Alice O'Keeffe - On The Up - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781529303353
    • Publication date:14 Nov 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781529303346
    • Publication date:14 Nov 2019

On The Up

By Alice O'Keeffe

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781529303377
  • Publication date: 14 Nov 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Coronet
John Murray

The House of Broken Angels

Luis Alberto Urrea
Authors:
Luis Alberto Urrea
JM Originals

Nobber

Oisín Fagan
Authors:
Oisín Fagan

'Oisín Fagan announces himself as the best new young writer in Ireland' Colin BarrettAn ambitious noble and his three serving men travel through the Irish countryside in the stifling summer of 1348, using the advantage of the plague which has collapsed society to buy up large swathes of property and land. They come upon Nobber, a tiny town, whose only living habitants seem to be an egotistical bureaucrat, his volatile wife, a naked blacksmith, and a beautiful Gaelic hostage. Meanwhile, a band of marauding Gaels are roaming around, using the confusion of the sickness to pillage and reclaim lands that once belonged to them. As these groups converge upon the town, the habitants, who up until this point have been under strict curfew, begin to stir from their dwellings, demanding answers from the intruders. A deadly stand-off emerges from which no one will escape unscathed.

Hodder & Stoughton

A Book of Bones

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.He is our best hope.He is our last hope.On a lonely moor in the northeast of England, the body of a young woman is discovered near the site of a vanished church. In the south, a girl lies buried beneath a Saxon mound. To the southeast, the ruins of a priory hide a human skull.Each is a sacrifice, a summons. And something in the shadows has heard the call.But another is coming: Parker the hunter, the avenger. Parker's mission takes him from Maine to the deserts of the Mexican border; from the canals of Amsterdam to the streets of London - he will track those who would cast this world into darkness.Parker fears no evil.But evil fears him . . .

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

How Do You Like Me Now?

Holly Bourne
Authors:
Holly Bourne
Yellow Kite

Help Your Child Deal With Stress – and Thrive

Stuart Shanker
Authors:
Stuart Shanker

We are seeing a generation of children and teens with excessively high levels of stress, and, as a result, an explosion of health problems in young people today. But few parents recognise the 'hidden stressors' that their children are struggling with. This book, previously published as Self-Reg, will give you the tools to help you recognise stress and understand your child's behaviour, and teach your stressed, emotional child to identify their 'big' emotions and get back on an even keel by themselves. Stress can affect your child in many ways - whether it's exam pressure, pressure exerted by friends online or in the playground, or related to health, with lack of sleep and anxiety at home contributing. Help Your Child Deal With Stress - and Thrive is a ground-breaking parenting book, in which Dr Stuart Shanker argues that by teaching children the art of self-regulation, it can transform their behaviour and help them to identify, talk about and manage their emotions. This leads to a harmonious home, and children who feel nurtured and supported.Mastering the art of self-regulation can help children learn to deal with experiences, overcome frustration, pay better attention, engage better with others and enhance their learning capabilities. In turn, children will develop the confidence, along with the skills and emotional strength needed to navigate the pressures and stresses of the modern world.Underpinned by science, Dr Shanker's techniques have had a remarkable effect on children and parents alike, and hundreds of thousands of children who have gone through the programme in Canada have shown significant improvement in literacy, numeracy and behaviour. 'In this important and timely book, Stuart Shanker encourages us to see our children in a whole new light and gives us the tools we need to help nurture our young in order that they can better manage stress, build resiliency and improve their emotional health. Today's pupils are under serious pressure to perform; by helping children recognize, identify and talk about their emotions, we can help them find balance and ultimately realise their true potential.' - Sir Anthony Seldon, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Buckingham, co-founder of Action for Happiness and best-selling author

John Murray

The Good Guy

Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016'I fell into The Good Guy hook, line and sinker . . . utterly captivating' Last Word ReviewA summer of love and deceit in 1960s New England.Abigail has everything she's meant to want: a handsome, successful husband, a beautiful baby daughter, and a house in the suburbs. Inside, however, she's in turmoil: awkward with her neighbors, exhausted by the demands of motherhood, a failure at domesticity. Her husband, Ted, doesn't feel the same pressure. His professional life is on the up when a chance encounter with single-girl Penny offers a glimpse of the life he might have had, had he not blindly followed convention. Captivated, he tells a lie and then another. Lie by lie, he constructs a double life, convinced he can keep his two worlds separate, but can he?Brilliantly observed and deeply moving, The Good Guy proves that the worst lies are the ones we tell ourselves.'A sparkling debut, with a lifelike depiction of a time and place, and piercing insights into the fabled, and often tarnished, American dream' Lady'Extremely well-written, intelligent and perceptive, this also happens to be a novel that slips down like icecream on a hot day. I absolutely loved it' Shiny New Books'A delicious, slightly gossipy summer read with a Mad Men feel to it. I'd especially recommend this to readers who enjoyed The Longest Night by Andria Williams and Tigers in Red Weather by Liza Klaussmann' Bookbag

