Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Boy in the Well

Boy in the Well

DI WESTPHALL.
No ordinary detective.
No ordinary investigations.

A twisting new crime series set in the Scottish Highlands. For fans of Stephen King, Christopher Brookmyre and John Connolly.

A dark and satisfying mystery . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended’ James Oswald

The body of a young boy is discovered at the bottom of a well that has been sealed for two hundred years. Yet the corpse is only days old . . .

No one comes forward to identify #Boy9, and DI Ben Westphall’s only suspects are the farmers on whose land the well sits. They certainly seem as though they have something to hide. But it might not be what he thinks.

Soon, similarities from an old crime emerge and Westphall must look to the past to piece together the dark and twisted events taking place in the present.

********

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT BOY IN THE WELL

‘Intricately and expertly plotted . . . What an ending! One which left me wholly satisfied’

‘The mystery surrounding #Boy9 as he comes to be known is a genuine puzzle and had me hooked from start to finish as I was desperate to know who he was and how he got there’

‘Westphall is a great character and a breathe of fresh air in this genre. A great series you will be pleased you’ve found.’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 30th May 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473696969

Reviews

A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant
Tony Black, author of the DI Bob Valentine series on Song of the Dead
Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality. I look forward to his next instalment. This one comes thoroughly recommended
James Oswald on Boy in the Well
Lindsay has crafted a chilling, well-paced thriller that spans a range of time periods with a case of deeply disturbing characters, all set against a dramatic Highlands backdrop.
Woman
Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir
Publishers Weekly on Song of the Dead
Lindsay blends the past and present with eerie, supernatural undertones, building a mysterious puzzle that you have to unravel
Culturefly on Boy in the Well
Praise for Douglas Lindsay and the DI Westphall series
-