Julian Stockwin - A Sea of Gold - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641075
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473642553
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018
Books in this series

A Sea of Gold

Thomas Kydd 21

By Julian Stockwin

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail. This will be the twenty-first novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

1809. After his heroic actions during the retreat to Corunna, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is the toast of London society. Here he falls in with the legendary frigate captain, Lord Thomas Cochrane.

So begins a relationship, professional and personal, that will be unlike any that Kydd has known: a relationship that will lead him, almost simultaneously, to first glory, then ruin.

The French fleet is massing in the Basque Roads in a near impregnatable position. The Admiralty orders Cochrane to command an attack, to the chagrin of more senior officers who object to being overlooked and Cochrane's reputation for daring. Cochrane insists that his new friend, Kydd, is in the forefront of the assault armada, a motley collection of rocket, bomb and fire ships that will set the anchorage ablaze - this despite Kydd's almost pathological fear of fire.

The fallout from what follows will see Kydd financially ruined, with only his former shipmates, his oldest friend of all, Nicholas Renzi, and the whisper of hidden Spanish treasure promising the sea of gold that he needs to save himself.
'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Biographical Notes

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to TS Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473641099
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Paperbacks
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson

A Zoe Ball ITV Book Club Pick'Sally Magnusson has taken an amazing true event and created a brilliant first novel. It's an epic journey in every sense: although it's historical, it's incredibly relevant to our world today. We had to pick it' Zoe Ball Book Club 'A remarkable feat of imagination ... I enjoyed and admired it in equal measure' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent 'A powerful tale of Barbary pirates ... richly imagined.' Sunday Times'Engrossing' Sunday Express 'Fascinating ... a really, really good read' BBC R2 Book Club'The best sort of historical novel' Scotsman 'A lyrical tale' Stylist 'A poetic retelling of Icelandic history' Daily Mail 'Compelling stuff' Good Housekeeping'An extraordinarily immersive read ... examining themes of motherhood, identity, exile and freedom' Guardian1627. In a notorious historical event, pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted 400 people into slavery in Algiers. Among them a pastor, his wife, and their children.In her acclaimed debut novel Sally Magnusson imagines what history does not record: the experience of Asta, the pastor's wife, as she faces her losses with the one thing left to her - the stories from home - and forges an ambiguous bond with the man who bought her.Uplifting, moving, and witty, The Sealwoman's Gift speaks across centuries and oceans about loss, love, resilience and redemption.Chosen for the BBC Radio 2 Book Club and the ITV Zoe Ball Book Club.'Icelandic history has been brought to extraordinary life... An accomplished and intelligent novel' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, author of Why Did You Lie?'Vivid and compelling' Adam Nichols, co-translator of The Travels of Reverend Ólafur Egilsson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Hodder & Stoughton

The Baltic Prize

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Persephone

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder Paperbacks

Inferno

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Should You Ask Me

Marianne Kavanagh
Authors:
Marianne Kavanagh
Mulholland Books

The Prometheus Man

Scott Reardon
Authors:
Scott Reardon
Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 5

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

First Response

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

From the bestselling author of the Spider Shepherd and Jack Nightingale series comes First Response, the utterly addictive new thriller by Stephen Leather. London is under siege. Nine men in suicide vests primed to explode hold hostages in nine different locations around the city, and are ready to die for their cause.Their mission: to force the government to release jihadist prisoners from Belmarsh Prison.Their deadline: 6 p.m. Today. But the bombers are cleanskins, terrorists with no obvious link to any group, and who do not appear on any anti-terror watch list. What has brought them together on this one day to act in this way? Mo Kamran is the Superintendent in charge of the Special Crime and Operations branch of the Met. As the disaster unfolds and the SAS, armed police, and other emergency services rush to the scenes, he is tasked with preventing the biggest terrorist outrage the capital has ever known.But nothing is what it seems. And only Kamran has the big picture. Will anyone believe him?A chillingly plausible and pulse-pounding depiction of how London might be held to ransom in a concerted terrorist attack: this is thriller writing at its very best.(P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Tyger

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

Black Ops

Stephen Leather
Authors:
Stephen Leather

In what could be his highest-profile mission ever, Dan 'Spider' Shepherd is called in to prevent the assassination of a head of state on British soil. As an MI5 agent, Spider is used to going undercover, but when he's asked to assume the identity of the contract killer hired to take out President Vladimir Putin, he knows he'll become a wanted man.And things are about to get more complicated: Spider is told that his MI5 controller and close friend Charlotte Button has been running an off-the-books assassination operation, taking vengeance on the men who killed her husband. Spider owes his life to Button - but this discovery will stretch his loyalty to the limit...

