We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

In Place of Fear

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529337990

Price: £16.99

ON SALE: 14th April 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Select a format:

Hardcover

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Authentic social history at the birth of the NHS, an intriguing murder, a strong and convincing central character, and McPherson’s wonderful story-telling skills make this a very classy mystery’ ANN CLEEVES

Helen leaned close enough to fog the mirror with her breath and whispered, ‘You, my girl, are a qualified medical almoner and at eight o’clock tomorrow morning you will be on the front line of the National Health Service of Scotland.’ Her eyes looked huge and scared. ‘So take a shake to yourself!”

Edinburgh, 1948.
Helen Crowther leaves a crowded tenement home for her very own office in a doctor’s surgery. Upstart, ungrateful, out of your depth – the words of disapproval come at her from everywhere but she’s determined to take her chance and play her part.

She’s barely begun when she stumbles over a murder and learns that, in this most respectable of cities, no one will fight for justice at the risk of scandal. As Helen resolves to find a killer, she’s propelled into a darker world than she knew existed, hardscrabble as her own can be. Disapproval is the least of her worries now.

IN PLACE OF FEAR
is a gripping new historical crime novel that is both enthralling and entertaining, and perfect for fans of AJ Pearce and Nicola Upson.

Readers love IN PLACE OF FEAR:
‘What a wonderful book this is!’
‘I loved [it] … Helen is another cracker of a heroine from McPherson and I hope to read much more of her story in future’
‘Historical crime from a talented pen. Intriguing and compelling in equal measure’
‘An excellent read’