James Jackson - Perdition - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848540064
    • Publication date:14 Mar 2013

Perdition

By James Jackson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

1291. The Crusader dream of conquest is over. In the royal city of Acre they prepare for their last bloody stand.

Almost two hundred years have elapsed since the Crusader armies took Jerusalem. Now it is the turn of the Saracen to seek revenge and send an overwhelming force against the last Christian enclave in the Holy Land. In Acre, the defenders await their fate. Knight and bishop, mercenary and merchant, all will be tested and all may perish. For this is the endgame. No quarter will be given and no mercy shown.

William of Beaujeu, Grand Master of the Templars, will stop at little to secure the city and preserve his legendary military order. He knows that final judgement is approaching and that time is running out. But among the garrison are allies - the adventurer de Flor, Theobald, the young Hospitaller, the court dwarf Amethyst, the camel master Selim and the orphan boy and spy Benedict - who must stay alive in the chaos to be unleashed. In their midst prowl the feared Assassins and sinister enemies from among a rabble army of Italians. Deserted by the pope and the princes of Europe, it seems as if Acre faces annihilation - but perhaps something can still be salvaged from perdition . . .

Biographical Notes

James Jackson has written six previous thrillers including the acclaimed BLOOD ROCK, PILGRIM and REALM (all available from John Murray). His non-fiction works include The Counter-Terrorist Handbook. A former political risk consultant and a postgraduate in military studies, he was called to the Bar and is a member of the Inner Temple.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848545274
  • Publication date: 05 Jan 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
'James Jackson has established himself as a fine storyteller . . . Perdition keeps the standard flying high' — Press Association
'The history is . . . reliable and convincing' — Times Literary Supplement
'James Jackson writes with passion and authority in this fast paced, lively historical epic. His vivid writing skills brings both life and death acutely to the reader's senses, and will strongly appeal to fans of Simon Scarrow or anyone fascinated with the Crusades' — welovethisbook.com

Praise for Realm:

'This is history - and terrific history - on every page'

— Frederick Forsyth, author of The Day of the Jackal
'A real page-turner. Drama and suspense are there in plenty . . . Once started, I could not put it down and highly recommend it' — Historical Novels Review
'Brimming with action, conspiracy and burning ambitions, Perdition brings history to life in all its bloody technicolour' — Lancashire Evening Post
'Once started, I found this book difficult to put down. The plot is fast paced and gripping, while the characters are well formed and credible. The siege and the events leading up to it form an exciting framework for this well-researched and atmospheric novel. The culture and politics of the region are effectively evoked, bringing this whole blood period to life. This is historical writing at its best. A real pleasure to read. More please!' — Historical Novels Review
Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder

Sometime around 56 AD, the apostle Paul wrote to the church in Rome. His letter was arguably his theological masterpiece, and has continued to shape Christian faith ever since. He entrusted this letter to Phoebe, the deacon of the church at Cenchreae; in writing to the church that almost surely met in her home, Paul refers to her both as a deacon and as a helper or patron of many. But who was this remarkable woman? In this, her first novel, Biblical scholar and popular author and speaker Paula Gooder tells Phoebe's story - who she was, the life she lived and her first-century faith - and in doing so opens up Paul's theology, giving a sense of the cultural and historical pressures that shaped Paul's thinking, and the faith of the early church. Written in the gripping style of Gerd Theissen's The Shadow of the Galilean, and similarly rigorously researched, this is a novel for everyone and anyone who wants to engage more deeply and imaginatively with Paul's theology - from one of the UK's foremost New Testament scholars.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David

Major George Hart returns to England with a wife, a VC and very little money. Hoping for a new posting abroad, he is surprised to be asked to exchange into the 10th Hussars, based in London, so that he can keep an eye on one of its officers - Prince Albert Victor, second in line to the throne. Not only is the Prince a possible target for assassins, his friendships are in danger of dragging the royal family into a scandal. And when a series of murders erupts in Whitechapel, with the killer soon known as 'Jack the Ripper', the Prince's habit of making nocturnal visits to the East End give rise to an even more alarming suspicion...

Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson

There is a true incident in Icelandic history little known outside their culture. In 1627, Barbary pirates raided an island off the Iceland coast - and abducted 250 inhabitants into slavery in Algiers. Among them was a pastor, his wife and their three children. The pastor was sent back on a failed mission to seek ransom and wrote an account of his adventures. But what happened to the islanders? Most importantly, what happened to his wife and family? Barely a handful of facts is known about Ásta, his wife. How did she survive these terrible events? It's Ásta's space that the author has filled with her stunning novel of love and loss: she has given voice to a woman who, to all intents and purposes (like so many women in history), had none at all. Yet she was clearly remarkable. Captive in an alien Arab culture, the pastor's wife met the unravelling of her identity and beliefs and the least bearable of losses - her three children - with the one thing she brought from home: the stories in her head, like an Icelandic Scheherazade.Intensely moving, The Sealwoman's Gift pays tribute to the fundamental power of storytelling in our lives, our ability to survive loss and tragedy and the real meaning of love.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Onslaught: The Centurions II

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire sequence continues his new trilogy: the epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69. The Rhine frontier has exploded into all-out war. The Batavi cohorts, so recently proud soldiers of Rome, have returned to their homeland, summoned by their new leader Kivilaz: they will be the spearhead of an audacious assault on Roman power. Humbled by the rebels in a battle they should have won, the Romans retreat to their northern stronghold, the Old Camp, to lick their wounds. The 5th and 15th Legions grimly prepare to defend an undermanned fortress against both the Batavi and thousands of barbarian warriors intoxicated by a charismatic priestess's vision of their victory. Four centurions who were once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious civil war. For the Batavi, the prize could be freedom from Roman rule. For the Romans, the choices are victory or the most humiliating defeat their empire has ever known. And for one Batavi soldier, the greatest prize is simply survival in a battle with a cornered, desperate enemy.

Hodder Paperbacks

A Death at Fountains Abbey

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson

Late spring, 1728 and Thomas Hawkins has left London for the wild beauty of Yorkshire - forced on a mission he can't refuse. John Aislabie, one of the wealthiest men in England, has been threatened with murder. Blackmailed into investigating, Tom must hunt down those responsible, or lose the woman he loves forever. Since Aislabie is widely regarded as the architect of the greatest financial swindle ever seen, there is no shortage of suspects. Far from the ragged comforts of home, Tom and his ward Sam Fleet enter a world of elegant surfaces and hidden danger. The great estate is haunted by family secrets and simmering unease. Someone is determined to punish John Aislabie - and anyone who stands in the way. As the violence escalates and shocking truths are revealed, Tom is dragged, inexorably, towards the darkest night of his life.Inspired by real characters, events and settings, A Death at Fountains Abbey is a gripping standalone historical thriller. It also continues the story that began with the award-winning The Devil in the Marshalsea and The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Wild Air

Rebecca Mascull
Authors:
Rebecca Mascull
Hodder & Stoughton

The Reluctant Contact

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke
Hodder & Stoughton

A Morse Code Set

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White

Hodder & Stoughton

There Was a Time

Frank White
Authors:
Frank White
Hodder & Stoughton

Crimson and Bone

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato

A dark, gripping story of love and obsession from bestselling author Marina Fiorato, perfect for fans of The Crimson Petal and the White. London, 1853. Annie Stride has nothing left to live for - she is a penniless prostitute, newly evicted from her home and pregnant. On the night she plans to cast herself from Waterloo Bridge into the icy waters of the Thames, her life is saved by Francis Maybrick Gill, a talented pre-Raphaelite painter - and her world is changed forever.Francis takes Annie as his artist's muse, elevating her from fallen woman to society's darling. With her otherworldly beauty now the toast of London, her dark past is left far behind. But Annie's lavish new life is not all is seems - and there are some who won't let her forget where she came from...

Hodder & Stoughton

Persephone

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

The Emperor's Silver

Nick Brown
Authors:
Nick Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dean's Watch

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge
Two Roads

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd
Authors:
Guinevere Glasfurd

Shortlisted for the Costa First Novel Award 2016Shortlisted for the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award 2017'Excellent... an entirely unsentimental love story with a memorable and engaging heroine. Clever and touching' The Times (Book of the Month)The Words in My Hand is the reimagined true story of Helena Jans, a Dutch maid in 17th century Amsterdam working for an English bookseller. One day a mysterious and reclusive lodger arrives - the Monsieur - who turns out to be René Descartes. At first encounter the maid and the philosopher seem to have little in common, yet Helena yearns for knowledge and literacy - wanting to write so badly that she uses beetroot for ink and her body as paper. And the philosopher, for all his learning, finds that it is Helena who reveals the surprise in the everyday world that surrounds him, as gradually their relationship deepens in a surprising story of love and learning.'An accomplished first novel... Glasfurd brilliantly dissects the complex frustrations of a woman in love with a man consumed by intellectual obsessions. There is much to move us here' Guardian

Two Roads

Love & Friendship

Whit Stillman
Authors:
Whit Stillman
Sceptre

The Fortunes

Peter Ho Davies
Authors:
Peter Ho Davies
Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Confession of Thomas Hawkins

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson