Erin Kelly - He Said/She Said - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444797152
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444797145
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

He Said/She Said

the gripping Sunday Times bestseller

By Erin Kelly
Read by Helen Johns and Jonathan Broadbent

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A breathless psychological thriller from the crime author on everyone's lips, HE SAID/SHE SAID is *the* suspense novel of 2017

'Deliciously tense and twisty' - Sharon Bolton, author of Daisy in Chains

The perfect read for fans of Disclaimer, In a Dark Dark Wood and Apple Tree Yard. Who do you believe?

In the hushed aftermath of a total eclipse, Laura witnesses a brutal attack.

She and her boyfriend Kit call the police, and in that moment, it is not only the victim's life that is changed forever.

Fifteen years on, Laura and Kit live in fear.

And while Laura knows she was right to speak out, the events that follow have taught her that you can never see the whole picture: something - and someone - is always in the dark...

(P)2017 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Biographical Notes

Erin Kelly is the author of The Poison Tree, The Sick Rose, The Burning Air, The Ties That Bind and Broadchurch: The Novel, inspired by the mega-hit TV series. In 2013, The Poison Tree became a major ITV drama and was a Richard & Judy Summer Read in 2011. Born in London in 1976, she lives in north London with her husband and daughters.

www.erinkelly.co.uk
www.twitter.com/mserinkelly
www.facebook.com/Erin-Kelly-Author

