Emily Phillips - Trying - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663800
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473663794
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473683693
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

Trying

the hilarious novel about what to expect when you're NOT expecting

By Emily Phillips

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Written by Grazia magazine's Features Director, this is a novel about a woman who is trying, and so far failing, to conceive.

'Funny, bittersweet and touching . . . I couldn't put it down!' - MARIAN KEYES

'Funny and warm and brilliant' - LUCY VINE, author of HOT MESS

'A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour' - LOUISE O'NEILL, author of ASKING FOR IT and ONLY EVER YOURS

'A warm and funny book' - Grazia

'A tender and funny story' - Prima

*********

A hugely funny, searingly honest comedy about what to expect when you're not expecting.

Olivia and Felix are trying for a baby. They even moved to the suburbs in anticipation of their future family. But despite approaching her cycle and their sex life with military precision, there's still no sign of what felt like the sure next step, whilst friends' broods seem to be growing by the week. Meanwhile, vying for a promotion at work under the (very attentive) watch of a new boss sends Olivia down a dangerous road of risking it all. Does a happy ever after, she starts to question, even have to include a baby?

This is standout, intelligently written commercial fiction for fans of Sharon Horgan's Catastrophe, Dawn O'Porter's The Cows and Mhairi McFarlane's It's Not Me, It's You.

Biographical Notes

Emily Phillips' two main life goals have always been: to write a book and to have a baby. As Grazia's Features Director, she's helped change the law to close the pay gap, written on everything from over-committing to egg donation, and interviewed the likes of Amy Poehler and Jane Birkin. Her career highlight was when Jamie Dornan told her (while taking his top off) that his murderous character in The Fall would've found her 'right up his street'. She lives in London with her husband and two cats.

Her first novel, TRYING, is a hugely funny and searingly honest comedy about what to expect when you're not expecting.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473663817
  • Publication date: 18 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
I've just finished, I couldn't put it down! God, it's powerful, it brought up so many feelings in me. Emily Phillips writes so well, so funny and relatable. Also she writes about love BEAUTIFULLY . . . Funny, bittersweet and touching, this book will resonate with anyone who is 'trying' — Marian Keyes
Funny and warm and brilliant — Lucy Vine, author of Hot Mess
Read it - think Marian Keyes for the social media age — Sunday Telegraph
Funny, honest and thought-provoking. ***** — Heat Magazine
A tender and funny story — Prima
Hilarious and relatable . . . A warm and funny book — Grazia
An irreverently funny book that will resonate with anyone who's ever been trying — Red Magazine
A deeply moving and raw story, told with great humour. An assured debut from Emily Phillips. — Louise O'Neill, author of 'Asking for It' and 'Only Ever Yours'
A moving but funny read — Closer Magazine
A brilliant read — Stylist
A funny but uplifting novel — Daily Mirror
Trying is a wonderfully funny novel about a young women who is "trying" in all aspects of her life. Not only is she trying to climb the ladder at work but she is also hoping to start a new family. This book is relatable and incredibly heartwarming as you see Olivia struggle through the big life questions that we all fear — Yorkshire Evening Post
Captures that painful, haywire feeling of wanting something so badly and the all-consuming nature of trying but not getting. — Helen Russell
A funny, complex debut — Emerald Street
Moving — Bella Magazine