Related to: 'The Reckoning'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Legacy

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The first in an exciting new series from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.The only witness to a shocking murder is the victim's ten-year-old daughter, Margret. The police turn to the Children's House for their expertise in childhood trauma.The manager Freyja doesn't much like the police - especially the detective in charge, Huldar. But she does want to help them protect Margret.And when more people die - their murders heralded by strange messages, texts, and strings of numbers - they will have to work together to crack the riddle before they become targets themselves.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Why Did You Lie?

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

A chilling thriller from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award for best Scandinavian Crime Novel.A journalist on the track of an old case attempts suicide. An ordinary couple return from a house swap in the states to find their home in disarray and their guests seemingly missing. Four strangers struggle to find shelter on a windswept spike of rock in the middle of a raging sea. They have one thing in common: they all lied.And someone is determined to punish them...WHY DID YOU LIE is a terrifying tale of long-delayed retribution from Iceland's Queen of Suspense.(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton. Published by arrangement with Salomonsson Agency.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Undesired

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

A chilling modern horror novel from the author of THE SILENCE OF THE SEA, winner of the 2015 Petrona Award - perfect for fans of Let the Right One In.Aldis hates working in a juvenile detention centre in rural Iceland. The boys are unruly, the owners are unpleasant, and there are strange noises at night. And then two of the inmates die...Decades later, single father Odinn is looking into alleged abuse at the centre. The more he finds out, though, the more it seems the odd events of the 1970s are linked to the accident that killed his ex-wife. Was her death something more sinister?Yrsa Sigurdardottir is a huge European bestseller both with her crime and horror novels. You might want to sleep with the light on after reading THE UNDESIRED . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Someone to Watch Over Me

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

The Silence of the Sea

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

A chilling mystery from the Queen of Nordic Noir, not to be missed for fans of Jo Nesbo and Stieg Larsson.WINNER OF THE 2015 PETRONA AWARD'Mummy dead.' The child's pure treble was uncomfortably clear. It was the last thing Brynjar - and doubtless the others - wanted to hear at that moment. 'Daddy dead.' It got worse. 'Adda dead. Bygga dead.' The child sighed and clutched her grandmother's leg. 'All dead.' A luxury yacht arrives in Reykjavik harbour with nobody on board. What has happened to the crew, and to the family who were on board when it left Lisbon?Thora Gudmundsdottir is hired by the young father's parents to investigate, and is soon drawn deeper into the mystery. What should she make of the rumours saying that the vessel was cursed, especially given that when she boards the yacht she thinks she sees one of the missing twins? Where is Karitas, the glamorous young wife of the yacht's former owner? And whose is the body that has washed up further along the shore?

Hodder & Stoughton

I Remember You

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

The Day is Dark

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

Ashes to Dust

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

The third crime novel from international bestseller Yrsa Sigurdardottir, ASHES TO DUST is tense, taut and terrifying - not to be missed for fans of Nordic Noir. Thora peered at the floor, but couldn't see anything that could have frightened Markus that much, only three mounds of dust. She moved the light of her torch over them. It took her some time to realize what she was seeing-- and then it was all she could do not to let the torch slip from her hand. 'Good God,' she said. She ran the light over the three faces, one after another. Sunken cheeks, empty eye-sockets, gaping mouths; they reminded her of photographs of mummies she'd once seen in National Geographic. 'Who are these people?''I don't know,' said Markus . . . Bodies are discovered in one of the excavated houses at a volcanic tourist attraction dubbed 'The Pompeii of the North'.Markus Magnusson, who was only a teenager when the volcano erupted, falls under suspicion and hires attorney Thora Gudmundsdottir to defend him - but when his childhood sweetheart is murdered his case starts to look more difficult, and the locals seem oddly reluctant to back him up . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

My Soul to Take

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Hodder & Stoughton

Last Rituals

Yrsa Sigurdardottir
Authors:
Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Bill Granger

Bill Granger was an award-winning journalist for the Chicago Tribune, Chicago Sun Times, and United Press International. His first novel, Public Murders, based on his reporting experiences, won the Edgar Award from the Mystery Writers of America. His highly praised November Man series has been adapted for the screen, starring Pierce Brosnan as agent Devereaux.

