Julian Stockwin - The Baltic Prize - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £18.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473641006
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473640993
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018
Books in this series

The Baltic Prize

Thomas Kydd 19

By Julian Stockwin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The nineteenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Captain Kydd series.

1808. Parted from his new bride, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is called away to join the Northern Expedition to Sweden, now Britain's only ally in the Baltic. Following the sudden declaration of war by Russia and with the consequent threat of the czar's great fleet in St Petersburg, the expedition must defend Britain's dearly-won freedom in those waters.

However Kydd finds his popular fame as a frigate captain is a poisoned chalice; in the face of jealousy and envy from his fellow captains, the distrust of the commander-in-chief and the betrayal of friendship by a former brother-in-arms now made his subordinate, can he redeem his reputation?

In an entirely hostile sea Tyger ranges from the frozen north to the deadly confines of the Danish Sound - and plays a pivotal role in the situation ensuing after the czar's sudden attack on Finland. This climaxes in the first clash of fleets between Great Britain and Russia in history. To the victor will be the prize of the Baltic!

******************

PRAISE FOR JULIAN STOCKWIN'S THOMAS KYDD SERIES

'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express

'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine on VICTORY

'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society on THE ADMIRAL'S DAUGHTER

Biographical Notes

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to TS Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473640986
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Praise for the Thomas Kydd series. — -
Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book. — Historical Naval Society on The Admiral's Daughter
Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line. — Daily Express
More historically accurate than the Patrick O'Brian series — Royal Navy Sailing Association journal
This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail — Nautical Magazine on VICTORY
Hodder Paperbacks

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Hodder & Stoughton

Kydd 21

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

Hodder & Stoughton

Go Ask Fannie Farmer

Elisabeth Hyde
Authors:
Elisabeth Hyde

Hodder & Stoughton

An Impossible Marriage

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

This Bed They Centre

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Holiday Friend

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Unspeakable Skipton

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson

Hodder & Stoughton

The Last Resort

Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Authors:
Pamela Hansford-Johnson
Hodder Paperbacks

Springtime at Wildacre: a gorgeously uplifting, feel-good romance

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

In the little village of Welford flowers are blooming, the lambing season is underway... and love is in the air.Mandy Hope is on cloud nine. Hope Meadows, the animal rescue and rehabilitation centre she founded, is going really well. And she's growing ever closer to handsome villager Jimmy Marsh. What's more, James Hunter, her best friend, is slowly learning to re-embrace life after facing tragedy.But when an unexpected crisis causes Mandy to lose confidence in her veterinary skills, it's a huge blow. If she can't learn to forgive herself, then her relationship with Jimmy, and the future of Hope Meadows, may be in danger. It'll take friendship, love, community spirit - and one elephant with very bad teeth - to remind Mandy and her fellow villagers that springtime in Yorkshire really is the most glorious time of the year.Hope Meadows is based on the globally bestselling Animal Ark series. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Cathy Bramley.**Praise for the Hope Meadows series**'Incredibly lovely' - Rachel's Random Reads'A stunning, emotional, beautiful tale of friendship and love' Books of All Kinds'Just the right amount of nostalgia... wonderful and very poignant' - The World is a Book Blog'Full of friendship, community spirit and some heart-breaking moments that will leave you wanting to stay curled up on the sofa until it is complete' - Amazon'Will leave you feeling cosy and uplifted' - Goodreads'An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community' Bookworms and Shutterbugs'Full of charm' Amazon

Hodder & Stoughton

Finding Sisu

Katja Pantzar
Authors:
Katja Pantzar
Sceptre

Lost and Found

Jules Montague
Authors:
Jules Montague
Hodder & Stoughton

Sagittarius

Sally Kirkman
Authors:
Sally Kirkman
Hodder & Stoughton

One Hundred Ways to Be More Like Your Cat

Celia Haddon
Authors:
Celia Haddon
Hodder & Stoughton

Capricorn

Sally Kirkman
Authors:
Sally Kirkman
Hodder & Stoughton

Cancer

Sally Kirkman
Authors:
Sally Kirkman
Hodder & Stoughton

Leo

Sally Kirkman
Authors:
Sally Kirkman

The signs of the zodiac can give us great insight into our day-to-day living as well as the many talents and qualities we possess. But in an increasingly unpredictable world, how can we make sense of them? And what do they mean? This insightful and introductory guide delves deep into your star sign, revealing unique traits and meanings which you didn't know. Along the way, you will discover how your sign defies your compatibility, how to improve your health and what your gifts are. ***The Pocket Astrology series will teach you how to live well and enhance every aspect of your life. From friendship to compatibility, careers to finance, you will discover new elements to your sign and learn about the ancient art of astrology. Other books in the series include: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius,Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces

Hodder & Stoughton

Libra

Sally Kirkman
Authors:
Sally Kirkman

The signs of the zodiac can give us great insight into our day-to-day living as well as the many talents and qualities we possess. But in an increasingly unpredictable world, how can we make sense of them? And what do they mean? This insightful and introductory guide delves deep into your star sign, revealing unique traits and meanings which you didn't know. Along the way, you will discover how your sign defies your compatibility, how to improve your health and what your gifts are. ***The Pocket Astrology series will teach you how to live well and enhance every aspect of your life. From friendship to compatibility, careers to finance, you will discover new elements to your sign and learn about the ancient art of astrology. Other books in the series include: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius,Capricorn, Aquarius, Pisces

Coronet

Global Strike

Chris Ryan
Authors:
Chris Ryan
JM Originals

Elmet

Fiona Mozley
Authors:
Fiona Mozley

SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2017'A quiet explosion of a book, exquisite and unforgettable' The Economist'A cleverly constructed rural Gothic fable . . . Elmet is a marvellous achievement' TLS'Pastoral idyll, political exposé, cosy family saga and horror tale, it reads like a traditional children's story that turns into a gangster film: Hansel and Gretel meets The Godfather' Sunday TimesDaniel is heading north. He is looking for someone. The simplicity of his early life with Daddy and Cathy has turned menacing and fearful. They lived apart in the house that Daddy built for them in the woods with his bare hands. They foraged and hunted. Cathy was more like their father: fierce and full of simmering anger. Daniel was more like their mother: gentle and kind. Sometimes, their father disappeared, and would return with a rage in his eyes. But when he was at home, he was at peace. He told them that the little copse in Elmet was theirs alone. But that wasn't true. Local men, greedy and watchful, began to circle like vultures. All the while, the terrible violence in Daddy grew.Brutal and beautiful in equal measure, Elmet is a compelling portrayal of a family living on the fringes of contemporary society, as well as a gripping exploration of the disturbing actions people are capable of when pushed to their limits.

Hodder & Stoughton

How to Survive Outdoors: Teach Yourself

Jason Polley
Authors:
Jason Polley