Kent Anderson - Green Sun - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473654006
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473654013
    • Publication date:19 Sep 2018

Green Sun

By Kent Anderson

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

Oakland, 1982: one good cop against the world. GREEN SUN is the long-awaited third novel from cult author Kent Anderson.

Before Hanson arrived in Oakland, he had already seen some of the worst of humanity on a tour of duty in Vietnam and a stint in the Portland, Oregon police department. And then he moves to California to join the under-funded, understaffed Oakland police force. Unlike nearly all of his fellow officers, Hanson deliberately chooses to live in the precinct that he patrols; he takes seriously his duty to serve and protect the black community--his neighbors--in East Oakland.

Hanson befriends a neighborhood boy, embarks on a romantic relationship, and tries to remain in a notorious drug dealer's good graces, all while struggling to stay a good cop despite the forces of hate and violence threatening him from all sides.

GREEN SUN is bracingly relevant to both the political and cultural moment we're currently living in: Hanson is a white cop who meets black civilians not as antagonists, but as allies against his becoming the type of cop that he hates most.

Biographical Notes

Kent Anderson is a U.S. Special Forces veteran who served in Vietnam, a former police officer in Portland and Oakland, and a screenwriter. He has an MFA in creative writing from the University of Montana, and has taught college-level English. His two previous Hanson novels are Sympathy for the Devil and the New York Times Notable Book Night Dogs. He may be the only person in U.S. history to have won two NEA grants for creative writing as well as two Bronze Stars.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473653993
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Mulholland Books
Kent Anderson has crafted a literary miracle here. We're transported to 'Nam and circa-'80 Oakland, reimagined as Hell, seen through the eyes of a crusading cop unique in the annals of police literature. This jazzy - and jazz influenced - novel is like the best of early Joseph Wambaugh. — James Ellroy, New York Times bestselling author of Perfidia
Praise for NIGHT DOGS — .
The best cop novel I have ever read. There's never been anything like it. — James Crumley, author of The Last Good Kiss
Fiercely authentic and deeply disturbing...Extraordinary. — Los Angeles Times
Every so often, you come across a crime novel that flat-out blows you away and restores your faith in the entire genre. Night Dogs... is one of those books. I think it's the best novel I've read, period, in the last couple of years. — George Pelecanos
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2018

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown

#1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Sandra Brown returns with another suspenseful, sexy thriller - more information coming soon.

Mulholland Books

Her Watchful Eye

Julie Corbin
Authors:
Julie Corbin
Mulholland Books

Jackrabbit Smile

Joe R. Lansdale
Authors:
Joe R. Lansdale
Mulholland Books

Rip Crew

Sebastian Rotella
Authors:
Sebastian Rotella
Hodder & Stoughton

The Punishment She Deserves

Elizabeth George
Authors:
Elizabeth George
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.

Hodder & Stoughton

Blind Alley

Danielle Ramsay
Authors:
Danielle Ramsay

The third Jack Brady case - a gritty murder mystery perfect for fans of Peter James and Tania Carver.'A powerful and intelligent thriller from a must-read writer' David MarkThree brutal attacks. One near-fatal beating. And a deadly score to settle. DI Jack Brady is riding high after the successful outcome of his previous case, but his world is about to come crashing down.There's a serial rapist plaguing the streets of Whitley Bay. Three young women have been horribly abused, and his boss and the press are screaming for answers. Everything seems to point to his old friend and foe, gangster Martin Madley, though Brady still struggles to believe he's capable of such acts. With time running out before the villain strikes again, Brady must follow every scrap of evidence. But there are forces at work he knows nothing about, and his persistence is leading both him and those close to him ever further into danger...(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Mulholland Books

Cruel Mercy

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

'Effortlessly blends the brutal and the tender, the dark and the light. Aector McAvoy is a true original. So is David Mark.' Mick Herron, author of Dead LionsDS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law Valentine is missing. In New York City, half the world away.And the two men he travelled with have just been found in an open grave upstate: one dead, one as good as. McAvoy doesn't believe Valentine killed them. He does believe he's in trouble. And so he follows him to New York, determined to find out what happened. But Valentine is in more danger than McAvoy could have imagined. And McAvoy's walking into it right after him: into the darkness of murder, revenge, and a forty-year-old crime...

