Jojo Moyes - Night Music - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340895962
    • Publication date:02 Apr 2009

Night Music

By Jojo Moyes

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A wonderful, emotionally rich novel of the power of mother love, by the author of Me Before You.

The dark and romantic novel by Jojo Moyes, internationally bestselling author of Me Before You, After You and the new bestseller Still Me.

'Warm, engaging and acutely observed.' - Woman and Home

Isabel Delancey has always taken her gifted life for granted. But when her husband dies suddenly, leaving her with a mountain of debt, she and her two children are forced to abandon their home and move to a crumbling pile in the country.

With the house falling down around them, and the last of her savings fast disappearing, Isabel turns to her neighbours, not knowing that her mere presence there has stirred up long-standing obsessions.

As she fights to make her house a home, passions and lives collide. Isabel will discover an instinct for survival she never knew she had - and that a heart can play a new song . . .

Biographical Notes

Jojo Moyes is a novelist and a journalist. Her books include the bestsellers The Girl You Left Behind, The One Plus One, Me Before You and After You and short story collection Paris for One and Other Stories. Her novels have been translated into forty-four languages and have hit the Number One spot in twelve countries. She is one of the few authors to have had three novels on The New York Times bestseller list at the same time.

Me Before You has now sold over twelve million copies worldwide and was adapted into a major film starring Sam Claflin (The Hunger Games) and Emilia Clarke (Game of Thrones). Jojo lives in Essex with her husband and their three children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848943247
  • Publication date: 03 Sep 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A skilful blend of emotional intensity and satisfyingly drawn characters. — Marie Claire
Warm, engaging and acutely observed. — Woman and Home
A wonderful read. — Sunday Express
Hodder & Stoughton

One Perfect Family

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs

Lancashire, 1934. When Tam Crawford is unexpectedly bequeathed some money, he can finally realise his dream of settling down in the beautiful village of Ellindale.Tam knows he can be impulsive - his nickname isn't Crazy Tam for nothing! - but this time he is determined not to be ruled by his big heart and hot head. Yet somehow, within just one day, he has taken on a fiancée and two children to keep them out of the poorhouse - or worse. Despite their unconventional start, as Tam and his new family get to know and love each other, they come to realise that his act of charity is the best thing that could have happened to all of them. But there are still problems and they struggle to find somewhere to live.Tam and his makeshift family are not the only ones facing difficulties. Local benefactor Finn Carlisle's attempts to help the unemployed are being sabotaged by an unscrupulous local councillor, and Tam's cousin-by-marriage Hilda Kerkham has been widowed and is struggling even to feed her son. Will the people of Ellindale be able to help one another in these hard times?Praise for the Ellindale series'One of the most lovely and heartwarming books I have ever read! *****' - Between the Pages 'A book of family, love, friendship and loyalty. *****' - Stardust Book Reviews'I was gripped from the very first word on the very first page and I wasn't released until the last word on the last page . . . When I finished I felt like I had been through an emotional wringer. *****' - Ginger Book Geek

Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder & Stoughton

On the Third Day of Christmas

Helen Chandler
Authors:
Helen Chandler

Put your feet up, tuck into a mince pie and enjoy this treat-sized piece of festive fiction. For fans of Jenny Colgan and Lisa Jewell.It's 27th December, and Julia is thinking about Christmas, and the cosy, relaxed days she spent with her best friend, Toby. Maybe it was just the magic of Christmas, or maybe it was just her, but was there a frisson of something else between them? After ten years of friendship, and a couple of near-misses, is Julia coming to realise that true love might have been under her nose all along? Most importantly, does Toby feel the same?

Hodder Paperbacks

The Island House

Posie Graeme-Evans
Authors:
Posie Graeme-Evans
Hodder & Stoughton

Father Frank

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke

This is a story about a Roman Catholic priest who runs his North London parish whilst harbouring an almighty secret: he doesn't believe in God. This doesn't stop him from being hugely successful, if a little unconventional in his work. He raises money by driving a London taxi and everything is going well until Sarah hops into his cab and into his life.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Life of Reilly

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke
Hodder & Stoughton

The Man Who Fell In Love With His Wife

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke
Hodder & Stoughton

The Colours of Snow

Kate Fenton
Authors:
Kate Fenton

The charming and romantic first novel by Kate Fenton, set on the Yorkshire Moors. Frankie Cleverdon is there to paint. Alone and away from it all in a cottage buried in the North Yorkshire Moors. Away from the fretfulnes of London. And away from men and a messy love life. So when she sees the lone fisherman from her window, she sees a figure to be painted into a landscape. This bumbling man is absolutely not her type, but it is through Ned Cowper that she finds herself introduced to her neighbours in the valley - who she soons discovers are dangerous to know. And through Ned too she learns - painfully - that a worldly, witty and quite wise woman can still find she had fallen in love with the most unlikely of men.

