Laura Carlin - The Wicked Cometh - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473661417
    • Publication date:01 Feb 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473661400
    • Publication date:01 Feb 2018

The Wicked Cometh

The addictive historical mystery

By Laura Carlin

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Even in the darkest of times, you cannot bury the truth . . . A debut historical novel that will appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.

'We have no need to protect ourselves from the bad sort because WE are the bad sort . . .'

'Beguiling' Stylist

*********

Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and the city's vulnerable poor are disappearing from the streets. Out of these shadows comes Hester White, a bright young woman who is desperate to escape the slums by any means possible.

When Hester is thrust into the world of the aristocratic Brock family, she leaps at the chance to improve her station in life under the tutelage of the fiercely intelligent and mysterious Rebekah Brock.

But whispers from her past slowly begin to poison her new life and both she and Rebekah are lured into the most sinister of investigations, dragging them into the blackest heart of a city where something more depraved than either of them could ever imagine is lurking. . .

A compelling page-turner from a gifted new voice in historical fiction, The Wicked Cometh is the perfect read for fans of The Witchfinder's Sister, Fingersmith and The Essex Serpent.

*********

'Carlin can tell a good story' Observer

'Contains lovely, lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart' Sunday Express

'A deliciously dark confection of a novel' Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

Biographical Notes

Laura Carlin left school at 16 to work in retail banking and it was only after leaving her job to write full-time that she discovered her passion for storytelling and exploring pockets of history through fiction. She lives in a book-filled house in beautiful rural Derbyshire with her family (and a very naughty cat). When she's not writing she enjoys walking in the surrounding Peak District. The Wicked Cometh is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473661370
  • Publication date: 01 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
This deliciously dark confection of a novel has as many twists and turns as the London backstreets of its setting and I devoured it in two sittings! — Ruth Hogan, author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS
Contains lovely lyrical writing . . . and a heady romance at its heart — Sunday Express
Carlin's great at conjuring up an image of darkest 1800s London, while her female characters are both of their time, while also being witty and modern — Stylist
Satisfying — The Times
Splendidly diverting . . . Spirited and highly readable — Irish Times
The darkest corners of Georgian London are gleefully drawn in this brilliant story — Emerald Street
A delightful romp. I can't wait to see what Carlin writes next — Lauren James, author of THE NEXT TOGETHER
Laura Carlin earns every single comparison to Sarah Waters she's going to get. It's a sterling, historical, dark, twisty novel — Kaite Welsh, Radio 4 Open Book
A captivating debut that brings the squalid and sinister Georgian London to life . . . will appeal to fans of vintage gothic à la Wilkie Collins and Sarah Waters — BookRiot
Charming and a delight to read. An added bonus is that the cover of this book is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. — Yorkshire Post
Historical fiction with a lesbian slant usually begs comparison with Sarah Waters, but Carlin is more than up to the task as she carefully weaves an eerie, evocative tale where no one can be trusted and everyone - even Hester herself - has secrets — DIVA Magazine
Richly detailed with well-drawn characters and evocative language, THE WICKED COMETH is an entertaining piece of Victoriana-style literature that's sure to label Carlin as one to watch — Culture Fly
You can almost taste the gin and the soot . . . but we reckon you'll be enjoying it too much to care — Metro