Belva Plain - Crossroads - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780340734810
    • Publication date:23 Jul 2009

Crossroads

By Belva Plain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

From one of the world's most beloved storytellers, a novel of mothers and daughters, of mixed blessings and second chances. CROSSROADS brilliantly explores the fragility of life - and the power of love to heal and transform.

Gwen Wright has grown up in a world of privilege and opportunity as the adopted daughter of a powerful woman.

Jewel Fairbanks has grown up with nothing. From the moment they meet, beautiful, conniving Jewel envies Gwen, who seems to have everything Jewel wants. The two couldn't be more different, but their lives will soon become inextricably intertwined.

Both will marry - but to profoundly different men. For Gwen, it is honest, hardworking Stan who steals her heart; Jewel will set her sights on Jeff, a shrewd businessman who owns the company where Stan works.

But when Stan makes a shocking discovery on the job, relationships begin to shift and change and soon a tangled drama of greed, jealousy, and betrayal will encircle both couples, as a chain reaction of unexpected events changes four lives forever in ways they never could have foreseen.

Biographical Notes

Belva Plain's first novel, EVERGREEN, was published in 1978 and became an international bestseller. Over the course of a career spanning three decades she published over twenty bestselling novels in 22 languages. She died at the age of ninety five in 2010.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473627642
  • Publication date: 24 Mar 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Hodder & Stoughton

Finale

Stephanie Garber
Authors:
Stephanie Garber

Sunday Times and #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Garber takes us once again to the magical world of Caraval, where Scarlett and Tella Dragna must fight for their happy endings after a tragedy sends Tella on a treacherous path for revenge. . .Caraval is over, but perhaps the greatest game of all has begun - with lives, empires, and hearts all at stake. There are no spectators this time: only those who will win, and those who will lose everything. Welcome, welcome to the Caraval's Finale. All games must come to an end...Praise for the series:'Extravagantly imaginative and enchanting . . . Pure magic and escapism' Cecelia Ahern'Enchanting . . . [I] never wanted to come out' Sabaa Tahir'Immersive and engaging . . . destined to capture imaginations' Kirkus'An enchanting carnival of dreams and nightmares . . . beautifully and vividly written' SciFi Now

Hodder Paperbacks

The Mother-in-Law

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new domestic page-turner about that trickiest of relationships and what happens when it all goes wrong'Fiction at its finest' Liane Moriarty, Number One bestselling author 'Perfect for fans of BIG LITTLE LIES' - Library Journal She has never approved of you. But it's when her body is found the secrets really start to come out ...From the moment Lucy met her husband's mother, Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and perfectly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. Even so, Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law. That was five years ago.Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.But the autopsy finds no cancer.The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation. Someone wanted Diana dead. And everyone in the family is hiding something.With Lucy's secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.(P)2019 Macmillan Audio

Two Roads

Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel

Ruth Hogan
Authors:
Ruth Hogan
Mulholland Books

Liar, Liar

Lisa Jackson
Authors:
Lisa Jackson

Remmi's mother was always a liar. But did her lies get her killed?'Shiveringly good suspense!' Lisa GardnerA woman jumps to her death from a 20 story building. She looks a lot like washed up beauty queen Didi Storm, but her daughter Remmi is adamant: that's not her mother. To solve the mystery of who jumped - and why - Remmi Storm and cop Dani Settler have to go back to the start, to a deal conducted in the Las Vegas desert 22 years ago, which went terribly wrong...A fast-paced thriller for fans for Lisa Gardner and Karen Rose, with Lisa Jackson's trademark mix of dark secrets and stunning twistsWhat the readers are saying'Liar Liar is a story of deceit, murder and duplicity. Easily devoured in one sitting, and one that I read with a sense of urgency. I am definitely a new fan''A fantastic read. I loved the story and the characters especially Remmie. This was a shocking twister of a read. 5*''This is a pacy and engaging read that draws on a dual timeline to slowly reveal the facts as they are. There are some great twists and a stunning array of dark secrets throughout. I will be definitely be reading more from Lisa Jackson''As the title suggests, this is a story of lies, deception, betrayal, ambition and murder. This was an engrossing and engaging read from Lisa Jackson which I thoroughly enjoyed reading''I have never read a Lisa Jackson book I didn't like and enjoy and this one is no exception''This one drew me in from first page''This book has several mysteries with all sorts of roads to travel down in search of the truth. You won't want to put it down. There was a surprise at the ending that I didn't expect'

