James Jackson - Perdition - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848540064
    • Publication date:14 Mar 2013

Perdition

By James Jackson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

1291. The Crusader dream of conquest is over. In the royal city of Acre they prepare for their last bloody stand.

Almost two hundred years have elapsed since the Crusader armies took Jerusalem. Now it is the turn of the Saracen to seek revenge and send an overwhelming force against the last Christian enclave in the Holy Land. In Acre, the defenders await their fate. Knight and bishop, mercenary and merchant, all will be tested and all may perish. For this is the endgame. No quarter will be given and no mercy shown.

William of Beaujeu, Grand Master of the Templars, will stop at little to secure the city and preserve his legendary military order. He knows that final judgement is approaching and that time is running out. But among the garrison are allies - the adventurer de Flor, Theobald, the young Hospitaller, the court dwarf Amethyst, the camel master Selim and the orphan boy and spy Benedict - who must stay alive in the chaos to be unleashed. In their midst prowl the feared Assassins and sinister enemies from among a rabble army of Italians. Deserted by the pope and the princes of Europe, it seems as if Acre faces annihilation - but perhaps something can still be salvaged from perdition . . .

Biographical Notes

James Jackson has written six previous thrillers including the acclaimed BLOOD ROCK, PILGRIM and REALM (all available from John Murray). His non-fiction works include The Counter-Terrorist Handbook. A former political risk consultant and a postgraduate in military studies, he was called to the Bar and is a member of the Inner Temple.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848545274
  • Publication date: 05 Jan 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
'James Jackson has established himself as a fine storyteller . . . Perdition keeps the standard flying high' — Press Association
'The history is . . . reliable and convincing' — Times Literary Supplement
'James Jackson writes with passion and authority in this fast paced, lively historical epic. His vivid writing skills brings both life and death acutely to the reader's senses, and will strongly appeal to fans of Simon Scarrow or anyone fascinated with the Crusades' — welovethisbook.com

Praise for Realm:

'This is history - and terrific history - on every page'

— Frederick Forsyth, author of The Day of the Jackal
'A real page-turner. Drama and suspense are there in plenty . . . Once started, I could not put it down and highly recommend it' — Historical Novels Review
'Brimming with action, conspiracy and burning ambitions, Perdition brings history to life in all its bloody technicolour' — Lancashire Evening Post
'Once started, I found this book difficult to put down. The plot is fast paced and gripping, while the characters are well formed and credible. The siege and the events leading up to it form an exciting framework for this well-researched and atmospheric novel. The culture and politics of the region are effectively evoked, bringing this whole blood period to life. This is historical writing at its best. A real pleasure to read. More please!' — Historical Novels Review
Sceptre

The Fatal Tree

Jake Arnott
Authors:
Jake Arnott

Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides comes a stunningly evocative historical novel, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent.'Beautifully told and quietly absorbing' - Kate RiordanScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.***'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' The Times'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Stunning' Booklist'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward

A magical tale of Christmas and cats, perfect for everyone who loves A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat.It's nearly Christmas, and Jessamine Pike needs a serious life overhaul.Jess moves into Enysyule, a centuries-old cottage in Cornwall, and begins the process of renovating the rundown house by day and finishing her novel by night, planning to have both finished in time for the holidays. She's got good company: a beautiful, arrogant tomcat stalks around like he owns the place, and seems very skeptical of Jess' tenancy. But there's magic in the air... Local legends tell of a spirit that inhabits the area, and an ancient standing stone that keeps watch over the valley. As Christmas comes closer and closer, Jess uncovers treasures from Enysyule's past, and becomes involved in a fight for its future. For Jess has stumbled into a story that's been going on for five hundred years. A story about land, love, friendship, the Yuletide... and one remarkable cat.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Hamilton Affair

