Julian Stockwin - Persephone - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473640931
    • Publication date:19 Oct 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473640924
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
Books in this series

Persephone

Thomas Kydd 18

By Julian Stockwin

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

Perfect for fans of Patrick O'Brian, Bernard Cornwell, and swashbuckling adventure during the great Age of Sail: Persephone is the eighteenth novel in Julian Stockwin's acclaimed Thomas Kydd series.

Unputdownable naval action from the master of the sea story - Julian Stockwin returns with the next installment of action from Captain Sir Thomas Kydd.

November 1807. Captain Sir Thomas Kydd must sail to Lisbon to aid the Portuguese Royal Family's evacuation in the face of Napoleon's ruthless advance through Iberia. In the chaos of the threatened city an old passion is reawakened when he meets Persephone Lockwood, a beautiful and determined admiral's daughter from his past.

But the Royal Family's destination is Brazil, Perspehone's England, and it seems Kydd's chance has gone again. Only later he discovers Persephone has another suitor - and that, if he wants to win her hand, he must enter the highest echelons of London society.

Mixing with aristocracy and royalty brings other responsibilities. The Prince of Wales asks him to take temporary command of the Royal Yacht. Sailing to Yarmouth, Kydd realises they are being stalked by French privateers. The terrible threat of a prince of the blood being captured sees Kydd call on daring seamanship of the highest order.

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' (Guardian)

Biographical Notes

Julian Stockwin was sent at the age of fourteen to TS Indefatigable, a tough sea-training school. He joined the Royal Navy at fifteen before transferring to the Royal Australian Navy, where he served for eight years in the Far East, Antarctic waters and the South Seas. He was awarded the MBE and retired with the rank of Lieutenant Commander. He now lives in Devon with his wife Kathy. More information can be found on his website at www.JulianStockwin.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473640900
  • Publication date: 18 May 2017
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
PERSEPHONE is another shining milepost for Captain Thomas Kydd and his creator, Julian Stockwin. — Quarterdeck
Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book. — Historical Naval Society on The Admiral's Daughter
Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line — Daily Express
More historically accurate than the Patrick O'Brian series — Royal Navy Sailing Association journal on the KYDD series
This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail — Nautical Magazine on VICTORY