Sceptre

The Crime Writer

Jill Dawson
Authors:
Jill Dawson
Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley

Winner of the 2017 Edgar Award for Best NovelSelected by The Sunday Times as one of the top page-turners of summer 2017FROM THE CREATOR OF THE AWARD WINNING FARGO AND LEGION TV SERIES'Hawley's sublime prose glows on every page in this literary thriller of the highest quality' Daily MailTHE RICH ARE DIFFERENT. BUT FATE IS BLIND.A private jet plunges into the sea.The only survivors are down-on his luck artist Scott Burroughs and JJ Bateman, the four year old son of a super-rich TV executive.For saving the boy, Scott is suddenly a hero.And then, as the official investigation is rapidly overtaken by a media frenzy, it seems he may also be a villain. Why was he on the plane in the first place, and why did it crash?

Hodder & Stoughton

This is Now

Ciara Geraghty
Authors:
Ciara Geraghty
Hodder Paperbacks

Finders Keepers

Stephen King
Authors:
Stephen King

A riveting crime thriller about a reader whose obsession with a reclusive writer goes too far, featuring the same trio of unlikely and winning heroes King introduced in MR MERCEDES.1978: Morris Bellamy is a reader so obsessed by America's iconic author John Rothstein that he is prepared to kill for a trove of notebooks containing at least one more unpublished novel. 2009: Pete Saubers, a boy whose father was brutally injured by a stolen Mercedes, discovers a buried trunk containing cash and Rothstein's notebooks.2014: After thirty-five years in prison, Morris is up for parole. And he's hell-bent on recovering his treasure.Now it's up to retired detective Bill Hodges - running an investigative company called 'Finders Keepers' - to rescue Pete from an ever-more deranged and vengeful Morris...Not since Misery has King written with such visceral power about a reader with such a dangerous obsession. Finders Keepers is spectacular suspense, and it is King writing about how literature shapes a life for good, for bad, for ever.

Hodder Paperbacks

Water Angels

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft
Hodder & Stoughton

Pompidou Posse

Sarah Lotz
Authors:
Sarah Lotz

Paris is eternal. Art is love. Friendship is forever. Except when it isn't.You're seventeen. One night, more or less by accident, you set fire to a garden shed. Naturally, you pack up and run off to Paris, certain you can make enough money off your art to get by. You're young, you're talented, you're full of life, and you have your best friend in all the world by your side. What could possibly go wrong?Sarah Lotz's hilarious, heartbreaking first novel has only ever been published in South Africa. Now Hodder & Stoughton are proud to be bringing it to a world-wide audience, newly edited and with an all-new cover.

John Murray

Motherland

Jo McMillan
Authors:
Jo McMillan
Sceptre

The Song Collector

Natasha Solomons
Authors:
Natasha Solomons
Hodder Paperbacks

Us

David Nicholls
Authors:
David Nicholls
Hodder & Stoughton

Jakob's Colours

Lindsay Hawdon
Authors:
Lindsay Hawdon

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief.Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y. He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone.'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs.Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.

Two Roads

Soil

Jamie Kornegay
Authors:
Jamie Kornegay
Hodder & Stoughton

A Lesson in Love

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The fourth Little Village School novel.Love is in the air in the little village of Barton-in-the-Dale. Anyone can see that Ashley Underwood and Emmet O'Malley are made for each other. They've just got to admit it to themselves . . . But as the saying goes, the course of true love never did run smooth.While romance blossoms on one side of the village, an angry young boy struggles to believe in love. But when tragedy strikes, he learns that comfort and care can come from the most unexpected of places.Meanwhile, head teacher Elisabeth Stirling faces a new challenge for the start of the school year. An eccentric teacher joins the staff, and there's also a worrying case of potential negligence to answer. In the village too, a puritanical new vicar stirs up trouble. But as always, mixed in with the drama there's plenty of gossip, laughter, friendship - and love - in Barton-in-the-Dale.

Two Roads

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald

Therese Anne Fowler
Authors:
Therese Anne Fowler