L R Fredericks - The Book of Luce - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848543348
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848544680
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017

The Book of Luce

By L R Fredericks

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A mind-bending mystery spanning continents and centuries for all fans of Neal Stephenson and David Mitchell.

'Truly a slice of magic and a work of imaginative genius.' Starburst

A mind-bending mystery spanning continents and centuries for all fans of Neal Stephenson and David Mitchell.

'A witty and weird tale with shades of both Philip K Dick, and Kieron Gillen/Jamie McKelvie's comic The Wicked + The Divine.' SFX

'An experience that is both absorbing and emotional' SciFi Now

My obsession begins in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons' legendary last secret gig. That night changes my life: I must know who Luce is. But the deeper I dig, the more questions I turn up. Is Luce a rock star or a pretender? An artist or an acid trip?

My redemption . . . or my delusion?

Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I become the dark shadow who follows the light of Luce. But who follows me? Are they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?

The quest for Luce will lead me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I will lose everything and everyone I love . . . except for Luce.

Who is pawn and who is player? Murderer or victim? Betrayer or saviour?

I am the only one who knows the truth.

This is the truth.

This is The Book of Luce.

Biographical Notes

L. R. Fredericks lives in Somerset. She is the author of two novels in the loosely linked Time and Light sequence, Farundell, which was shortlisted for the Authors' Club First Novel Award, and Fate. Both are available in paperback from Hodder.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848543362
  • Publication date: 17 May 2018
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Equal parts hippy travelogue and pulp existential thriller . . . a witty and weird tale with shades of both Philip K Dick, and Kieron Gillen/Jamie McKelvie's comic The Wicked + The Divine. — SFX
An experience that is both absorbing and emotional. — SciFi Now
A clever and impressive novel, a drug-infused meta story that never wants to reveal too much or make definitive judgements. — Fiendfully Reading Blog
Somehow this story puts into words the life grail we are all seeking. — Bookphace
Such is the nature of the cult of L.R. Frederick's 'Time and Light' series, and if it doesn't expand you mind to new possibilities, you'll at least find it an enjoyable romp though some old ones. — The Digital Fix
This is a beautifully written, fascinating and interesting book. — Let Them Read Books
Herman Hesse meets Salman Rushdie: the acceptance and presentation of what's beyond the veil as part of everyday life coupled with a scholarly grasp of the subject matter. — Van is Reading
Truly a slice of magic and a work of imaginative genius. — Starburst
Mulholland Books

Collecting Cooper

Paul Cleave
Authors:
Paul Cleave
Hodder Paperbacks

Warlord's Gold

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold

Warlord's Gold, the fifth novel in The Civil War Chronicles, Michael Arnold's acclaimed series of historical thrillers, sees battle-scarred hero, Captain Stryker, 'the Sharpe of the Civil War' on a quest to recover lost treasure.Autumn,1643. As an increasingly bitter war rages across England, Captain Innocent Stryker leaves Oxford with orders to recover a lost treasure, vital to the success of the Royalist cause. But a seemingly simple mission to the remote Scilly Isles is soon jeopardised, for enemies lie in wait. A formidable Parliamentarian agent has been sent ahead of Stryker's force, intent on defeating Royalist plans. Feared by ally and enemy alike, he is a man whose determination is only matched by his hatred for Stryker.The quest for the gold takes Stryker across storm-ravaged seas, through enemy territory and finally to the Royalist stronghold of Basing House. And it is there that Stryker will face his most dangerous challenge yet.

Mulholland Books

Early Graves

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen

'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlowe, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.Dave returns home one morning to find an unknown dead man in his front yard, the latest victim of a serial killer targeting young men with AIDS. Why was he brought to Dave's door? The hunt for the answer leads him from the country set to the downtown hustlers, along the dark byways of sex, suffering, grief and vengeance.

Mulholland Books

Obedience

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen

'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlowe, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.A rundown harbour is due to be re-developed - against the wishes of those who call it home. When Mr Le, the businessman behind the project, is shot on his way to meet the residents' spokesman, the culprit seems obvious. But then Dave is persuaded to take the case, and finds much more beneath the surface: forbidden love, deadly hatred, and most toxic of all, family honour.

Mulholland Books

Nightwork

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen
Mulholland Books

The Little Dog Laughed

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen

'After forty years, Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlow, Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them, he was tough, determined, and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them, he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky, passions run high, and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California, the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place, with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.When foreign correspondent Adam Streeter is found shot dead, the police and his daughter both say suicide; but his life insurance company sends Dave in to check all the same. He soon realises that Adam was on the trail of a big story - so big that, as Dave digs deeper, he swiftly finds himself targeted by the same powerful and pitiless enemy.

Mulholland Books

Skinflick

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen
Mulholland Books

Gravedigger

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen
Mulholland Books

The Man Everybody Was Afraid Of

Joseph Hansen
Authors:
Joseph Hansen

'After forty years Hammett has a worthy successor' The TimesDave Brandstetter stands alongside Philip Marlow Sam Spade and Lew Archer as one of the best fictional PIs in the business. Like them he was tough determined and ruthless when the case demanded it. Unlike them he was gay. Joseph Hansen's groundbreaking novels follow Brandstetter as he investigates cases in which motives are murky passions run high and nothing is ever as simple as it looks. Set in 1970s and 80s California the series is a fascinating portrait of a time and a place with mysteries to match Chandler and Macdonald.Police Chief Ben Orton swore he'd keep 'big city vice' out of his town. So no one is too surprised when he turns up dead - but Dave thinks pinning his murder on gay activist Cliff Kerlee is just a bit too convenient. His investigation uncovers a community cowed by one man and a police force with its own ideas of law and order.

Two Roads

The Legacy of Elizabeth Pringle

Kirsty Wark
Authors:
Kirsty Wark

'ORIGINAL AND ENTHRALLING' Guardian'COMPLETELY ENCHANTING' Penny Vincenzi Longlisted for the IMPAC AwardElizabeth Pringle lived all her long life on the Scottish island of Arran. But did anyone really know her? In her will she leaves her beloved house, Holmlea, to a stranger - a young mother she'd seen pushing a pram down the road over thirty years ago. It now falls to Martha, once the baby in that pram, to answer the question: why? Martha is coping with her mother's dementia and the possibility of a new life on Arran could be a new start.A captivating story for fans of Rosamund Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Rachel Joyce of the richness behind the so-called ordinary lives of women and the secrets and threads that hold them together.

Hodder Paperbacks

Broke

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
John Murray

Assassin's Reign

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold
Hodder Paperbacks

Fate

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks

Hodder & Stoughton

Lost Angel

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder Paperbacks

The Driver

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
John Murray

Farundell

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks
Hodder Paperbacks

Two-Faced

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller

Mia and Michelle couldn't look more alike - or act more differently. Mia's always been the glamorous one, the one everyone wants to get close to. And now she's a model, on the edge of fame.But Mia can't resist the illegal thrills that come with fame. When disaster strikes, her mousy look-alike sister has to pretend to be Mia. Michelle saves her career, and turns out to have star quality too. She's even got someone to fall in love with her - a man Mia wants almost as much as she wants to be a supermodel. That's something Mia will never, ever forgive . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

Snatched

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder Paperbacks

The Game

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller
Hodder Paperbacks

The Front

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller

When four old school friends decide to make some easy money, they pick the wrong target. Very wrong. Robbing a small supermarket on a Manchester estate looks easy - but with one of them wounded and a dead body on their hands, could things get worse? They could. The supermarket is merely the front for something bigger. The friends are small fish who have unwittingly plunged into a very big pond and now they are swimming with the great white sharks of the criminal underworld.