Marco Vichi - Death and the Olive Grove - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444712247
    • Publication date:26 Apr 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444712254
    • Publication date:05 Jan 2012
Books in this series

Death and the Olive Grove

Book Two

By Marco Vichi
Read by Tim Bruce

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The second novel in the Inspector Bordelli series set in 1960s Florence - the detective must race to unmask a particularly brutal killer.

The second novel in the Inspector Bordelli series set in 1960s Florence - the detective must race to unmask a particularly brutal killer.

April 1964, but spring hasn't quite sprung. The bad weather seems suited to nothing but bad news. And bad news is coming to the police station.

First, Bordelli's friend Casimiro, who insists he's discovered the body of a man in a field above Fiesole. Bordelli races to the scene, but doesn't find any sign of a corpse.

Only a couple of days later, a little girl is found at Villa Ventaglio. She has been strangled, and there is a horrible bite mark on her belly. Then another little girl is found murdered, with the same macabre signature.

And meanwhile Casimiro has disappeared without a trace.

The investigation marks the start of one of the darkest periods of Bordelli's life: a nightmare without end, as black as the sky above Florence.

(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Biographical Notes

Marco Vichi was born in Florence in 1957. The author of eleven novels and two collections of short stories, he has also written screenplays, music lyrics and for radio, and collaborated on projects for humanitarian causes. His novel Death in Florence won the Scerbanenco, Rieti, Camaiore and Azzeccagarbugli prizes. You can find out more at www.marcovichi.it.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473679191
  • Publication date: 15 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Mulholland Books

On My Life

Angela Clarke
Authors:
Angela Clarke

Framed. Imprisoned. Pregnant. It's her worst nightmare...Jenna Burns thought she had the perfect life: a loving fiancé, a great job, a beautiful home. Then she returns home one day to find her stepdaughter murdered; her partner missing.And the police think it was her...Jenna knows she's been framed. But how can she prove it from behind bars? And then she finds out she is pregnant. It's not only her life at stake. Surrounded by prisoners who'd hurt her if they knew what she's accused of; aware that someone outside hates her enough to kill; Jenna will do whatever it takes to clear her name, save her baby, and find out the truth. But can she do it in time?

Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Dandy Gilver

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson

Mulholland Books

Untitled Lindsay

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 1 in the DI Westphall series'Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir' Publishers WeeklyA dead man walks into a police station. He tells a tale - bizarre as it is grotesque - of kidnap and organ harvesting. John Baden's story of being held prisoner for twelve years sounds far-fetched - but it's all about to get much, much stranger.DI Ben Westphall has been given the case because of his background in MI6. He also has a knack for getting inside people's heads and seeing things others would miss. Westphall is no ordinary detective and this is no ordinary case.When his suspects start dying, Westphall realises someone is killing to cover up the truth. But what exactly is the truth? To find out, he'll have to question everything he's been told, before there's no one left to ask.

Hodder & Stoughton

Stone Mothers

Erin Kelly
Authors:
Erin Kelly
Mulholland Books

The Stranger Inside

Laura Benedict
Authors:
Laura Benedict
John Murray

The Wolf and the Watchman

Niklas Natt och Dag
Authors:
Niklas Natt och Dag
Mulholland Books

Night

Bernard Minier
Authors:
Bernard Minier
Mulholland Books

Boy in the Well

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay
Mulholland Books

The Death Knock

Elodie Harper
Authors:
Elodie Harper

Three women have been found dead in East Anglia. The police deny a connection. TV news reporter Frankie smells a story...Ava knows that the threat is real. She's been kidnapped by someone claiming to be the killer: a stranger who seems to know everything about her.As Frankie follows the case, she enters a terrifying online world where men's rage against women may be turning murderous - and where her persistence might just make her a target. And Ava must struggle not only to stay alive... but to stay sane.From journalist Elodie Harper, THE DEATH KNOCK is a compelling story of the worst that man can do and the hunt for the truth - at all costs.

Hodder & Stoughton

Death in Florence

Marco Vichi
Authors:
Marco Vichi
Mulholland Books

Take Me In

Sabine Durrant
Authors:
Sabine Durrant

'Need a reminder of what makes thrillers great? Read this.' Emerald Street Tessa and Marcus went on holiday to save their marriage.Instead they nearly lost their son. In that fatal moment of inattention a stranger stepped in. And now Dave Jepsom is in their lives.They owe him - they know that - but he seems to want everything. He's on the streets they walk down. He's at the office where they work. He's knocking at their front door...And he's exposing secrets they would do anything to hide. If they could just go back. Not make that one terrible mistake.But it's never how it starts that matters. It's always how it ends.

Mulholland Books

Song of the Dead

Douglas Lindsay
Authors:
Douglas Lindsay

Book 1 in the DI Westphall series'Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir' Publishers WeeklyA dead man walks into a police station. He tells a tale - bizarre as it is grotesque - of kidnap and organ harvesting. John Baden's story of being held prisoner for twelve years sounds far-fetched - but it's all about to get much, much stranger.DI Ben Westphall has been given the case because of his background in MI6. He also has a knack for getting inside people's heads and seeing things others would miss. Westphall is no ordinary detective and this is no ordinary case.When his suspects start dying, Westphall realises someone is killing to cover up the truth. But what exactly is the truth? To find out, he'll have to question everything he's been told, before there's no one left to ask.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Shell Game

Sara Paretsky
Authors:
Sara Paretsky

The new V.I. Warshawski novel from the New York Times bestselling author pits acclaimed detective V.I. Warshawski against some of today's most powerful figures.Legendary sleuth V.I. Warshawski returns to the Windy City to save an old friend's nephew from a murder arrest. The case involves a stolen artifact that could implicate a shadowy network of international criminals. As V.I. investigates, the detective soon finds herself tangling with the Russian mob, ISIS backers, and a shady network of stock scams and stolen art that stretches from Chicago to the East Indies and the Middle East. In Shell Game, nothing and no one are what they seem, except for the detective herself, who loses sleep, money, and blood, but remains indomitable in her quest for justice.(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

The Forbidden Place

Susanne Jansson
Authors:
Susanne Jansson

'A bone-chillingly cool crime debut' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the TrainIn the remote Swedish wetlands lies Mossmarken: the village on the edge of the mire where, once upon a time, people came to leave offerings to the gods. Biologist Nathalie came in order to study the peat bogs. But she has a secret: Mossmarken was once her home, a place where terrible things happened. She has returned at last, determined to confront her childhood trauma and find out the truth.Soon after her arrival, she finds an unconscious man out on the marsh, his pockets filled with gold - just like the ancient human sacrifices. A grave is dug in the mire, which vanishes a day after. And as the police investigate, the bodies start to surface...Is the mire calling out for sacrifices, as the superstitious locals claim? Or is it an all-too-human evil?An international sensation, THE FORBIDDEN PLACE is a darkly gripping tale of the stories we tell ourselves to survive, and the terrible consequences they can have.

Hodder & Stoughton

Madam, Will You Talk?

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald
Hodder Paperbacks

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah
Hodder & Stoughton

All the Hidden Truths

Claire Askew
Authors:
Claire Askew

This is a fact: Ryan Summers walked into Three Rivers College and killed thirteen women, then himself. But no one can say why. The question is one that cries out to be answered - by Ryan's mother, Moira; by Ishbel, the mother of Abigail, the first victim; and by DI Helen Birch, put in charge of the case on her first day at her new job. But as the tabloids and the media swarm, as the families' secrets come out, as the world searches for someone to blame... the truth seems to vanish.A stunningly moving novel from an exciting new voice in crime, ALL THE HIDDEN TRUTHS will cause you to question your assumptions about the people you love, and reconsider how the world reacts to tragedy.

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: love is in the air in this gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Love is in the air in the little village of Welford . . .Mandy Hope is on cloud nine. Hope Meadows, the animal rescue and rehabilitation centre she founded, is going really well. And she's growing ever closer to handsome villager Jimmy Marsh. What's more, James Hunter, her best friend, is slowly learning to re-embrace life after facing tragedy.But when an unexpected crisis causes Mandy to lose confidence in her veterinary skills, it's a huge blow. If she can't learn to forgive herself, then her relationship with Jimmy, and the future of Hope Meadows, may be in danger. It'll take friendship, love, community spirit - and one elephant with very bad teeth - to remind Mandy and her fellow villagers that springtime in Yorkshire really is the most glorious time of the year.Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans, Sunshine at the Comfort Food Cafe by Debbie Johnson, Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.The next book in the Hope Meadows series, Snowflakes over Moon Cottage, is available for pre-order now!*************Praise for the Hope Meadows series'Incredibly lovely' - Rachel's Random Reads'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale of friendship and love' Books of All Kinds'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' - The World is a Book Blog'Heartwarming and endearing... a gorgeous story filled with hope, joy, sweetness and light combined with the honesty of real life' - Amazon'Full of friendship, community spirit and some heart-breaking moments that will leave you wanting to stay curled up on the sofa until it is complete' - Amazon'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Full of charm' Amazon