Hodder & Stoughton

Dark Winter

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Original Skin

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

THEIR SINS WILL SEAL THEIR FATE - THE FOLLOW UP TO THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING DARK WINTER, AND BOOK TWO IN THE DS AECTOR MCAVOY SERIES.Suzie Devlin lived for pleasure - until her best friend Simon was murdered. Now Suzie seems to be in the killer's sights... Who wants her dead? And why? She's done nothing wrong... except, perhaps, get involved with the wrong person.DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life. He knows how one misstep can put you in harm's way. He's determined to protect Suzie, even if it means inviting danger to come to him... In a dark world of sin and retribution, he will stand against a killer to save a life. Hooked on Hull? Then check out the third instalment in the DS McAvoy series, Sorrow Bound...

Hodder & Stoughton

Sorrow Bound

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Taking Pity

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark
Hodder & Stoughton

Did You See Melody?

Sophie Hannah
Authors:
Sophie Hannah

'Outstandingly brilliant' Clare MackintoshThe stunning new pageturner from the queen of psychological suspense. Pushed to breaking point, Cara Burrows abandons her home and family and escapes to a five-star spa resort she can't afford. Late at night, exhausted and desperate, she lets herself into her hotel room and is shocked to find it already occupied - by a man and a teenage girl.A simple mistake on the part of the hotel receptionist - but Cara's fear intensifies when she works out that the girl she saw alive and well in the hotel room is someone she can't possibly have seen: the most famous murder victim in the country, Melody Chapa, whose parents are serving life sentences for her murder.Cara doesn't know what to trust: everything she's read and heard about the case, or the evidence of her own eyes. Did she really see Melody? And is she prepared to ask herself that question and answer it honestly if it means risking her own life?What people are saying about DID YOU SEE MELODY?'I was hooked!...there was a cracking ending!' GoodReads reviewer'Really good reading that moved at a fast pace and kept me engaged throughout. Highly recommended.' GoodReads reviewer'Oh superb. Excellent. All the other expletives. Ms Hannah still showing us how twisting a plot is done properly.' GoodReads reviewer

Hodder & Stoughton

Sleeping in the Ground

Peter Robinson
Authors:
Peter Robinson
Hodder & Stoughton

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Catriona McPherson
Authors:
Catriona McPherson
Two Roads

Can you hear me?

Elena Varvello
Authors:
Elena Varvello
John Murray

Spook Street

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron
John Murray

Real Tigers

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLDSBORO GOLD DAGGER AND THE IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER SHORTLISTED FOR THE THEAKSTON OLD PECULIAR CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR'If you read one spy novel this year, read Real Tigers' The Spectator'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayCatherine Standish knows that chance encounters never happen to spooks.She's worked in the Intelligence Service long enough to understand treachery, double-dealing and stabbing in the back.What she doesn't know is why anyone would target her: a recovering drunk pushing paper with the other lost causes in Jackson Lamb's kingdom of exiles at Slough House.Whoever it is holding her hostage, it can't be personal. It must be about Slough House. Most likely, it is about Jackson Lamb.And say what you like about Lamb, he'll never leave a joe in the lurch.He might even be someone you could trust with your life . . .

John Murray

Dead Lions

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron

Winner of the 2013 CWA Gold Dagger AwardA BBC Front Row best crime novel of the yearA Times crime and thriller book of the year'The finest new crime series this millennium' Mail on SundayDickie Bow is not an obvious target for assassination.But once a spook, always a spook. And Dickie was a talented streetwalker back in the day, before he turned up dead on a bus. A shadow. Good at following people, bringing home their secrets.Dickie was in Berlin with Jackson Lamb. Now Lamb's got his phone, and on it the last secret Dickie ever told, and reason to believe an old-time Moscow-style op is being run in the Service's back-yard.In the Intelligence Service purgatory that is Slough House, Jackson Lamb's crew of back-office no-hopers is about to go live . . .

John Murray

Slow Horses

Mick Herron
Authors:
Mick Herron