Allen Eskens - The Shadows We Hide - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473694484
    • Publication date:15 Nov 2018

The Shadows We Hide

By Allen Eskens

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473694491
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Sceptre

Flying Hero Class

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

When Palestinian guerillas hijack a flight from New York to Frankfurt, they find an Aboriginal dance troupe among the passengers. Similarly dispossessed of their land, whose side will the Aborigines take? Conflicts of loyalty, terror and revolutionary fervour form the explosive ingredients in this riveting and thought-provoking novel.

Mulholland Books

Playing the Wild Card

Philip Evans
Authors:
Philip Evans

Gary Byrne is a footballing genius. When he was transferred to Fiorentina, the Italian fans were soon calling him 'Byron' - a nick-name that suits both his style as well as his romantic good looks.But recently something has gone seriously wrong, and 'Byron' seems to have lost form disastrously. Is it simply the pressure at the top of the game he can't handle? Or is there something else?Ross Armstrong, sent out to assess him for a possible transfer back to England, is puzzled. But as Armstrong delves deeper he finds himself being drawn into an off-the-field drama of deception, tragedy and violence.

Mulholland Books

The Interrogators

Allan Prior
Authors:
Allan Prior
Mulholland Books

Paradiso

Allan Prior
Authors:
Allan Prior
Mulholland Books

One Away

Allan Prior
Authors:
Allan Prior

One away...' is the traditional cry of warders on Dartmoor. Tam Bass heard it as he lay in the grass. To carry out the intricate plan for his escape Tam had to run - and run to a pre-arranged rendevous on the other side of the moor. But as his brothers Ruben and Peter flashed past the meeting point on their motorbikes, there were already signs that something was wrong - that the Bass brothers had started a dreadful chain of events that they were now powerless to stop...

Mulholland Books

Blowtorch

Pat O'keeffe
Authors:
Pat O'keeffe

On the far side of the tracks, four men were savagely beating a woman to the ground. I shouted just as the tallest one grabbed her by the hair and wrenched her head back. For an instant our eyes met.Then with a long looping cut he hacked off her head.Steve Jay's got problems. He's just seen a women brutally murdered. East London is in the grip of racial turmoil and an embittered immigrant community's anger is focussing on him. Then an arsonist sets fire to an Asian cinema leaving hundreds dead and the flames of ethnic tension look set to rage out of control.It's just the beginning.Pat O'Keeffe's exciting third novel throws Steve Jay into a world of violence, drugs and corruption and pits him against a shadowy foe who wants Jay out of the picture. For good.

Sceptre

Arts and Wonders

Gregory Norminton
Authors:
Gregory Norminton

ARTS AND WONDERS spans a glorious canvas, peopled by werewolves, thieves, emperors, travelling players and a forger dwarf who takes a lifetime to learn the danger of illusions.Tomasso Grilli, a dwarf gifted with an extraordinary capacity for artistic forgery (and flexible morals) recounts the story of his life, from his base beginnings in Florence, through his apprenticeship to the painter Arcimboldo, to his life of crime in Prague and subsequent banishment, to the gilded fame he finds as 'librarian' and collector to the court of an impoverished, ignorant ruler in the German Dukedom of Felsungrunde. Grilli's ambition and dubious skills take him to the pinnacle of success only for it to collapse beneath him like the illusion it always was. Betrayed and reviled he leaves Felsungrunde, is forced to join a group of travelling players, and finally learns the value of friendship. loyalty and honesty. The extraordinary cast of characters (some based on real historical figures) includes werewolves, an occult alchemist, a bear, a dodo, a lion and a maker of mechanical dolls.

John Murray

Shade

Neil Jordan
Authors:
Neil Jordan
Sceptre

The Widow and her Hero

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

In 1943, when Grace and Leo Waterhouse married in Australia, they were part of a young generation ready to sacrifice themselves to win the war, while being confident they would survive. Sixty years on, as Grace recounts what happened to her doomed hero, she can say what she suspected then: that for many men, bravery is its own end. The tale she tells is one of great love, lost innocence, a charismatic but unstable Irish commander, dashing undercover missions against the Japanese in Singapore, and - in her eyes - reckless, foolhardy exploits. As fresh details continue to emerge, Grace is forced to keep revising her picture of what happened to Leo and his fellow commandoes - until she learns about the final piece in the jigsaw, and an ultimate betrayal. As absorbing as it is thought-provoking, this timely novel poses unsettling questions about what drives men to battle and heroic deeds, and movingly conveys the life-long effect on those who survive them.

