Related to: 'The Fireman'

Gavin Extence THE UNIVERSE VS ALEX WOODS picked for Waterstones 11

11 literary debuts chosen by Waterstones to champion in 2013

Waterstones 11 pick "quirky" novel The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence

Hodder & Stoughton

Tall Order

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Foreigner: the bestselling thriller now starring Pierce Brosnan and Jackie Chan

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Stephen Leather's BESTSELLING breakthrough thriller, previously published as THE CHINAMAN - perfect for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson. He understood death.Jungle-skilled, silent and lethal, he had killed for the Viet Cong and then for the Americans. He had watched helpless when his two eldest daughters had been raped and killed by Thai pirates.Now all that was behind him. Quiet, hard-working and unassuming, he was building up his South London take-away business.Until the day his wife and youngest daughter were destroyed by an IRA bomb in a Knightsbridge department store.Then, simply but persistently, he began to ask the authorities who were the men responsible, what was being done. And was turned away, fobbed off, treated as a nuisance.Which was when, denied justice, he decided on revenge. And went back to war.Praise for Stephen Leather'Explores complex contemporary issues while keeping the action fast and bloody'Economist'Action and scalpel-sharp suspense' Daily Telegraph'The sheer impetus of his story-telling is damned hard to resist'Sunday Express

Hodder & Stoughton

Light Touch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The 14th thriller in the Spider Shepherd series promises even more unputdownable action from The Sunday Times bestseller Stephen Leather.Working undercover is all about trust - getting the target to trust you and then betraying them in order to bring them to justice.But what do you do when you believe an undercover cop has crossed the line and aligned herself with the international drugs smuggler she was supposed to be targeting?When a deep-undercover cop stops passing on intelligence about her target, MI5 sends in Dan 'Spider' Shepherd to check that she is on the straight and narrow.Now two lives are on the line - and Shepherd discovers that the real danger is closer to home than he realised.As Spider finds his loyalties being tested to the limit, an SAS killer is on a revenge mission in London and only Spider can stop him.'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder Paperbacks

Dark Forces

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

When you're caught between two evils, only the most decisive will survive . . .A violent South London gang will be destroyed if Dan 'Spider' Shepherd can gather enough evidence against them while posing as a ruthless hitman. What he doesn't know is that his work as an undercover agent for MI5 is about to intersect with the biggest terrorist operation ever carried out on British soil.Only weeks before Shepherd witnessed a highly skilled IS sniper escape from a targeted missile strike in Syria. But never in his wildest dreams did he expect to next come across the shooter in a grimy East London flat.Spider's going to have to proceed with extreme caution if he is to prevent the death of hundreds of people, but at the same time, when the crucial moment comes he knows he will have to act decisively. The clock is ticking and only he stands between us and Armageddon . . .'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - SunWhat readers are saying about DARK FORCES'Palpable excitement' - 5 STARS'I would recommend the Spider series to anyone who can read. They are THAT good!' - 5 STARS'Possibly Stephen Leather's best yet' - 5 STARS' Brilliantly written and highly recommended' - 5 STARS'Just brilliant' - 5 STARS

Hodder & Stoughton

The Spider Shepherd Collection 8-10

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

'Let Spider draw you into his web - you won't regret it' SunThe 8th, 9th and 10th thrillers in Stephen Leather's bestselling Spider Shepherd series, available in one all-action collection, including FAIR GAME, FALSE FRIENDS and TRUE COLOURS.Fair GameWhen Somali pirates seize the crew of a yacht off the coast of Africa, they bite off more than they can chew. One of the hostages has friends in high places and Spider Shepherd is put on the case. But as Shepherd closes in on his quarry he realises that there's much more at stake than the lives of the hostages and that the pirates are involved in a terrorist plot that will strike at the heart of London. False FriendsThe most wanted man in the world is dead. Now those loyal to him seek revenge. When Navy Seals track down and kill Osama Bin Laden in Pakistan, al-Qaeda realise they have a traitor in their midst. After the false friends are revealed to be two British students, Malik and Chaudhry, Dan 'Spider' Shepherd must teach the pair how to survive undercover. True ColoursThe Russian oligarchs are the world's new elite. They treat the world as their plaything, travelling without borders and living lives of unimaginable luxury without fear or restraint. But when an assassin starts killing off some of the world's richest men, an oligarch with friends in high places seeks the protection of MI5. And Spider Shepherd is placed in the firing line.

Hodder & Stoughton

Stephen Leather: The First Novels

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

Fair Game

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The eighth book in the bestselling Dan 'Spider' Shepherd series. Kidnapping is one of the cruellest crimes - lives are put at risk for cold, hard cash. But when Somali pirates seize the crew of a yacht off the coast of Africa, they bite off more than they can chew.One of the hostages has friends in high places and Spider Shepherd is put on the case. He goes deep undercover in an audacious plan to bring an end to the pirate gang's reign of terror.But as Shepherd closes in on his quarry he realises that there's much more at stake than the lives of the hostages and that the pirates are involved in a terrorist plot that will strike at the heart of London.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dead Men

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The fifth book in the bestselling Dan 'Spider' Shepherd series.Former SAS trooper turned undercover cop Dan Spider Shepherd knows there are no easy solutions in the war against terrorism. But when a killer starts to target pardoned IRA terrorists, Shepherd has to put his life on the line to protect his former enemies. While he is undercover in Belfast, a grief-stricken Saudi whose two sons died under torture in the name of the War on Terror is planning to avenge their deaths by striking out at two people close to Shepherd. As the Muslim assassin closes in on his prey, Shepherd realises that the only way to save lives is to become a killer himself.

Hodder Paperbacks

Cold Kill

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Soft Target

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Hard Landing

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Eyewitness

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Tango One

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

***Now a motion picture, out 5th March 2018*** In different parts of London, three recruits prepare for their first day at the Metropolitan Police's training centre at Hendon. All three had succeeded in getting into the police in spite of weaknesses. But on their first day, the assistant commissioner announces that he wants them to join a team of undercover detectives. Their brief? To become criminals; to work their way up through whatever criminal organisations they can get access to, and to collate evidence against the criminals they come across. Their target? One of the world's biggest drug dealers, Den Donovan, alias 'Tango One' - number one on HM Customs and Excise's List of most wanted criminals. Three years later all the recruits are getting close to their target. Too close, perhaps, to remember the rules . . .***********Praise for Stephen Leather'[Leather] has the uncanny knack of producing plots that are all too real' Daily Mail'Let Spider draw you into his web, you won't regret it' - Sun

Hodder Paperbacks

The Stretch

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Bombmaker

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Tunnel Rats

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder & Stoughton

The Solitary Man

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

Pay Off

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather
Hodder Paperbacks

The Long Shot

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

Hodder Paperbacks

The Double Tap

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

The assassin: the world's most successful contract killer. An anonymous professional with a unique calling card - one bullet in the head and one in the chest for each and every target.The Judas goat: an ex-member of the SAS, Mike Cramer is the perfect sacrificial bait. When the FBI discover the next name on the assassin's hitlist, Cramer is set up to take his place.The wild card: Cramer's past has caught up with him. Ex-IRA extremist Dermot Lynch blames Cramer for his lover's death - and he's out for revenge.As Cramer trains for the most dangerous mission of his career, Lynch hunts down his sworn enemy. And the unknown assassin silently closes in on his target. The players are in position for the final deadly game . . .***********PRAISE FOR STEPHEN LEATHER'A master of the thriller genre'Irish Times'A writer at the top of his game'Sunday Express'In the top rank of thriller writers' Jack Higgins