Wolf, author of Five Nights
A nimble, assured thriller
New York Times
The plot explodes with excitement and suspense, proving that Young has become a thriller writer to treasure
Daily Mail
Original Sins shows Young can take what could be a routine procedural and reshape the plot into a feminist thriller . . . starts on a high note, barely giving the characters, or the readers, time to take a breath as the plot careens to a stunning finale. Fans of thriller writer Karin Slaughter will find much to like
Oline Cogdil
The plot explodes with excitement and suspense, proving that Young has become a thriller writer to treasure
Daily Mail
Erin Young has the unusual gift in a British author of being able to convey superbly her US setting, which is all snow and skyscrapers. A thriller to be on your radar, not under it
The Times