Fiona Mitchell - The Maid's Room - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473659599
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018

The Maid's Room

By Fiona Mitchell

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

For readers of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern day domestic workers.

Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, THE MAID'S ROOM follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala who are working hard to send money back home, and British ex-pat Jules who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David.

Told with humour, heart-breaking detail about daily life as a maid, and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.

Biographical Notes

This is Fiona Mitchell's first novel. Inspired by the author's own experience of life in Singapore and extensive research, it is an eye-opening novel about life as a maid; a universal issue affecting us all. There are now 230,000 female domestic workers in Singapore and an estimated 53 million people working as domestic helpers across the globe - a quarter of these are afforded no legal rights at all.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473659582
  • Publication date: 16 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school. He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack. On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip. His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her. Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah. Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay. With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?THE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a portrait of a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Two Houses

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper
Sceptre

The End of Loneliness

Benedict Wells
Authors:
Benedict Wells
John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala

Hodder Paperbacks

Here We Are Now

Jasmine Warga
Authors:
Jasmine Warga
Hodder Paperbacks

Christmas at Mistletoe Cottage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Christmas has arrived in the village of Welford, bringing with it the scent of hot roasted chestnuts and a layer of frost sparkling on the ground. This year, vet Mandy Hope is looking forward to the holidays. Her animal rescue centre, Hope Meadows, is up and running - and she's finally going on a date with Jimmy Marsh, owner of the local outward bound centre. The advent of winter sees all sorts of animals cross Mandy's path, from goats named Rudolph to baby donkeys - and even a pair of reindeer! But when a mysterious local starts causing trouble, Mandy's plans for the centre come under threat. She must call on Jimmy and her fellow villagers to put a stop to the stranger's antics and ensure that Hope Meadows' first Christmas is one to remember. One thing's for certain: this Christmas, there'll be animal escapades, kisses under the mistletoe...and plenty of festive cheer for all.Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series.

Hodder & Stoughton

This Beautiful Life

Katie Marsh
Authors:
Katie Marsh

The addictive and emotive new novel from Katie Marsh, author of My Everything and A Life Without You. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lisa Jewell and Lucy Dillon.'I lived over half my life before I met you both, and I hope with all my heart to live many years more. You two are the reason why. Always, always the reason why.'Abi Cooper is living her happy ending. She's in remission and is ready to make the most of her second chance. But during Abi's illness her family has fallen apart. Her husband John has made decisions that are about to come back to haunt him, while her teenage son Seb is battling with a secret of his own.Set to the songs on Abi's survival playlist, This Beautiful Life is the moving and uplifting story of what happens as Abi tries to put her family back together - and of why life, and love, are worth fighting for.(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

John Murray

A History of Running Away

Paula McGrath
Authors:
Paula McGrath
Sceptre

In Every Moment We Are Still Alive

Tom Malmquist
Authors:
Tom Malmquist

The prize-winning, bestselling tale of love, loss, family and the lives we live moment by moment, from a stunning new voice in European fiction.Tom's heavily pregnant girlfriend Karin is rushed to hospital with severe flu. While the doctors are able to save the baby, they are helpless in the face of what transpires to be acute Leukemia, and in a moment as fleeting as it is cruel Tom gains a daughter but loses his soul-mate. In Every Moment is the story of a year that changes everything, as Tom must reconcile the fury of bereavement with the overwhelming responsibility of raising his daughter, Livia, alone. By turns tragic and redemptive, meditative and breathless, achingly poignant and darkly funny, this heavily autobiographical novel has been described in its native Sweden as 'hypnotic', 'impossible to resist' and 'one of the most powerful books about grief ever written'.

