Pamela Hansford-Johnson - This Bed Thy Centre - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473679856
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018

This Bed Thy Centre

The Modern Classic

By Pamela Hansford-Johnson

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Rediscover a classic gem with Pamela Hansford Johnson's THIS BED THY CENTRE, the explosive, defining novel about sex in 1930s London.

Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson through her explosive debut, This Bed Thy Centre. . .

'Very funny' Independent

'Remarkable' Olivia Laing, Guardian

Sixteen year old Elsie Cotton, who lives with her widowed mother in south London, wants someone to explain to her what sexual intercourse is. Her mother won't tell her, and nor will her teacher; her boyfriend Roly is only too willing to show her, but fear of the unknown and her understanding of the potential consequences stop her.
As she and Roly continue their courtship, it becomes clear that the only way Elsie will take the leap into bed is if they're married...

This era-defining novel - which was banned from Battersea library on publication - explores down-at-heel south London in the 30's and attitudes towards sex. The Daily Express said at the time:
'Miss Johnson will be able to write when she has persuaded herself that there are other things in the world besides sex.'

Luckily for Miss Johnson, this was the debut novel that was followed by 27 other novels in a career that ended in her being called 'one of Britain's best-known novelists' by the Telegraph.

Biographical Notes

Pamela Hansford Johnson was born in 1912. As a novelist, she gained recognition with her first novel, This Bed Thy Centre, published in 1935. She then went on to write 26 more novels throughout her life, ranging in genre from romantic and high comedy to tragedy, and the psychological study of cruelty, with themes centred around the moral responsibility of the individual in their personal and social relations. She was also a well-respected critic, a leading Proustian scholar, an essayist, a playwright, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and a CBE. She died in 1981.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473679863
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansofrd Johnson, one of Britain's wittiest authors, in this tale of sinister obsession and friendship most deadly. . . Art historian Gavin and his wife Hannah, along with their young son Giles, arrive in a quiet seaside town in Belgium to enjoy a peaceful summer holiday. Little do they realise someone has followed them to Belgium: Melissa Hirst, a student of Gavin who has fallen in love with him, living in a romantic fantasy. The couple become distracted as Melissa obsessively follows the family, deliberately bumping into them repeatedly, and the circus arrives in town: so they miss their small son secretly pursuing his own sinister friendship... The holiday that began so peacefully explodes in a shocking, deadly climax. 'Very funny' Independent'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess

Hodder Paperbacks

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Delve into the witty and wonderful world of Barbara Pym, in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard.'Very funny' IndependentWriter Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make her the perfect confidante for a group of friends: architect Eric Aveling - whose wife Lois is dying, Junius Evans, Aveling's flamboyant business partner, and, above all, eccentric, impulsive Celia Baird. When death forces a realignment of relationships within the group even the perceptive Christine is not prepared for the final outcome. Moving between London and a south coast seaside town, The Last Resort is a sensitive and vividly human exploration of the hidden side of marriage, where dark undercurrents of duty, guilt, secrecy and loneliness can all play a part in deviating the course of love and influencing the choices that life thrusts upon us.'Remarkable' Olivia Laing, Guardian'Miss Johnson is one of the most accomplished women writers' Kirkus

Hodder & Stoughton

No Tigers in the Hindu Kush

Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter, Philip Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Courtesan

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

The second in the Master of Gray trilogy takes this seventeenth-century story of war and intrigue in Scotland to the next generation - the Master's illegitimate daughter. Unacknowledged daughter of the Master of Gray, the young Mary inherited her father's amazing good looks and talent for intrigue. Her forbidden love for the young Duke of Lennox showed that her father had also passed on his own passionate nature. Coming to maturity in a Scotland torn by violent conflict, she was wise beyond her years. She needed to be, during the harsh years of the first half of the seventeenth century. This gripping novel by one of the world's foremost historical novelists shows how Mary determined to counteract her father's plotting and save Protestant Scotland from the threat of the Catholic Inquisition. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Lord and Master

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Born of one of Scotland's noblest families, Patrick Gray was fascinating, irresistible, ambitious and ruthless. Involved in a daring plot to free the imprisoned Mary Queen of Scots, and immersed in the intrigues of Elizabeth I's Tudor court, he strode imperiously across the turbulent stage of European history, crushing those who resisted his legendary charm. The great events of the sixteenth century provide a colourful backdrop to this stirring tale of love, adventure and betrayal. 'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Courting Favour

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

A Folly of Princes

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

Scotland at the dawn of the 15th century was a wretched spectacle. Whilethe feeble Robert III still clung to his throne, his kingdom rang withthe sound of conflict as his son and brother grappled for power.Sir James Douglas of Aberdour, married as he was to the King'sillegitimate sister, had to tread a hazardous path through the warringfactions. But having a conscience made life harder still. For in thosedays - and in that company - a conscience could cost a man dear...The second volume of Nigel Tranter's epic House of Stewart trilogy tellsof the last days of King Robert III of Scotland and the struggle for histhrone.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Botticelli Secret

Marina Fiorato
Authors:
Marina Fiorato
Hodder & Stoughton

David the Prince

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Highness in Hiding

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter

The quashing of the Jacobite Rising of 1745 saw an end to the ambitions of the exiled house of Stuart. But somehow the young pretender, Prince Charles Edward, otherwise known as Bonnie Prince Charlie, manage to avoid arrest.For six extraordinary months the handsome young prince, often starving, sometimes barefoot and in rags, ranged the Western Highlands and the Outer and Inner Hebrides, hiding, lurking, fleeing.Despite dire threats of punishment to all who might aid and abet him, the royal fugitive was hidden by brave and trusty supporters, each of whom could have betrayed him for the massive £30,000 reward offered by the English.This story stands as a tribute to the loyalty and staunch courage of the Highland clansfolk.'Through his imaginative dialogue, he provides a voice for Scotland's heroes' Scotland on Sunday

Hodder & Stoughton

Lion's Whelp

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Honours Even

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Marchman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Gold for Prince Charlie

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

The Clansman

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Warden of the Queen's March

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Hodder & Stoughton

Macbeth the King

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter
Coronet

The Patriot

Nigel Tranter
Authors:
Nigel Tranter