Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Song of the Dead

Song of the Dead

DI WESTPHALL.
No ordinary detective.
No ordinary investigations.

A twisting new crime series set in the Scottish Highlands. For fans of Stephen King, James Oswald and John Connolly.

Detective Ben Westphall has been given his latest case because of his background in MI6. But it’s his ability to see every angle – even the impossible ones – that will help him in this investigation.

John Baden has come back from the dead. His parents and girlfriend identified his body twelve years ago. Yet he’s just walked into a police station, very much alive. Baden’s story sounds far-fetched – but it’s all about to get much, much stranger.

Westphall travels from the Highlands to Estonia in order to delve into Baden’s murky past. But when his suspects start dying, Westphall realises someone is killing to cover up the truth. He’ll have to question everything he’s been told, before there’s no one left to ask.

‘A darkly atmospheric thriller with a labyrinthine plot with more twists than a Grand Prix track’ – Michael Wood, author of the DCI Matilda Darke series

****************

What readers are saying about SONG OF THE DEAD

‘A brilliantly written, dark and twisting read . . . a step above the usual crime thrillers’

‘Excellent book! Loved the characters and it was a great storyline’

‘Completely wonderful . . . Really recommend, and I’ll be looking for other titles by this author’

‘Clever plotting which kept me turning the pages’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 7th February 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473696921

Reviews

A really tense murder mystery
Jaffa Reads Too
A really addictive plot, and so atmospheric. Clever and unexpected
S D Sykes, author of the Oswald de Lacy series
Douglas Lindsay is an underrated writer with an eccentric, blisteringly satirical voice . . . enjoyably bizarre. I loved it
Sunday Express
The novel's immersive and compelling dark mood whets the appetite for future instalments
Glasgow Herald
Readers who enjoy James Oswald's crime novels will devour fellow Scottish author Douglas Lindsay's ominous and atmospheric Song of the Dead...A brilliant introduction to the DI Westphall series
Culturefly
A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant
Tony Black, author of the DI Bob Valentine series
Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir
Publishers Weekly
As a hero, Westphall has a lot to offer and Song of the Dead is a sufficiently complex and gripping introductory case . . . all the indications are for a bright fictional future
Shots Magazine
A darkly atmospheric thriller with a labyrinthine plot with more twists than a Grand Prix track.
Michael Wood, author of the DCI Matilda Darke series