Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Last Act of Adam Campbell

The Last Act of Adam Campbell

Astoundingly good. Brave, wickedly funny and profoundly affecting. Wow!’ Miranda Dickinson

NetGalley reviewers are loving this feel-good, uplifting novel:

‘WOW if this book doesn’t make you cry then I’m pretty sure nothing will’

‘I loved every single page . . . I haven’t been able to stop thinking about since I finished it’

‘You will need a lot of tissues, as it is funny, sad and touching and really shows the strength of human spirit’


A year can go quickly. Particularly when it’s your last.

Adam had a good life: a job he enjoyed, a nice house, a loving partner and a bright six-year-old daughter. Then he cheated on his partner. Then she kicked him out of their home. And then he was given approximately twelve months to live.

Despite the devastating news, Adam is determined to turn his life around before it finally runs out. Help comes in the form of an ex-junky, a cantankerous train driver, a nun experiencing a crisis of faith, and a teenager intent on losing her virginity – all living on borrowed time, all desperate to feel alive before their time is up.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Romance / Adult & Contemporary Romance

On Sale: 9th January 2020

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781473680463

Reviews

'I'm broken!! Completely and utterly broken!! Andy Jones what have you done to me?! The Last Act of Adam Campbell is a wonderful book and I loved every single page . . . I haven't been able to stop thinking about since I finished it and so it's one I know will be hard to beat when it comes to my favourite books of the year list at the end of 2020 . . . Very highly recommended by me!
MyChestnutReadingTeww.wordpress.com
This book should come with a warning, a packet of tissues plus tea and chocolates to help you recover from the end of it . . . The Last Act of Adam Campbell' is a life affirming and tender story that highlights the fragility of life and the importance of making every second count.
HandwrittenGirl.com
You will need a lot of tissues, as it is funny, sad and touching and really shows the strength of human spirit and how even when everything seems hopeless you can find hope as the group all do in The Rude Mechanicals. A great but heart-wrenching read.
KarenReadsAndRecommends.wordpress.com
One of the most uplifting books I have read in a long time . . . We have a tendency to worry and fret about stupid things in this life that really don't matter. If nothing else, this book has given me the chance to change my priorities and focus more on the things that really matter. And for that, I wholeheartedly thank the author.
NetGalley Reviewer
Wow if this book doesn't make you cry then I'm pretty sure nothing will . . . This book is sad and brutally honest but also filled with love and fun and a story of friendship that changes every single one of their lives for the better. The ending is heartbreaking but beautiful.
NetGalley Reviewer
Despite being an emotional mess at times, I cannot express how glad I am that I have read this book. I found it very cathartic and it made me feel very positive.
NetGalley Reviewer
This beautifully written and heart-warming book is perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls.
BooksLifeEverything.blogspot.co.uk
This is an incredible novel and - if you're not scared to have your heart broken a little (or a lot) - you definitely shouldn't miss it
BookAfterBook.blogspot.com
Oh my, what a beautiful, moving book it is! Full of poignant moments to bring a lump to your throat, it's a story not only about death, but about life, love and everything in between. It's about grabbing hold of life with both hands, no matter how long or short that life may be . . . As difficult as some parts of this book was to read, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. As long as you go in prepared to have your heart broken, aware that it deals with the devastation that death and loss brings, I would say read and experience the beauty of this book for yourself. I know this is a story and characters that will stay with me for a long time to come. Andy Jones has written a moving, poignant and memorable book to be proud of.
CalTurnerReviews.wordpress.com
Astoundingly good. Brave, wickedly funny and profoundly affecting. Wow!
Miranda Dickinson