Hodder & Stoughton

Pasha

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 4

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

The Thomas Kydd novels are the story of one man's journey from pressed man to Admiral during the Great Age of Fighting Sail.Invasion: Napoleon's forces are poised to invade Britain, and Commander Thomas Kydd's ship is at the forefront of the fleet defending the English coast. But Kydd is abruptly withdrawn from the fleet and sent back to Dover on a secret mission to guard a mysterious American inventor.Victory: Commander Thomas Kydd is eager to play his part in thwarting Bonaparte's plans for the invasion of England. Joining Admiral Nelson's command, Kydd and his ship soon find themselves at the heart of the action that leads up to the famous clash of the mighty British and French fleets at Trafalgar.Conquest: Captain Thomas Kydd joins an expedition to take Dutch-held Cape Town, a strategic harbor that will give England a rich trade route to India. With enemies lurking on all sides, Kydd and his men must defend the fragile colony while braving Africa's vast and hostile hinterland.'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 3

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin
Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 2

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

The Thomas Kydd novels are the story of one man's journey from pressed man to Admiral during the Great Age of Fighting Sail.Mutiny: Caught up in the Mutiny on the Nore, Kydd is faced with a terrible choice. Abandon his friends and shipmates? Or join the rebellion and put his career - and even his life - on the line?Quarterdeck: Kydd must pass a tough examination for his lieutenancy, and when Tenacious reaches the colonies, Kydd is caught up in the intrigue surrounding the birth of the American Navy.Tenacious: Thomas Kydd is aboard Tenacious, part of a small squadron commanded by Vice Admiral Horatio Nelson. Its mission is to scour the Mediterranean and locate Napoleon and his army.'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Hodder & Stoughton

The Kydd Collection 1

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

The Thomas Kydd novels are the story of one man's journey from pressed man to Admiral during the Great Age of Fighting Sail.Kydd: Thomas Paine Kydd, a young wig-maker from Guildford, is seized by the press gang, to be a part of the crew of the 98-gun line-of-battle ship Royal William. The ship sails immediately and Kydd has to learn the harsh realities of shipboard life fast.Artemis: Now a true Jack Tar, Kydd sails into Portsmouth Harbour and a hero's welcome after a ferocious battle against the French. However his jubilation is cut short when a family matter threatens to take him from the life he has grown to love.Seaflower: It is two years since Thomas Kydd was spirited away in the night to serve his country aboard the old line-of-battle ship Duke William. Now, he and and the other members of the ill-fated Artemis are shipwrecked sailors, back in London waiting to be summoned as court martial witnesses.'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' - Daily Express'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian

Hodder & Stoughton

Caribbee

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - GuardianMore than a decade ago, Thomas Kydd and Nicholas Renzi were in the Caribbean as sailors before the mast in the old Trajan. Now Kydd, a storied hero of Trafalgar, holds the glory of being post-captain of the 32-gun frigate, L'Aurore. After unremitting war a Caribbean posting seems a welcome respite. But Kydd and Renzi soon find themselves facing a familiar threat as the French imperil Britain's vital sugar trade.When merchantmen begin vanishing from the sea, Kydd and Renzi must embark on a dangerous game of espionage, seamanship and breath-taking action in order to destroy a new and terrible danger to the Empire.*********************What readers are saying about CARIBBEE'A proper swashbuckling affair' - 5 stars'Totally amazing!' - 5 stars'Loved this book' - 5 stars'A real find' - 5 stars'A gripping read' - 5 stars