Related to: 'Men at Work - Quick Read'

Chinese with Mike

Click here to find out more.

Hodder & Stoughton

Half a World Away

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

The incredibly moving and uplifting new novel from the author of The Man I Think I Know.Kerry Hayes knows exactly who she is: a single mum, a cleaner and Mariah Carey's biggest fan.Noah Martineau thinks he knows who he is: a successful barrister, with a wife, daughter and big house in Primrose Hill.Strangers with nothing in common.Strangers living worlds apart.But it wasn't always this way...and Noah and Kerry are about to discover just who they really are.'Mike Gayle has such a talent for delving into hearts, minds and contemporary issues. Half a World Away is supremely poignant, uplifting and heartwarming in equal measure - as well as being a real page-turner.' Sophie Kinsella, author of Surprise Me'Mike has a prodigious talent for writing completely relatable characters who draw you into their world and tug at your heart strings. Half a World Away is an absolute triumph and a joy to read. Once again Mike tackles complex and thorny issues with a confident and compassionate hand.' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things 'Half a World Away is heartbreaking and beautiful, full of poignant moments and characters you fall for from page one. I couldn't put it down.' Libby Page, author of The Lido

Hodder & Stoughton

The Man I Think I Know

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

The Hope Family Calendar

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Tom Hope is broken. Ever since his wife Laura died he hasn't been the same man, and definitely not the same father. Luckily however, his mother-in-law Linda is there to pick up the pieces and look after his two struggling daughters, Evie and Lola. But Tom getting arrested on the first anniversary of his wife's death is the last straw for Linda.She decides on drastic action, and in a final attempt to make Tom reconnect with his daughters, Linda leaves for Australia. Now, with two fast-maturing girls on his hands, Tom has to learn how to accept his responsibilities and navigate the newly discovered world of single fatherhood - starting immediately. While Linda finds her journey brings more than she bargained for, Tom suddenly has only himself to rely on. Will he fall back into grief or finally step up and be the father his girls need?Bittersweet, funny and sad, THE HOPE FAMILY CALENDAR is a novel about grief, love and family.

Hodder & Stoughton

Seeing Other People

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Turning Forty

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Hodder & Stoughton

His 'n' Hers

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Brand New Friend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Wish You Were Here

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A brilliant romantic comedy exploring beach basics for the broken-hearted from number one bestselling author Mike Gayle.Their holiday brochure said 18-30 . . . But they've just turned 35.After ten years together Charlie Mansell has been dumped by his live-in girlfriend, Sarah. All he wants to do is wallow in misery, but mates Andy and Tom have a better idea: a week of sun, sea and souvlaki in Malia, party capital of the Greek islands.But Charlie and his mates aren't eighteen any more. Or even under thirty. And it shows.It isn't the cheap beer, the late nights or even the fast-food that's the problem. It's girls. And life. And most of all . . . each other. WISH YOU WERE HERE is a heart-warming, funny and wise tale about love and friendship and how seven days in the sun can change your life forever.

Hodder & Stoughton

Life and Soul of the Party

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A brilliant romantic comedy about a year in the lives of three couples from number one bestselling author Mike Gayle.Meet Melissa and Paul: Five years after they split up he's still looking for love in all the wrong places while she wants the one thing she can't have: Paul.Meet Chris and Vicky: They're so in tune they even brush their teeth in time with each other. So what is Chris doing risking it all for a meaningless affair?Meet Cooper and Laura: He wants to settle down, she wants to take a grown-up gap year but can their relationship really survive a year apart?Set across a year of leaving dos, birthday parties and anniversary celebrations, Life and Soul of the Party is a warm, funny and moving tale celebrating love, life and those special moments we've all spent in the kitchen at parties.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Stag and Hen Weekend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder Paperbacks

The Importance of Being a Bachelor

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A hilarious and touching romantic comedy about three clueless, charming brothers and the women in their lives from number one bestselling author Mike Gayle.Despite the example of their own parents' enduring marriage, the three Bachelor brothers show no sign of settling down.Adam has a string of glamorous girlfriends, but they aren't suitable wife material.Luke has just proposed to Cassie but his refusal to consider having children looks like an insurmountable barrier.And baby of the family Russell is in love with the one woman he can't have.Then their father announces he has been thrown out of the family home and this forces all three brothers to examine their own priorities.Are all three Bachelor brothers totally hopeless cases or just late starters?

