Related to: 'Thunder on the Right'

Hodder & Stoughton

The Ivy Tree

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

My Brother Michael

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Gabriel Hounds

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Nine Coaches Waiting

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original queen of the page-turner Mary Stewart transports her readers to mid-century Savoy for a plot of danger and deception, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' Independent'Mary Stewart is magic' New York TimesLinda Martin understands what is to be lonely: her parents died when she was young, and she was raised in an orphanage. When she is hired as a governess to the orphaned young Philippe, Comte de Valmy, Linda finds a kindred spirit in the lonely little boy. But Philippe is the heir to a vast estate in Savoy, and his dangerously handsome uncle may be willing to kill to ensure that Philippe never inherits it.Mary Stewart's wonderful novel of suspense and intrigue set in the idyllic countryside of Savoy. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.'A wonderful wordsmith' Scotsman'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best' Herald

Hodder & Stoughton

The Lost One

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Hodder & Stoughton

Wildfire at Midnight

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wind Off the Small Isles

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

This Rough Magic

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The pioneer of romantic suspense Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey to a Mediterranean island paradise in this tale of mystery, murder and intrigue, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. 'Suspense and romance expertly mingled' Observer'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentLucy Waring, a young, out-of-work actress from London, leaps at the chance to visit her sister for a summer on the island paradise of Corfu, and what's more, a famous but reclusive actor is staying in a villa nearby. But Lucy's hopes for rest and romance are shattered when a body washes up on the beach and she finds herself swept up in a chilling chain of events. I shuddered, and drank my coffee, leaning back in my chair to gaze out across pine tops furry with gold towards the sparkling sea, and surrendering myself to the dreamlike feeling that marks the start of a holiday . . .A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet Evans'She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best.' Herald

Hodder Paperbacks

Madam, Will You Talk?

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Touch Not the Cat

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Airs Above the Ground

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

The original writer of romantic suspense, Mary Stewart leads her readers on a thrilling journey across mid-century Europe in this tale of adventure and deception, sure to be loved by fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym.'From opening to finale, this zestful romantic adventure grips, amuses, frightens and delights' Sunday Telegraph'One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century' IndependentVanessa March's husband Lewis is meant to be on a business trip in Stockholm - so why does he briefly appear in newsreel footage of a fire at a circus in Vienna, with his arm around another woman? Vanessa flies to Austria to find her husband, inadvertently becoming involved in a mystery that spans three countries... and the famous dancing stallions of the Spanish Riding School.The moonlight flooded the meadow, blanching all colours to its own ghostly silver. The pines were very black. As the stallion rose in the last magnificent rear of the levande, the moonlight poured over him bleaching his hide so that for perhaps five or six seconds he was no longer an old broken-down piebald, but a haute école stallion of the oldest line in Europe.'Mary Stewart is magic' New York Times

Hodder Paperbacks

The Moon-Spinners

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Rose Cottage

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Paperbacks

Thornyhold

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansThe rambling house called Thornyhold is like something out of a fairy tale. Left to Gilly Ramsey by the cousin whose occasional visits brightened her childhood, the cottage, set deep in a wild wood, has come just in time to save her from a bleak future. With its reputation for magic and its resident black cat, Thornyhold offers Gilly more than just a new home. It offers her a chance to start over. The old house, with it tufts of rosy houseleek and the spreading gilt of the lichens, was beautiful. Even the prisoning hedges were beautiful, protective with their rusty thorns, their bastions of holly and juniper, and at the corners, like towers, their thick columns of yews.

Hodder Paperbacks

Stormy Petrel

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

'A comfortable chair and a Mary Stewart: total heaven. I'd rather read her than most other authors.' Harriet EvansWhen Rose Fenemore takes a desperately needed holiday to an isolated cottage on the Scottish island of Moila she doesn't expect much in the way of adventure - just a few quiet weeks of writing, walking and bird-watching. And then, late one night during a wild storm, two young men appear in her doorway, seeking shelter from the wind and rain. Neither man is quite who he claims, and the question of who to trust will put Rose in grave peril . . . The stormy petrels. The fragile, tiny black birds, nocturnal and solitary, that come ashore to nest but spend most of the lives flying close above the sea-waves, come storm or shine.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Pilgrim

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Alexander, nephew of the murderous King March of Cornwall, seeks to avenge his father, but falls under the sinister spell of Morgan le Fay at the Dark Tower. Alice, daughter of one of Arthur's knights, travels on pilgrimages with her father to the Holy Land and France, and brings a holy grail back to Britain. One day she meets Alexander . . .

Coronet

The Crystal Cave

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wicked Day

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

Far from being the scourge of Arthur, his bastard son Mordred actually strives to resist Merlin's prophecy of doom. But he is thwarted by the schemes of his sorceress mother, Queen Morgause, who has brough him up to be her revenge incarnate, and by misunderstandings beyond his control.Prophecy triumphs, and the confrontation that is as fatal as it is inevitable is played out against the darkened walls of the city of Camelot.

Coronet

The Hollow Hills

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Coronet

The Last Enchantment

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart

With the great sword Caliburn in his hand and Merlin the enchanter at his side, Arthur comes out of hiding to claim the crown he was born to wear. Merlin, Arthur's protector, sees the glories and horrors that await the new king . . . and to save him Merlin musters all his power to weave one last enchantment. He is showing signs of age and he gradually realises he is losing his powers of prophecy and clairvoyance to a younger generation. But he is able to accept this because he knows that they will be at the service of his beloved monarch whose fabled victories, marriage and the building of Camelot shine through these pages.