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473652057
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
A tour de force - a gripping, twisting, furiously clever read that asks all the right questions and keeps you guessing until the very end. I loved it. — Ruth Ware, author of The Woman in Cabin 10
Erin Kelly has written several good psychological thrillers, but in He Said / She Said she ascends to a new plane of ingenuity. Her ability to switch between the sordid reality of crime and juicy melodrama, the story anchored within the realm of plausibility by the care with which she brings her characters and settings to life, reminded me of Ruth Rendell at her best. — Telegraph
I'm calling it: THIS is the book I wish I'd written — Clare Mackintosh, author of I See You
Kelly is a master at drip-feeding us the details, keeping us guessing about the truth, and the many shades of grey it contains, right until the end. — Observer
It's SO good...I was carrying it around the house I was so gripped — Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
A clever, compulsive read, which sinks its claws into you and won't let go — Red magazine
Deliciously tense and twisty. — Sharon Bolton, author of Daisy in Chains
There's so much to love here - seamless plotting, descriptive prose, characters so real they pull you in to their tangled lives - and then an absolute humdinger of a twist that will take your breath away. — Sunday Mirror
Not just a tense psychological drama but a meditation on the complex view. Kelly brilliantly uses the eclipse as metaphor, exploring the fact that though we long for black and white, the partial view is all we ever get. Dive in. — Susie Steiner, author of Missing, Presumed
A taut, cleverly constructed novel about what we see, know and understand - and how they are not always the same thing. Prepare to step into the darkness... — Linda Green, author of While My Eyes Were Closed
Erin Kelly keeps you guessing to the very last page, she cleverly reminds us of our own fallibility and gullibility — Adele Parks, author of The Stranger in My Home
Kelly is a beautiful writer who can conjure an atmosphere with exceptional skill...a fantastic psychological thriller replete with mystery and misdirection — Alex Marwood, author of The Darkest Secret
Twisted, atmospheric and perfectly plotted. Her best yet. — Jenny Blackhurst, author of How I Lost You
A superbly dark and complex psychological thriller from a really exceptional author. Kelly' s beautiful and atmospheric writing pulls you in from the first page. I read right into the night. — Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat
It's magnificent. Stunningly twisty plot and weep-makingly brilliant writing — Marian Keyes, author of The Woman Who Stole My Life
I devoured it...weaves such a delicate line between everyone's version of the truth, it was impossible to stop reading. — Holly Seddon, author of Try Not to Breathe
Deeply immersive... an ingeniously constructed and thrilling novel about the many different forms of betrayal — Claire Kendal, author of The Book of You
Multi-layered and stylish, with characters you feel you know, dilemmas you can imagine grappling with, and a hurtling plot that's unpatronising and clever to the last page. My admiration for Erin Kelly has just gone up another notch. — Helen Fitzgerald, author of Viral
Erin Kelly speaks the language of tension fluently. HE SAID/SHE SAID will make you question everything you know and suspect everyone you think you can trust. My first response was to read it all over again, to see where the traps were set. — Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook
Superbly twisty and readable thriller; pure enjoyment — Jenny Colgan, author of The Little Shop of Happy-Ever-After
It has a twist, and a stunning one at that but there is much more to this superbly written psychological drama...Intelligent, thought provoking and utterly compelling, this book held me spell bound until the very last page. — Sinéad Crowley, author of Are You Watching Me?
Tense, beautifully written and with a real gut-punch of a twist — Claire McGowan, author of The Lost
Fantastic... a real tour de force, with characters I won't forget any time soon — Kate Rhodes, author of Crossbones Yard
Kelly proves herself (once again) a mistress of the dark arts of psychological thriller writing with sinuous storytelling that beguiles and entraps the reader. Lingers in the mind long after the final page. Set to be the psych thriller of 2017 — Anya Lipska, author of Where the Devil Can’t Go
A masterclass in drip-fed suspense, beautifully written and astutely observed. This book left me extremely tense throughout - in a good way! — SJI Holliday, author of Willow Walk
HE SAID/SHE SAID tantalisingly exposes the lives of beautifully drawn characters, holding them under a magnifying glass as the consequences of one terrifying moment during an eclipse ripple out over the years. With all the anticipation and tension of an actual eclipse - mysterious, breathtaking, powerful - Erin Kelly captures the essence of the 'unputdownable novel' by combining fear, breathtaking twists and turns, as well as her trademark bewitching prose. — Samantha Hayes, author of Until You're Mine
An addictive read. The mystery and majesty of the total solar eclipses lends an eerie inevitability to the doomed and twisted attempts of Erin Kelly's all-too-human characters to control their lives. — Isabelle Grey, author of The Bad Mother
Kept me guessing, kept me gripped and kept me thinking — T.R. Richmond, author of What She Left
A haunting and beautifully twisted tale of desire and deceit. Erin Kelly is the kind of writer whose work you read and instantly wish it were your own. — Colette McBeth, author of The Life I Left Behind
HE SAID/SHE SAID is dazzling...you simply won't be able to look away. Erin Kelly is a class act on top form. — Lucy Dawson, author of You Sent Me a Letter
I loved this book...Exceptionally clever. — Julia Crouch, author of Cuckoo
I loved HE SAID/SHE SAID. Beautifully written, gripping and as twisty and dangerous as a 400-page-long rattlesnake, this is Erin Kelly at the absolute top of her game, and everyone else's too — William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier
A dark, incredibly atmospheric psychological thriller with a clever, elaborate plot that sucks you in step by step. An unpredictable yet always plausible story about the far-reaching consequences of actions and even lies. A gripping page-turner — Grazia
Brilliant. A masterclass in how to write a gripping psychological thriller. — Louise Millar
Love and its twisted opposite, truth and lies that shade from little white to pitch-dark. Here be images to haunt you and characters to make you doubt your own judgement. — Lucie Whitehouse, author of Keep You Close
Thought-provoking and sensitively handled — Stylist
From the very first sentence, HE SAID/SHE SAID casts a shadow - how to undo what is done. The ending is as inevitable as it is dark; it swept me away and I enjoyed every minute of it. — Alexandra Burt, author of Little Girl Gone
Brilliantly plotted, packed with suspense — Women & Home
Expertly constructed — The Sunday Times
Erin Kelly is one of the finest stylists in British crime fiction, and this is further proof of her gift for creating tension...a compelling, very modern thriller — Sunday Mirror