We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Banker's Wife

The Banker's Wife

‘Immersive, satisfying, tense – and timely’ Lee Child

‘Whip smart and fraught with tension…Brilliant.’ Mary Kubica, author of The Good Girl

A fast-paced and impossibly gripping thriller for fans of The Woman in the Window and Need to Know.

The only thing worse than finding out that your husband is dead, is discovering the secrets he left behind.

Annabel’s seemingly perfect ex-patriate life in Geneva is shattered when her banker husband Matthew’s plane crashes in the Alps. When Annabel finds clues that his death may not be all it seems, she puts herself in the crosshairs of powerful enemies and questions whether she really knew her husband at all.

Meanwhile, journalist Marina is investigating Swiss United, the bank where Matthew worked. But when she uncovers evidence of a shocking global financial scandal that implicates someone close to home, she is forced to make an impossible choice.

(P)2018 Penguin Random House Audio

Praise for The Banker’s Wife

‘A knockout of an international thriller’ Chris Pavone, author of The Expats

‘Kept me guessing until the very last page. I couldn’t tear myself away’ Janelle Brown, author of Watch Me Disappear

‘A gripping, twisty thriller that asks how well we really know the people closest to us’ Alafair Burke, author of The Wife
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 3rd July 2018

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781473684737

Reviews

Immersive, satisfying, tense - and timely: This is probably happening for real right now.
Lee Child
A knockout of an international thriller, with glamorous lives on collision courses with high-stakes crime and high-level politics through the corridors of power in Europe and America.
Chris Pavone
Cristina Alger takes an inside look at the lucrative, high-stakes - and sometimes murderous - world of private banking in this stunning masterpiece. Whip smart and fraught with tension, The Banker's Wife packs a punch that doesn't let up. Brilliant.
Mary Kubica, author of <i>The Good Girl</i>
Cristina Alger's ripped-from-the-headlines thriller is a fascinating glimpse into the mysterious world of billionaire banking, and kept me guessing until the very last page. I couldn't tear myself away.
Janelle Brown, author of <i>Watch Me Disappear</i>
In Cristina Alger's expert hands, the world of complex international finance is the perfect setting for a gripping, twisty thriller that asks how well we really know the people closest to us. The Banker's Wife is smart, savvy, and beautifully written. It grabs the reader by the gut and doesn't let go until the last page.
Alafair Burke, author of <i>The Ex</i>
Behind every great fortune, there's a crime... and a bank. From Geneva to London to New York, Cristina Alger takes us inside the secretive and corrupt world of the super-rich - and three women who struggle to survive their deadly undertow.
Alex Berenson
The Banker's Wife is the best kind of thriller: break-neck pace, gutsy women characters who are their own heroes - and if the action in dazzling locales don't take your breath away, the twisty surprises will.
Kate White, author of <i>Even If It Kills Her</i>
The Banker's Wife will leave you breathless as you turn the pages, gasping as you uncover each delicious layer of this perfectly plotted thriller. We promise you'll be guessing until the very end.
Liz Fenton & Lisa Steinke, authors of <i>The Good Widow</i>
The Banker's Wife is a page-turning, plot-twisting international thriller of the first order. Cristina Alger's writing is as sophisticated and self-assured as the characters she's created. A remarkable and intriguing journey into the rarefied world of power and money. A perfect blend of mystery, suspense, and betrayal.
Nelson DeMille
An engrossing financial thriller . . . This complex tale of how greed can upend innocent lives will resonate with many
Publisher’s Weekly
Buckle up - The Banker's Wife is an international thriller that moves at a breakneck pace, keeping you on the edge of your seat
PopSugar
Readers riding this international financial roller coaster will be kept on edge through its many twists and turns. Highly recommended for fans of fast-paced thrillers in the tradition of John Grisham
Library Journal (starred review)
Alger perfectly nails her twisty plot, wrapping everything up in a completely satisfying ending. Readers will be eagerly turning the pages of this fast-paced financial thriller
Booklist
Alger delivers an addictive dose of suspense and intrigue with a surprisingly believable plot
USA Today
Gripping financial thrillers are rare. Few writers have an expert knowledge of banking fraud, as well as the ability to make it accessible to the reader. Cristina Alger passes all the tests . . . An exciting journey into the dark under belly of the ultra-rich world of banking.
The Times
Honestly the most exciting thriller I've read in years
Coco's Tea Party