Hodder & Stoughton

Softly Grow the Poppies

Audrey Howard
Authors:
Audrey Howard
Hodder & Stoughton

The Shadowed Hills

Audrey Howard
Authors:
Audrey Howard
Hodder & Stoughton

Strand of Dreams

Audrey Howard
Authors:
Audrey Howard

When mill worker Molly O'Dowd falls in love with factory owner Tim Broadbent, all her dreams seem to come true. Their passionate marriage catapults Molly into a luxurious new world, but tragedy awaits. It's only when she seems to have lost everything that Molly at lasts finds happiness.

Hodder & Stoughton

Echo of Another Time

Audrey Howard
Authors:
Audrey Howard
Hodder Paperbacks

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Laini Taylor
Authors:
Laini Taylor
Sceptre

The House of Rumour

Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott

Larry Zagorski spins wild tales of fantasy worlds for pulp magazines. But as the Second World War hangs in the balance, the lines between imagination and reality are starting to blur. In London, spymasters enlist occultists in the war of propaganda. In Southern California, a charismatic rocket scientist summons dark forces and an SF writer founds a new religion. In Munich, Nazis consult astrologists as they plot peace with the West and dominion over the East. And a conspiracy is born that will ripple through the decades to come. The truth, it seems, is stranger than anything Larry could invent. But when he looks back on the 20th century, the past is as uncertain as the future. Just where does truth end and illusion begin? THE HOUSE OF RUMOUR is a novel of soaring ambition, a mind-expanding journey through the ideas that have put man on the moon yet brought us to the brink of self-destruction. What will you believe?

Hodder & Stoughton

Babyface

Fiona Gibson
Authors:
Fiona Gibson

Mum's the word...When journalist Nina fills in a lonely hearts ad, she doesn't expect it to lead to an unplanned baby, gossipy coffee mornings and a dull-as-ditchwater partner.Trapped at home with nappy-changing L plates, she craves a little glamour and the odd free lunch. And that's when her fashion editor friend spots her new talent - and baby Ben's career as a model is launched.Nina is going to tell her partner - but the time is never quite right. And exposure of her secret is only photograph assignment away...A sparkling, original, charming debut from a talented new voice which will appeal to everyone who likes Allison Pearson, India Knight and John O'Farrell.

Hodder Paperbacks

Foreign Fruit

Jojo Moyes
Authors:
Jojo Moyes

Hodder Paperbacks

Untorn Tickets

Paul Burke
Authors:
Paul Burke

Dave and Andy are two classmates from a strict Catholic School in 70s London. Dave is desperate to escape his stifling Irish home life and Andy the cultural trappings of his traditional Polish family. Both dream of opportunitiesafforded to the strangers on the silver screen. And by chance, they end up working part-time in their local cinema in Notting Hill.They soon discover that being heroes of their own lives and impressing the stars on the ground is a challenge. They embark on a voyage of discovery far more exciting than anything they've seen on film. But when the cinema is threatened with closure, they realise that more than their new found freedom is at risk...

Hodder Paperbacks

Picking Up

Kate Fenton
Authors:
Kate Fenton

The sparkling novel about the funny side of life in Yorkshire, from the author of TOO MANY GODMOTHERS.If it hadn't been for the dog, Jo Patterson would never have overheard that bizarre snatch of conversation on the grouse moor. A year ago Jo didn't know a grouse from a Rhode Island Rooster. Now she's up to her eyebrows in mud because a day's labour on the shoot will earn her a precious £20 and an even more precious few hours of contact with humanity.If she hadn't gone on the shoot she wouldn't have remembered that conversation about security consultants when she discovers that her soon-to-be-ex-husband may have sold their business for much less than it's worth. And if she hadn't remembered the conversation she would never have kicked over the ant's nest of trouble . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Too Many Godmothers

Kate Fenton
Authors:
Kate Fenton

Teddie is a secretary to an MP until they are discovered breakfasting in dressing gowns on her Pimlico terrace. The resulting tabloid frenzy sends her hightailing it back to Yorkshire, where her family is from and where she sets up a catering establishment in the local market town. Her brother, the squire of a local stately home, and sister-in-law greet her with open arms thinking Teddie can sort out their marriage, but Teddie is more concerned with arranging her own - until she is distracted by her new acquaintance, the vile, gorilla-like, Eastender and painter Bill, who's moved in next door with his ghastly dog and dysfunctional life...

Coronet

Shining Threads

Audrey Howard
Authors:
Audrey Howard