Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Nothing More Dangerous

Nothing More Dangerous

‘This powerful, unforgettable crime novel is a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as William Kent Krueger’s Ordinary Grace or Larry Watson’s Montana 1948 . . . A must-read.’ Library Journal (starred review)

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours – a black family in a community where notions of “us” and “them” still carry weight – Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted.

Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold. There’s the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle.

But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world.

As the mystery of Lida’s fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town – and he will be forced to choose sides.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 14th November 2019

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781529327076

Reviews

Elegant but chilly prose, like winter in the blood
New York Times Book Review
Praise for Allen Eskens
-
Satisfying in every way. I loved it
Lee Child
A taut, intelligent, heart-ripping story that explores the darkest places in the human psyche
William Kent Krueger
The tension builds to an all-stops-out finale that works on every level. Thriller fans should keep their eyes on Eskens
Booklist