Julian Stockwin - A Sea of Gold - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641075
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641068
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642553
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
Books in this series

A Sea of Gold

Thomas Kydd 21

By Julian Stockwin

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail. This will be the twenty-first novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

1809. After his heroic actions during the retreat to Corunna, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is the toast of London society. Here he falls in with the legendary frigate captain, Lord Thomas Cochrane.

So begins a relationship, professional and personal, that will be unlike any that Kydd has known: a relationship that will lead him, almost simultaneously, to first glory, then ruin.

The French fleet is massing in the Basque Roads in a near impregnatable position. The Admiralty orders Cochrane to command an attack, to the chagrin of more senior officers who object to being overlooked and Cochrane's reputation for daring. Cochrane insists that his new friend, Kydd, is in the forefront of the assault armada, a motley collection of rocket, bomb and fire ships that will set the anchorage ablaze - this despite Kydd's almost pathological fear of fire.

The fallout from what follows will see Kydd financially ruined, with only his former shipmates, his oldest friend of all, Nicholas Renzi, and the whisper of hidden Spanish treasure promising the sea of gold that he needs to save himself.

********************

Praise for Julian Stockwin's Kydd series

'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express

'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine

'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society

Biographical Notes

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to TS Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473641099
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Tension surges through A Sea of Gold . . . In this rousing yarn, Stockwin again raises naval fiction to a new level — Quarterdeck