Elizabeth Cobbs
Authors:
Elizabeth Cobbs

Love Hamilton: An American Musical? You'll adore The Hamilton Affair.THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERWar will bring them together. Peace will tear them apart. History will make them immortal . . .Born a bastard and raised an orphan in the stifling heat of the Caribbean, Alexander Hamilton must prove his worth on the bloody battlefields of the American Revolution. A wealthy child of privilege, Elizabeth Schuyler has never wanted for anything, yet she longs for a life of so much more. When fate brings them together, a passionate, life-long love affair begins. But to Alexander, burdened by his tragic origins, matters of honour can never be forgotten. As he risks everything for the future of his bold new country, this extraordinary marriage will be tested like no other - and become forever immortalised in hearts and minds.Praise for THE HAMILTON AFFAIR:'The Hamilton novel that immediately leaps to the top of the list' Joseph J. Ellis 'A portrait of a love so deep it was able to survive betrayal and a devastatingly public scandal'Booklist'Cobbs' depiction of Hamilton will endear him in the hearts of readers' Publishers Weekly

Hodder & Stoughton

The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Hodder & Stoughton

Deadly Election

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder & Stoughton

The Spook Who Spoke Again

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Knives: Empire VII

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

'A master of the genre' The TimesThe seventh novel in Anthony Riches' acclaimed Empire sequence brings Marcus Aquila back to Rome, hunting the men who destroyed his family. But the revenge he craves may cost him and those around him dearly.The young centurion's urge to exact his own brutal justice upon the shadowy cabal of assassins who butchered his family means that he must face them on their own ground, risking his own death at their hands.A senator, a gang boss, a praetorian officer and, deadliest of all, champion gladiator Mortiferum - the Death Bringer - lie in wait. The knives are unsheathed, and ready for blood . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

Beloved Exile

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dreams of Fair Women

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Hong Kong in the nineteenth century: a heady, overwhelming mixture of worldly commercialism, moral corruption and Eastern tradition. Into this strange and exciting world, on board the S.S. Mongolia comes Milly Smith, daughter of a Hong Kong tycoon, destined for a marriage of convenience to a greedy financier. But during the course of her journey Milly has attracted the attentions of fellow passanger, the wild and dashing pirate, Eli boggs. Set against a turbulent historical backdrop of Hong Kong's piracy, the slave trade and the infamous Opium War, The Dreams of Fair Women is a classic historical adventure from the author of The Rape of the Fair Country.

Hodder & Stoughton

Land of Heart's Desire

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Love That God Forgot

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Wales has reached the apex of her industrial clamour. But young Tom Mortymer, son of rich industrialist Iestyn Mortymer, has turned his back on his inheritance, exchanging the bell-clang and fire of his Upper Forest Tinplate Works in Morriston for the simplicity and wanderlust of a gypsy existence with his young Romany wife, Jen Wildflower. In time they come to settle on Flatholm Island where they become a refuge for the animals. Self-sufficiency is their ultimate goal; the substantial income from tinplate is ignored. But their simple idyll does not last. They are aware of a strange malevolence towards them.One frightening incident follows another until it is clear to tom and Jen that they will have to abandon their home and return to Cefn-Ydfa, their mansion in Maesteg. Their decision coincides with the arrival in Cardiff of Jethro Mortymer, Tom's uncle - whom he had long believed dead. Would Jethro be able to shed any light on Tom and Jen's continuing nightmare?

Hodder & Stoughton

Send Her Victorious

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

1848. When the French people besiege Paris, King Louis Philippe flees to England and the French aristocracy run for their lives. Even the Pope deserts the Vatican.Europe is in turmoil. Fearing economic and social collapse, the French provisonal government distractsworld attention by recruiting a Queen voctoria 'look alike', one madame Alicia Bernard, and then claiming that they have succeeded in abducting Victoria for a trial in Paris for'crimes against the poor'. Alicia Bernard stands alone before the howling mobs, until barrister Andre Pelon is appointed to defend her...

Hodder Paperbacks

The Devil in the Marshalsea

Antonia Hodgson
Authors:
Antonia Hodgson
Hodder & Stoughton

Tales From Tiger Bay

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

To Slay The Dreamer

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Peerless Jim

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Healing Blade

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dream And The Destiny

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The Long March was an extraordinary feat of human endurance. Lin-Wai, a young doctor newly recruited into the Red Army, is caught up in the breakout of the followersof Mao and their ensuing flight. The marchers struggle on through pain and suffering, under continual harrassment from the enormously superior Kuomintang forces. Through the blistering heat of the Grasslands to the icy-zub-zero temperatures of the Great Snow Mountain, they march. Over a hundred thousand men begin the march. Only five thousand will survive.

Hodder & Stoughton

This Sweet And Bitter Earth

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell