Anthony Trevelyan - Claudia - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473664784
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473666368
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018

Claudia

By Anthony Trevelyan

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

For fans of Nick Harkaway and Scarlett Thomas comes the dazzling second novel by the Desmond Elliott longlisted author of The Weightless World.

How good are people? Let me tell you, Dee: people are as good as the pair of eyes they believe is on them...

When Claudia Talwar is called to meet a mysterious visitor in the reception of her Manchester office block, she can't believe her eyes. It's Samson Glaze, former hippy turned internationally famous entrepreneur, and the fifteen-years-absent father figure of her youth.

It doesn't take much for Samson to convince her to help find his son, Reggie Glaze, who's got into a bit of trouble: namely, he's joined a group called Tarantula who wear black armbands and seem obsessed with 'the next world'.

Before she knows it, Claudia finds herself swept into a dark adventure of solar power, a hammer wielding assassin, and the end of our world . . .

'Trevelyan's prose is wholly readable, with wonderful, concise details that conjure full moments in perfect little capsules' Dublin Inquirer

Biographical Notes

Anthony Trevelyan was born in Lancashire. He read English at Trinity College, Oxford, before going on to further studies at Lancaster University. Currently he lives with his wife near Manchester, where he takes part in performance events such as Flim Nite and First Draft. He works as a teacher of English and Creative Writing at a sixth form college in Stockport.

His first novel, The Weightless World, was published by Galley Beggar Press in 2015 and was longlisted for the 2016 Desmond Elliott Prize.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473664777
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Trevelyan's prose is wholly readable, with wonderful, concise details that conjure full moments in perfect little capsules — Dublin Inquirer
Stylish — Book Muse on The Weightless World
With the blockbuster-movie strapline . . . and a plot-line that Ned Beaumann would be proud of you might well be going in expecting something extraordinary. And in a sense Claudia is extraordinary, yet it's a tale that's very firmly nestled in the quotidien. It's one of the keys I think to what makes Anthony Trevelyan's books work so well: the sheer everyday acceptability of events . . . I for one am looking forward to wherever Mr Trevelyan intends to take us next. — Van Is Reading
Trevelyan's prose is wholly readable, with wonderful, concise details that conjure full moments in perfect little capsules
Stylish
With the blockbuster-movie strapline . . . and a plot-line that Ned Beaumann would be proud of you might well be going in expecting something extraordinary. And in a sense Claudia is extraordinary, yet it's a tale that's very firmly nestled in the quotidien. It's one of the keys I think to what makes Anthony Trevelyan's books work so well: the sheer everyday acceptability of events . . . I for one am looking forward to wherever Mr Trevelyan intends to take us next.
Hodder & Stoughton

The Mummy Lessons

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen
John Murray

Born Lippy

Jo Brand
Authors:
Jo Brand
Hodder Paperbacks

Earth Storm

Mons Kallentoft
Authors:
Mons Kallentoft

The next dark mystery featuring the Linköping's best detective, Malin Fors, from the bestselling author Mons Kallentoft.In the early hours of the morning, the naked body of a young man is discovered in a ditch next to Go¨ta Kanal. The cause of death is mysterious; the body bears no visible traces of violence.The man is soon identified as Peder Akerlund, a former Swedish politician, excluded from his party for racism but since reformed. Then sixteen-year-old Nadja Lundin is reported missing, possibly abducted, the same evening, and there are signs that suggest the two cases might be connected.But what do the victims have in common? And why were they chosen? Gradually, Malin Fors realises that they are dealing with someone who is playing a game with them, who speaks through murders and who will not be silenced. What is he or she trying to say? Desperate to fine Nadja alive, the team race against the clock to find an answer before it's too late...Praise for the Malin Fors series:'One of the best-realised female heroines I've read by a male writer.' Guardian'Kallentoft's books have been called beautiful, exquisite and original. I can see why.' Literary Review'This is a worthy successor to Larsson's Millennium trilogy.' Booklist Starred Review

Sceptre

The Last of the Greenwoods

Clare Morrall
Authors:
Clare Morrall

In a field outside Bromsgrove, two elderly brothers live in adjoining railway carriages. No one visits and they never speak to each other. Until the day Zohra Dasgupta, a young postwoman, delivers an extraordinary letter - from a woman claiming to be the sister they thought had been murdered fifty years earlier. So begins an intriguing tale: is this woman an impostor? If she's not, what did happen all those years ago? And why are the brothers such recluses? Then there's Zohra. Once a bright, outgoing teenager, the only friend she will see from her schooldays is laidback Crispin, who has roped her in to the restoration of an old railway line on his father's land. For which, as it happens, they need some carriages . . . With wry humour and a cast of characters as delightful as they are damaged, Clare Morrall tells an engrossing story of past misdeeds and present reckoning, which shows that for all the wrong turnings we might take, sometimes it is possible to retrace our steps.

Hodder Paperbacks

Once in a Lifetime

Chrissie Manby
Authors:
Chrissie Manby
Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
John Murray

Country

Michael Hughes
Authors:
Michael Hughes

That was the start of it. A terrible business altogether. Oh, it was all kept off the news, for the sake of the talks and the ceasefire. But them that were around that part of the country remember every bit. Wait now till you hear the rest.Northern Ireland, 1996.After twenty-five years of conflict, the IRA and the British have agreed an uneasy ceasefire, as a first step towards lasting peace. But if decades of savage violence are leading only to smiles and handshakes, those on the ground in the border country will start to question what exactly they have been fighting for.When an IRA man's wife turns informer, he and his brother gather their old comrades for an assault on the local army base. But the squad's feared sniper suddenly refuses to fight, and the SAS are sent in to crush this rogue terror cell before it can wreck the fragile truce, and drag the whole region back to the darkest days of the Troubles. Inspired by the oldest war story of them all, this powerful new Irish novel explores the brutal glory of armed conflict, and the bitter tragedy of those on both sides who offer their lives to defend the honour of their country.

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder & Stoughton

How Do You Like Me Now?

Holly Bourne
Authors:
Holly Bourne
Two Roads

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Two Roads

Two Steps Forward

Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist
Authors:
Graeme Simsion, Anne Buist
Hodder & Stoughton

The Wicked Cometh

Laura Carlin
Authors:
Laura Carlin

The nail-biting historical mystery with a heady romance at its heart 'Beguiling' Stylist*********Hester White once had a comfortable home and a loving family, but after the untimely death of her parents, her life was turned upside down, leading her to live with her aunt and uncle in the slums of London. As the years turn, people begin to disappear from these murky streets in mysterious circumstances . . . with nobody to investigate their absences.When a life-threatening accident crosses Hester's path with Calder Brock's, it appears Hester's fortune has changed. Handsome, charming and wealthy, Calder is quick to invite her into his home, introducing Hester to his mysterious sister Rebecca, who takes Hester under her wing. In the opulence of her new home, Hester believes she has now escaped the darkness of the slums for good.But, Hester is about to find out, appearances can hide the ugliest of truths. When she is lured back onto the streets to investigate the mystery, the clues seem to lead her back far closer to her new friends than she could ever have imagined. . .*********'Carlin can tell a good story' Observer'Contains lovely, lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart' Sunday Express

Hodder & Stoughton

Gwendy's Button Box

Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Authors:
Stephen King, Richard Chizmar
Sceptre

Moonstone: The Boy Who Never Was

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Hodder Paperbacks

Seeing Other People

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

The Good Italian

Stephen Burke
Authors:
Stephen Burke
Hodder & Stoughton

Respect

Mandasue Heller
Authors:
Mandasue Heller

Mandasue Heller's new heroine is a fifteen-year-old Manchester girl who is both brave and determined to do the right thing. But that may not be enough to save her from a lethal cocktail of violence. From the author praised by Martina Cole and Jeffery Deaver.*********Chantelle has everything going against her. She's a good student who only wants to pass her exams and find a way out of the sink estate in Manchester where she grew up. But now her feckless mother has taken off for Spain with her latest boyfriend and she's single-handedly raising her tearaway nine-year-old brother Leon. She thinks her worst problem is the debt collectors at the door. But Leon has made some new friends: teenage gang members who have given him a mobile phone, a knife - and some drugs to hide in her flat.A part-time job seems to be the answer to Chantelle's prayers. But the violence is about to come home to her - with a vengeance. And the only person who's offering any help seems to be just as bad as the people she's trying to escape from . . .(P)2014 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Hodder & Stoughton

Cross Roads

Wm Paul Young
Authors:
Wm Paul Young
John Murray

The Illicit Happiness of Other People

Manu Joseph
Authors:
Manu Joseph

Seventeen-year-old Unni has done something terrible. The only clue to his actions lies in a comic strip he has drawn, which has fallen into the hands of his father Ousep - a nocturnal anarchist with a wife who is fantasizing about his early death. Ousep begins investigating the extraordinary life of his son, but as he circles closer and closer to the truth, he unravels a secret that shakes his family to the core.Set in Madras in the 1990s, where every adolescent male is preparing for the toughest exam in the world, this is a powerful and darkly comic story involving an alcoholic's probe into the minds of the sober, an adolescent cartoonist's dangerous interpretation of absolute truth, an inner circle of talented schizophrenics and the pure love of a 12-year-old boy for a beautiful girl.

Hodder & Stoughton

Theodore Boone: The Accused

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

Theodore Boone is the thirteen year old who knows more about the law than most adult lawyers. He certainly never expected to be the victim of crime himself. But then his bike is vandalised, he's attacked while doing his homework and, worst of all, framed for a robbery.When stolen computer equipment turns up in Theo's school locker, the police start leaning on him hard. And he is the only suspect. What if he is found guilty? What about his dreams of becoming a lawyer?In a race against time, aided by his renegade uncle, Ike, Theo must find the real felon and reveal the true motivation behind the crimes of which he stands accused.