Hodder & Stoughton

Dinner for Two

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A witty and touching novel for fans of Tony Parsons and Nick Hornby.Thirty-two-year-old music journalist Dave Harding has got a nice house, a cushy job and in Izzy, his partner, the ideal companion for an intimate dinner for two. But when friends of Dave announce they're having a baby the biological clock he never knew existed starts ticking. Loudly. When the magazine Dave works for folds he is forced to take the worst job in journalism - Agony Uncle for Teen Scene. Suddenly cooler-than-cool Dave is knee deep in the adolescent outpourings of his teenage readership. One letter out of thousands, however, turns his life upside down. Thirteen-year-old Nicola O'Connell doesn't want advice about boys - she wants to know about Dave because she's convinced that Dave Harding is her dad. And she's got the facts to prove it.

Hodder Paperbacks

The To-Do List

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

My Legendary Girlfriend

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

A hilarious, original story for anyone who has ever been dumped, or lived in a dump, 'full of belly-laughs and painfully acute observations'. (Independent on Sunday)Meet Will Kelly. English teacher. Film Fan. Pot Noodle expert. Ex-boyfriend.Still in love with The One, Will is desperate to discover if there can be An-Other One. In his decrepit flat where he can't even manage to cook spaghetti hoops without setting of the communal smoke alarm, his lifeline is the telephone. Will realises that with a single call, friends can either lift him from the depths of despair or completely shatter his hopes.There's Alice (who remembers his birthday), Simon (who doesn't), Kate (the previous tenant of his rented hovel). And of course his ex, Aggi. The inimitable Aggi. His legendary Girlfriend.Or is She?

Hodder & Stoughton

Turning Thirty

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder Paperbacks

Mr Commitment

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle

Andrew Williams

Andrew Williams worked as a senior producer for the BBC's flagship Panorama and Newsnight programmes, and as a writer and director of history documentaries. He is the author of two bestselling non-fiction books, The Battle of the Atlantic and D-day to Berlin, and four acclaimed novels, The Interrogator, (shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Silver Dagger Award and the Ellis Peters Award), To Kill a Tsar, (shortlisted for the Ellis Peters Award and the Walter Scott Prize), The Poison Tide and The Suicide Club. You can find out more about Andrew Williams and his writing at www.andrewwilliams.tv and www.hodder.co.uk, and you can follow him on twitter at @AWilliamswriter or on Facebook.

Angie Kim

Angie Kim moved as a preteen from Seoul, South Korea, to the suburbs of Baltimore. She attended Stanford University and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review, then practiced as a trial lawyer at Williams & Connolly. Her stories have won the Glamour Essay Contest and the Wabash Prize in Fiction, and appeared in numerous publications including The New York Times, Salon, Slate, The Southern Review, Sycamore Review, The Asian American Literary Review, and PANK. She lives in northern Virginia with her husband and three sons. MIRACLE CREEK is her first novel.

Anna Jacobs

Anna Jacobs grew up in Lancashire and emigrated to Australia, but still visits the UK regularly to see her family and do research, something she loves. She is addicted to writing and figures she'll have to live to be 120 at least to tell all the stories that keep popping up in her imagination and nagging her to write them down. She's also addicted to her own hero, to whom she's been happily married for many years.She is the bestselling author of over eighty novels and has been shortlisted for several awards, and Pride of Lancashire won the Australian Romantic Book of the Year Award in 2006.You can find out more on her website, www.annajacobs.com or on her Facebook page, www.facebook.com/Anna.Jacobs.Books.

Anthony Trevelyan

Anthony Trevelyan was born in Lancashire. He read English at Trinity College, Oxford, before going on to further studies at Lancaster University. Currently he lives with his wife near Manchester, where he takes part in performance events such as Flim Nite and First Draft. He works as a teacher of English and Creative Writing at a sixth form college in Stockport. His first novel, The Weightless World, was published by Galley Beggar Press in 2015 and was longlisted for the 2016 Desmond Elliott Prize.