Coronet

Lifeshocks

Sophie Sabbage
Authors:
Sophie Sabbage

HAVE YOU EVER WONDERED IF LIFE IS TRYING TO TELL YOU SOMETHING?This is a book about all the unwanted and unexpected moments in our lives. They surprise us, they blindside us. They shock us. They command our attention. Some bounce off us, other strike deep into our being. These moments are collision points between how we see life and how life actually is. These are lifeshocks.In her new book Sophie explains how lifeshocks awaken us. She offers her own deeply personal story as well as other case studies as a vehicle for bringing the theory and teachings to life. She focuses on three kinds of lifeshocks we all receive: limiting lifeshocks which challenge our arrogance and appetite for control; exposing lifeshocks which challenge our affectations and pretences; and evoking lifeshocks which challenge our closed-heartedness.This groundbreaking new book reveals how these lifeshocks can bring healing, transformation and peace.

Hodder & Stoughton

Winter Solstice

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Hodder & Stoughton

After the Fire

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

Hyacinthe has always been the quiet one: gentle, artistic, never glamorous. Swept off her feet by an ambitious young doctor, she is happy to put her own ambitions as a designer to one side, to become the mother of two lovely children.Until the day she must face the fact that Gerald is seeing other women. Distraught, desperate, she goes to his office to seek proof. And because of what happens there on a terrible night, she loses the custody of her children . . .The enthralling story of a woman whose life is first torn apart by injustice, then rebuilt in unexpected ways.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Sight of the Stars

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

The Sight of the Stars chronicles four generations of the remarkable Anring family as they journey across a teeming canvas of history, through world wars and the close of a century, through years of love, loss, sacrifice and unimaginable betrayal. It is about what happens when we dare to dream, and the moments that can change families forever.

Hodder & Stoughton

Looking Back

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Her Father's House

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Fortune's Hand

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

The Carousel

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

In public, Oliver Grey is a devoted father, prominent public figure and respected businessman. But in private, he has a much darker side.On a visit to her brother Dan's house, Oliver's niece Amanda sees a silver carousel much like the one her uncle gave her as a child. When Amanda breaks down and reveals a troubling link between her niece Caroline, her uncle Oliver and the silver carousel, events take a dangerous turn. Horrified by the revelations, Dan's wife Ellen visits Oliver's home to confront him. And when she leaves, Oliver is dead.But with one son mired in gambling debts and a desperately troubled niece, finding the person behind Oliver's death might not be as simple as it seems.

Hodder & Stoughton

Legacy of Silence

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Promises

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Daybreak

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain
Hodder & Stoughton

Evergreen

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

A magnificent story of courage and ambition. Born into poverty and fear, Anna Friedman is desperate to leave her native Poland. Determined to make something of herself, Anna takes a journey that will change her life forever. Crossing the ocean, she moves to into a cramped New York slum and finds a job in a sweatshop. When two very different men fall in love with her, Anna is torn in love and loyalty.

Hodder & Stoughton

Random Winds

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

From a quiet turn-of-the-century village in upstate New York to war-torn London, from the bedsides of the rural poor to the life-and-death urgency of a New York hospital, comes a powerful epic of three generations of doctors in one family. The Farrell family are dedicated, brilliant... and driven to the edge of destruction by a love no force can suppress.

Hodder & Stoughton

Christmas on Nantucket

Elin Hilderbrand
Authors:
Elin Hilderbrand
Coronet

The A-Z of Pointless

Alexander Armstrong, Richard Osman
Authors:
Alexander Armstrong, Richard Osman
Hodder & Stoughton

Homecoming

Belva Plain
Authors:
Belva Plain

With unerring insight and emotional power, Belva Plain, in her extraordinary novel, tells the story of a family divided and of the proud matriarch who takes a bold last stand to unite her warring children in what may be their last Homecoming.It is a crisp December day when Annette Byrne walks to the end of her long, curving driveway and drops five sealed envelopes into the mailbox, quickly, before second thoughts stay her hand. Shortly thereafter, with the holidays approaching, her estranged family will be gathered at her country estate for the first time in years.The sons. . . two brothers embittered by a breach of ethics, honor, and trust. The grandchildren. . . one young couple on the verge of divorce; another, lovingly united against the parents who have tarnished their lives. As the ill-fated meeting hurtles toward a bitter and abrupt conclusion, not even Annette Byrne's indomitable will can heal the rift--until a shattering event alters the landscape forever.