Hodder Paperbacks

Here's to Us

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
John Murray

Conflicts of Interest

Terry Stiastny
Authors:
Terry Stiastny

'A skilful prose stylist and a connoisseur of telling details' GuardianLawrence Leith has retreated from his once-successful career in TV to a small village in the south of France to mourn the end of his marriage and the loss of his job.When his old colleague Martin Elliott arrives for a summer holiday, surrounded by his lovely family and new, influential friends, he seems to have everything that Lawrence lacks. Martin is convinced that Lawrence should get back in the game, even if that involves returning to Africa, where it once nearly ended for both of them. As Martin's carefully cultivated image begins to slip, Lawrence recovers his urge to find out the real story - one which will force him to choose between his friend and his principles.Masterfully constructed and universally topical, Conflicts of Interest is a novel about personal betrayal and political double-dealing, about the realities of being in the public eye and how the truth, no matter how hidden, will always out.

Hodder Paperbacks

Summer at Hope Meadows: the perfect feel-good holiday read!

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

'The summer read of 2017' - Goodreads Reviewer. The first novel in the heartwarming, Yorkshire-set Hope Meadows series, perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde.Based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Newly-qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds - and her boyfriend Simon - to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in. There, she will help out in her parents' surgery whilst they're short-staffed. Mandy's life has always revolved around her work with rescued animals, and Welford offers an opportunity to work with creatures of all sizes, from hedgehogs and puppies to farm stock and even wild deer. But rural Yorkshire is very different to the hustle and bustle of a big city. Mandy must work hard to be accepted by the close-knit village community, and convince them of her abilities as a vet - especially Jimmy Marsh, the gruff owner of the local Outward Bound business, with whom she just can't seem to get along. When some long-neglected animals are discovered in a critical state on a nearby farm, Mandy is determined to prove herself as a confident and fearless vet. When it comes to protecting animals in need, she's prepared to do whatever it takes...'An incredibly lovely story' - Goodreads'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads 'I had tears in my eyes at the first chapter' - Goodreads

Hodder Paperbacks

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton

'... one of the more authentic debuts I've read in recent years ... in such an understated manner, eschewing linguistic eccentricity ... in favour of genuine characters and tender feeling ... this is a fine novel' John Boyne, Irish Times'It's funny and wonderfully perceptive' Wendy Holden'Poised and perceptive' Sunday Times'It is beautiful and yet devastatingly sad' Daily Express'Deeply accomplished ... brilliantly observed' Good Housekeeping'... a deftly plotted story as moving as it is compelling' Sunday Mirror'Strenuously charming ... surprisingly tender' Metro 'Heartwarming and observant' StylistThe remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn't always been this overweight; mother of two Brid Riordan hasn't always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn't always felt that her life was a total waste. So when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke - a former love of both Brid and Evelyn - the village's dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated PJ struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community's worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.Darkly comic, touching and at times profoundly sad. Graham Norton employs his acerbic wit to breathe life into a host of lovable characters, and explore - with searing honesty - the complexities and contradictions that make us human.

Sceptre

The Valentine House

Emma Henderson
Authors:
Emma Henderson
John Murray

Displaced

Stephan Abarbanell
Authors:
Stephan Abarbanell
Two Roads

Under the Almond Tree

Laura McVeigh
Authors:
Laura McVeigh
John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson
Hodder & Stoughton

Small Great Things

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

'The best books make you see differently. This is one of them. The eye-opening new novel from Jodi Picoult with the biggest of themes: birth, death, and responsibility.''To Kill a Mockingbird for the 21st Century' Reader ReviewWhen a newborn baby dies after a routine hospital procedure, there is no doubt about who will be held responsible: the nurse who had been banned from looking after him by his father. What the nurse, her lawyer and the father of the child cannot know is how this death will irrevocably change all of their lives, in ways both expected and not.Small Great Things is about prejudice and power; it is about that which divides and unites us. It is about opening your eyes.Praise for Small Great Things:'No book could be more timely in its message than Small Great Things . . . The story prodded me to take a good, hard look at my own biases and preconceptions' (Metro)'A thought-provoking and unputdownable novel about race and prejudice that shows Picoult at her very best' (Woman & Home)'The narrative rips along at a great pace, she writes dialogue like a pro, and her suspenseful control of the courtroom scenes is masterfully done' (Independent)

Hodder & Stoughton

Before the Fall

Noah Hawley
Authors:
Noah Hawley