Hodder & Stoughton

Puritan's Wife

Joanna Hines
Authors:
Joanna Hines

To her neighbours in the small Cotswold town of Tilsbury she is a respectable wife and mother; to her husband Josiah she will always be his 'Doll', the child-bride he brought home from the German wars; to the painter of the family's portrait she is an enigma, remote and unknowable, a mystery perhaps even to herself. When Royalist soldiers arrive to garrison Tilsbury the tranquil rhythm of country life is shattered. Mistress Doll Taverner is more affected than anyone by the impact of the Civil War, which revives all the half-forgotten nightmares of childhood tragedy. Then a Cornish officer, Captain Stephen Sutton, begins to pose a threat of a subtler kind; as affection grows between them, she is compelled to question all the certainties by which she has lived her life.

Hodder & Stoughton

Dora's Room

Joanna Hines
Authors:
Joanna Hines

Fern is a naive and unworldly young woman when she unexpectedly inherits the entire estate of her rich grandfather. The house and its grounds evoke Fern's long-buried childhood memories and set her on a quest to uncover the truth about her parents and the elusive "Dora".

Hodder & Stoughton

Autumn of Strangers

Joanna Hines
Authors:
Joanna Hines
Sceptre

Pure

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

WINNER OF THE COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD (2011) A year of bones, of grave-dirt, relentless work. Of mummified corpses and chanting priests.A year of rape, suicide, sudden death. Of friendship too. Of desire. Of love...A year unlike any other he has lived.Deep in the heart of Paris, its oldest cemetery is, by 1785, overflowing, tainting the very breath of those who live nearby. Into their midst comes Jean-Baptiste Baratte, a young, provincial engineer charged by the king with demolishing it.At first Baratte sees this as a chance to clear the burden of history, a fitting task for a modern man of reason. But before long, he begins to suspect that the destruction of the cemetery might be a prelude to his own.(P)2012 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Lone Wolf

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

A gripping emotional drama from the UK's bestselling women's fiction author, Jodi Picoult.Luke Warren would have slept in the dirt if it meant he could be under the stars. He lives by the laws of nature, and would surely want to die that way.But Luke is in a coma, and his family must make an unbearable decision.As tensions and secrets rise to the surface, the tragic accident which brought them back together against the odds could well tear Luke's family apart forever.They know Luke would not want to live like this. But how can they choose to let him die?

Hodder & Stoughton

House Rules

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

A gripping novel from Number One bestseller Jodi Picoult. Perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Elizabeth is Missing.She expects other people not to understand.She expects the stares and whispers.She even expects trouble with the police.But she doesn't expect Jacob to be charged with murder. And when all the hallmarks of your son's condition - his tics, his inappropriate actions, his inability to look you in the eye - can be read as guilt; when you cannot put your hand on your heart and swear he is innocent . . .How can you help your child then?

Sceptre

The Optimists

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

The exceptional and powerful novel from the Booker-shortlisted author of OxygenIn a world where people slaughter the innocent without mercy or retribution, how can we have faith in humanity, or the future?Clem Glass, a photojournalist, returns from Africa to London convinced he knows the answer - mankind is fundamentally wicked and there is no hope for us. Yet when his sister falls ill and he takes her back to the West Country of their childhood, he cannot ignore the decency, joys and small kindnesses of those around him, or the pulse of goodness in his own heart. Until news comes that offers Clem the chance to confront the author of his nightmares.

Sceptre

One Morning Like a Bird

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller

Tokyo, 1940. While Japan's war against China escalates, young Yuji Takano clings to his cocooned life: his beloved evenings of French conversation at Monsieur Feneon's, visits to the bathhouse with friends, his books, his poetry. But conscription looms and the mood turns against foreigners, just when Yuji gets entangled with Feneon's daughter. As the nation heads towards conflict with the Allies, Yuji must decide where his duty - and his heart - lie.

Sceptre

Human Love

Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Hodder & Stoughton

Change of Heart

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult
Sceptre

Blood Red, Sister Rose

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

The story of Joan of Arc has always held a special fascination for writers - among them Voltaire, Mark Twain, George Bernard Shaw and Jean Anouilh. Here Thomas Keneally transforms the legend, presenting a Joan who is at once a tough radical, an instinctive soldier, a nagging prophet and a touchingly vulnerable girl - a haunting and compelling heroine framed by the tumultuous times in which she lived.