Fran Cooper - These Dividing Walls - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642300
    • Publication date:04 May 2017
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641563
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

These Dividing Walls

By Fran Cooper

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

These Dividing Walls is a prescient debut novel by a striking new voice in fiction, for fans of Emma Cline and Jessie Burton

One Parisian summer
A building of separate lives
All that divides them will soon collapse...

In a forgotten corner of Paris stands a building.

Within its walls, people talk and kiss, laugh and cry; some are glad to sit alone, while others wish they did not. A woman with silver-blonde hair opens her bookshop downstairs, an old man feeds the sparrows on his windowsill, and a young mother wills the morning to hold itself at bay. Though each of their walls touches someone else's, the neighbours they pass in the courtyard remain strangers.

Into this courtyard arrives Edward. Still bearing the sweat of a channel crossing, he takes his place in an attic room to wait out his grief.

But in distant corners of the city, as Paris is pulled taut with summer heat, there are those who meet with a darker purpose. As the feverish metropolis is brought to boiling point, secrets will rise and walls will crumble both within and without Number 37...

'Confident and brilliant. She will immerse you in a world I dare you to turn away from.' Lisa O'Donnell, author of The Death of Bees

Biographical Notes

Fran Cooper grew up in London before reading English at Cambridge and Art History at the Courtauld Institute of Art. She spent three years in Paris writing a PhD about travelling eighteenth-century artists, and currently works in the curatorial department of a London museum. These Dividing Walls is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473641556
  • Publication date: 04 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

The Two Houses

Fran Cooper
Authors:
Fran Cooper

John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson

'Rockadoon Shore is terrific' Roddy Doyle'One of the most exciting Irish storytellers to have emerged in years' Gavin CorbettCath is worried about her friends. DanDan is struggling with the death of his ex, Lucy is drinking way too much and Steph has become closed off. A weekend away is just what they need so they travel out to Rockadoon Lodge, to the wilds in the west of Ireland. But the weekend doesn't go to plan. JJ is more concerned with getting high than spending time with them, while Merc is humiliated and seeks revenge. And with long-ignored tensions now out in the open, their elderly neighbour Malachy arrives on their doorstep with a gun in his hands . . .Honest, moving and human, Rockadoon Shore is a novel about friendship and youth, about missed opportunities and lost love, and about the realities of growing up and growing old in modern-day Ireland. Highly energetic and tensely humorous, it heralds a new and exciting voice in contemporary Irish fiction.

John Murray

Imaging

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

Hodder & Stoughton

The Book of Luce

L R Fredericks
Authors:
L R Fredericks

My obsession begins in the magical year 1967, at Luce and the Photons' legendary last secret gig. That night changes my life: I must know who Luce is. But the deeper I dig, the more questions I turn up. Is Luce a rock star or a pretender? An artist or an acid trip?My redemption . . . or my delusion?Drawn into the machinations of mysterious powers, I become the dark shadow who follows the light of Luce. But who follows me? Are they agents of evil or figments of my imagination? And do they follow me still?The quest for Luce will lead me to the farthest corners of the earth and into the deadliest danger. I will lose everything and everyone I love . . . except for Luce.Who is pawn and who is player? Murderer or victim? Betrayer or saviour?I am the only one who knows the truth.This is the truth.This is The Book of Luce.

Sceptre

City of Circles

Jess Richards
Authors:
Jess Richards
Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel
Hodder & Stoughton

Lean On Me

Mike Gayle
Authors:
Mike Gayle
Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets at the Little Village School

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The fifth Little Village School novel.'It's a small village is Barton-in-the-Dale, Mrs Stirling,' said the shopkeeper. 'You ought to know that by now. Nothing can be kept secret for too long. News travels fast.'In the little village of Barton-in-the-Dale, long-hidden secrets are bubbling to the surface. Ashley Underwood and Emmet O'Malley are set to tie the knot, when a revelation from the handsome Irishman's past returns to haunt him. The town's resident nosey-parker discovers some juicy gossip about the primary school's dishy new staff-member, and head teacher Elisabeth Stirling has a very special secret of her own.As the wedding day draws closer, brewing secrets threaten to boil over. But along with the skeletons tumbling out of the closet comes plenty of laughter, drama, friendship and love. One thing's for sure: for some, life in Barton-in-the-Dale will never be the same again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates

This is the inspirational story of how one cheeky little dog, his sister and two grumpy cats save a family.'If you love animals, you will adore this gorgeous book' - MILLY JOHNSON'Charming, touching - an absolute gift of a book!' - KATIE FFORDE'The perfect feel-good read!' - MANDY BAGGOTBertie is alone, devastated after his beloved sister and fellow beagle Molly is adopted, leaving him behind. When Bertie is taken in by the Green family, it seems he's finally found a place to call home...Yet Bertie swiftly realises that the kind and loving Green family is in crisis. After a tragedy two years ago, they've never recovered, and with Christmas approaching, grief is pulling them apart. Never has a four-legged friend been more in need - and brave, warm-hearted Bertie must rise to the challenge. Can he enlist the help of hostile felines Kitty and Rico to help him find Molly - and can he bring the Green family back together again, all in time for Christmas?

Hodder & Stoughton

Holding

Graham Norton
Authors:
Graham Norton
Hodder & Stoughton

Mr Gandy's Grand Tour

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Real Liddy James

Anne-Marie Casey
Authors:
Anne-Marie Casey
John Murray

The Good Guy

Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale
Hodder & Stoughton

In the Month of the Midnight Sun

Cecilia Ekbäck
Authors:
Cecilia Ekbäck
Hodder & Stoughton

The Ballroom Class

Lucy Dillon
Authors:
Lucy Dillon
Coronet

The One You Fear

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington
John Murray Learning

Total French Foundation Course: Learn French with the Michel Thomas Method

Michel Thomas
Authors:
Michel Thomas

Looking for a convenient language course that fits your lifestyle and gets you speaking a new language in a matter of hours? The acclaimed audio-led Michel Thomas Method Total French course, endorsed by celebrities, executives and learners worldwide, will deliver the results you want. How does it work?During the course, you will join Michel and two students in a live lesson, learning from both their successes and their mistakes to keep you motivated and involved throughout the course. You, as the learner, become the third student and participate actively in the class. Within the very first hour you will be able to construct simple phrases by listening and thinking out answers for yourself without the pressure of writing or memorizing. You learn through your own language, so there's no stress, and no anxiety. You'll stick with it because you'll love it. Why is the method so successful? The Michel Thomas Method was perfected over 50 years by celebrated psychologist and linguist Michel Thomas. This unique method works with your brain and draws on the principles of instructional psychology. Knowledge is structured and organised so that you assimilate the language easily and don't forget it. The method breaks down the language into building blocks that are introduced sequentially in such a way that you create your response and move on to ever-more-complex sentences. There is no need to stop for homework, additional exercises or vocabulary memorization, so you progress rapidly. What's in the Course?Total French with the Michel Thomas Method includes up to 8 hours of audio on CD and a practice CD-ROM with interactive activities and assessment which should be done after the course and as a means of review. *Note that the content is the same as the previously entitled Foundation course, but with the addition of a CD-ROM. Learn anywhere Don't be tied to chunky books or your computer, Michel Thomas Method audio courses let you learn whenever you want: at home, in your car, or on the move with your MP3 player.Where do I go next? Perfect French follows on from the Total course with 10 hours of audio and a practice CD-ROM.

Coronet

The One You Love

Paul Pilkington
Authors:
Paul Pilkington
Hodder & Stoughton

The Heart of the Family

Elizabeth Goudge
Authors:
Elizabeth Goudge