Chris Ryan

Former SAS corporal and the only man to escape death or capture during the Bravo Two Zero operation in the 1991 Gulf War, Chris Ryan turned to writing thrillers to tell the stories the Official Secrets Act stops him putting in his non-fiction. His novels have gone on to inspire the Sky One series Strike Back. Born near Newcastle in 1961, Chris Ryan joined the SAS in 1984. During his ten years there he was involved in overt and covert operations and was also sniper team commander of the anti-terrorist team. During the Gulf War, Chris Ryan was the only member of an eight-man unit to escape from Iraq, where three colleagues were killed and four captured. It was the longest escape and evasion in the history of the SAS. For this he was awarded the Military Medal. He wrote about his experiences in the bestseller The One That Got Away, which was adapted for screen, and since then has written three other works of non-fiction, over twenty bestselling novels and a series of childrens' books.

D.M. Mark

D.M. Mark is the historical alter ego of David Mark, who was a crime journalist before becoming a novelist. He has written six novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity, Dead Pretty and Cruel Mercy, as well as two McAvoy novellas, A Bad Death and Fire of Lies, which are available in ebook. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. The Zealot's Bones is his first historical crime novel. He chose to delve into the past after deciding that some stories served up by his twisted imagination are just too disturbing to feature in the present. He lives in East Yorkshire and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

Danielle Ramsay

Danielle Ramsay is a proud Scot living in the North-East of England. Always a storyteller, it was only after initially following an academic career in literature that she found her place in life and began to write creatively full-time after being shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger in 2009 and 2010. She is the author of four novels in the Jack Brady series, Broken Silence, Vanishing Point, Blind Alley, Blood Reckoning and The Puppet Maker. The first novel in the Harri Jacobs series, The Last Cut, is out in 2017. Always on the go, always passionate in what she is doing, Danielle fills her days with horse-riding, running and murder by proxy. In 2017 she became a patron of the charity SomeOne Cares, which counsels survivors of childhood abuse, rape and domestic violence.

David Mark

David spent more than fifteen years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with the Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels. He has written six novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity, Dead Pretty and Cruel Mercy, as well as a McAvoy novella, A Bad Death, which is available as an ebook. Dark Winter was selected for the Harrogate New Blood panel and was a Richard & Judy pick and a Sunday Times bestseller. He lives in Lincolnshire, and you can find him on Twitter @davidmarkwriter.

Fredrik Backman

Fredrik Backman is a Swedish blogger, columnist and author. His debut novel A MAN CALLED OVE was a number 1 bestseller across Scandinavia, has sold over one million copies worldwide, was a Richard & Judy summer read in the UK and an instant New York Times paperback bestseller, and has been made into an acclaimed film. Fredrik's subsequent novels, MY GRANDMOTHER SENDS HER REGARDS AND APOLOGISES and BRITT-MARIE WAS HERE, also went straight to number 1 in Sweden on publication.

Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is the author of twenty-four internationally bestselling novels, including My Sister's Keeper, House Rules and The Storyteller, and has also co-written two YA books with her daughter Samantha van Leer, Between the Lines and Off the Page. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband and children. Jodi's UK website is www.jodipicoult.co.uk and she can be found on Facebook and Twitter at facebook.com/JodiPicoultUK and twitter.com/jodipicoult. She also has a YouTube channel www.youtube.com/user/JodiPicoultOfficial.

Karen Ellis

Karen Ellis is the pseudonym of Katia Lief, the author of several internationally bestselling crime novels, including The Money Kill, the fourth installment of her Karin Schaeffer series published in 2013 and nominated for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She teaches fiction writing at The New School in Manhattan and lives with her family in Brooklyn, New York.

Lindsey Lee Johnson

Lindsey Lee Johnson holds a master of professional writing degree from the University of Southern California and a BA in English from the University of California at Davis. She has served as a tutor and mentor at a private learning center, where her focus has been teaching writing to teenagers. Born and raised in Marin County, she now lives with her husband in Los Angeles.

Peter Robinson

Peter Robinson's DCI Banks is now a major ITV1 drama starring Stephen Tompkinson (Wild at Heart, Ballykissangel) as Inspector Banks, and Andrea Lowe (The Bill, Murphy's Law) as DI Annie Cabbot. Peter's standalone novel BEFORE THE POISON won the IMBA's 2013 Dilys Award as well as the 2012 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel by the Crime Writers of Canada. This was Peter's sixth Arthur Ellis award. His critically acclaimed DCI Banks novels have won numerous awards in Britain, the United States, Canada and Europe, and are published in translation all over the world.Peter grew up in Yorkshire, and now divides his time between Richmond and Canada. Peter keeps a website at www.inspectorbanks.com.