We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Trivia Night

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781529348804

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 22nd February 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.


The events at a school fundraiser night get quickly out of hand, and the fallout leads to devastating results for a group of four couples…

Question: How long does it take to tear someone’s life apart?
Answer: Sometimes just one night.

From the outside the parents of the kindergarten class at Darley Heights primary school seem to have it all. Living in the wealthy Sydney suburbs, it’s a community where everyone knows each other – and secrets don’t stay secret for long.

The big date in the calendar is the school’s annual fundraising trivia night, but when the evening gets raucously out of hand, talk turns to partner-swapping. Initially scandalised, it’s not long before a group of parents make a reckless one-night-only pact.

But in the harsh light of day, those involved must face the fallout of their behaviour. As they begin to navigate the shady aftermath of their wild night, the truth threatens to rip their perfect lives apart – and revenge turns fatal.

THE TRIVIA NIGHT is a gripping, domestic debut novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.

(P) 2022 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Unputdownable from the very first page, The Trivia Night was spookily familiar, funny, and darkly captivating. I loved it
Sally Hepworth
An addictive read about marriage, friendships, parent politics and the consequences of one unexpectedly wild night at a school fundraiser. I loved the voices of the three different women who tell the story and the secrets, lies and scandals that unfold irresistibly throughout
Helen Cooper
Sexy, funny, excruciating - a smart thriller about couples and school gate neurosis. I couldn't put this down
Harriet Walker
A delicious read that takes a social event many of us have experienced - the innocuous school trivia night - and infuses it with bad decisions, illicit desire and danger. Perceptive, suspenseful and all too realistic, you will see yourself in these characters and be at once shocked and understanding of their actions.
B.M. Carroll
Sex, lies and intrigue abound in this gripping and often hilarious story of suburban marriages in crisis, self discovery and school gates culture. If you've ever wondered about swinging, if you're dying to find out what a school parents' partner swap looks like, if you love a glimpse into the seemingly perfect lives of others, this is the absorbing weekend binge read for you
Anna Downes
Light and curly rather than dark and twisty, this is a clever, witty, wonderfully observed satire on the bitchiness, rivalries and friendships that flourish when our children go to school - not in the playground, but at the school gate. I recognised so many of the characters that I could have sworn Ali Lowe had been eavesdropping on my friends and reporting the scandals at my local primary school.
Michael Robotham
Gossip, scandal and intrigue - this twisty tale is deliciously naughty and addictive. A great new voice in fiction.
Veronica Henry
A salacious yet recognisable dilemma that examines the consequences of bringing your secret desires to life . . . Exploring what actually happens when you attempt to make your fantasies a reality, this was a thoroughly entertaining, engaging read that I finished in one weekend. I loved it!
Jacqueline Bublitz
If you have to put one book on your TBR pile in the next few months, make it this one. It has it all: secrets and lies, toxic school dynamics, relationship issues and a deadly quiz night . . . Gave me major Liane Moriarty vibes
Sarah Pearse
This Liane-Moriarty-esque page-turner of a read will have you gripped
Fabulous magazine
If you're a fan of Liane Moriarty, Ali may be a new favoured author
Belfast Telegraph
This Liane-Moriarty-esque page-turner of a read will have you gripped
Fabulous
If you're a fan of Liane Moriarty, Ali may be a new favoured author
Belfast Telegraph