Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The First Stone

The First Stone

***Perfect for fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale***

America has been redeemed.

Felix Strange, veteran of a disastrous war in the Middle East, has returned to his native New York, to find his home nation changed. With a Christian extremist administration in the White House, and the Crusade of Love preparing the Untied States for the Second Coming, a new America is about to be born.

When a high-ranking preacher is found dead, Strange is tasked with bringing his murderer to justice. But what begins as a routine investigation will soon reveal the terrifying ways in which America is lurching towards totalitarianism itself.

The First Stone is the first novel in Elliott Hall’s cult hit Strange Trilogy: the eerily prescient series which foresaw the advent of new puritanism, and the rise of the American right.

************

Praise for The First Stone

The First Stone is a knockout . . . Strange’s sardonic wit makes him the perfect guide to his troublingly familiar landscape’ – Guardian

‘Ingenious and witty’ – Daily Telegraph

‘Outstanding‘ – Independent

‘Wonderful’ – The Times

‘An ingenious twist . . . Hall’s novel combines pacy storytelling with a disturbing dystopian vision’ – Mail on Sunday
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 19th March 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781848540729