Thomas Keneally - Crimes of the Father - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473625372
    • Publication date:15 Jun 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473646889
    • Publication date:15 Jun 2017

Crimes of the Father

By Thomas Keneally

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A timely, courageous and powerful novel about faith, the church, conscience and celibacy.

Thomas Keneally pulls no punches in this powerful novel about the Catholic Church's attempts to cover up cases of child abuse, and a priest who decides help its innocent victims' fight to be heard.

Expelled from the archdiocese of Sydney as a young priest for his outspoken views on the Vietnam War, Father Frank Docherty returns to Australia in 1996 to speak at a conference on paedophilia within the Catholic Church. He had hoped to spend time with his mother and old friends. Instead, he finds himself caught up in the cases of two people who claim to have been sexually abused by an eminent Sydney cleric - one the son of Docherty's former parishioner, the other a former nun. And the cleric in question is brother to the woman Docherty fell in love with many years before. If the accusations are true, the consequences for many will be devastating, but Docherty has to follow his conscience.

In this riveting, profoundly thoughtful novel, Thomas Keneally draws on his own experience as an ex-seminarian to bring alive matters of faith, celibacy, perversion and marriage. Portraying the Catholic Church at a pivotal moment, he shows that its prevarications and cover-ups wreaked terrible damage not only on innocents but on itself, with toxic repercussions to this day.

Biographical Notes

Thomas Keneally began his writing career in 1964 and has published thirty novels since. They include Schindler's Ark, which won the Booker Prize in 1982 and was subsequently made into the film Schindler's List, and The Chant Of Jimmie Blacksmith, Confederates and Gossip From The Forest, each of which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. His most recent novels are The Daughters Of Mars, which was shortlisted for the Walter Scott Prize in 2013, Shame and the Captives and Napoleon's Last Island. He has also written several works of non-fiction, including his memoir Homebush Boy, Searching for Schindler and Australians. He is married with two daughters and lives in Sydney.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473625389
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 480
  • Imprint: Sceptre
John Murray

Rockadoon Shore

Rory Gleeson
Authors:
Rory Gleeson

'Rockadoon Shore is terrific' Roddy Doyle'One of the most exciting Irish storytellers to have emerged in years' Gavin CorbettCath is worried about her friends. DanDan is struggling with the death of his ex, Lucy is drinking way too much and Steph has become closed off. A weekend away is just what they need so they travel out to Rockadoon Lodge, to the wilds in the west of Ireland. But the weekend doesn't go to plan. JJ is more concerned with getting high than spending time with them, while Merc is humiliated and seeks revenge. And with long-ignored tensions now out in the open, their elderly neighbour Malachy arrives on their doorstep with a gun in his hands . . .Honest, moving and human, Rockadoon Shore is a novel about friendship and youth, about missed opportunities and lost love, and about the realities of growing up and growing old in modern-day Ireland. Highly energetic and tensely humorous, it heralds a new and exciting voice in contemporary Irish fiction.

John Murray

Imaging

Jessie Greengrass
Authors:
Jessie Greengrass

Hodder & Stoughton

The Best Kind of People

Zoe Whittall
Authors:
Zoe Whittall

Hodder & Stoughton

As Kingfishers Catch Fire

Eugene Peterson
Authors:
Eugene Peterson
Hodder & Stoughton

The Roanoke Girls

Amy Engel
Authors:
Amy Engel

Underneath the Roanoke Girls' perfect exterior lies a chilling secret...'Utterly addictive' LISA HALL 'Not for the faint-hearted' THE BOOK BAG 'Deeply, darkly twisted. I loved it' SARAH HILARY An explosive, controversial thriller perfect for fans of Good Me Bad Me and The Girls.Beautiful.Rich.Mysterious.The Roanoke girls seem to have it all. But there's a dark truth about them which is never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies.Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was fifteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents' estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing - and Lane has no choice but to go back. She is a Roanoke girl. Is she strong enough to escape a second time?What readers are saying about The Roanoke Girls:'Deeply gripping and emotional''Heartbreaking, disturbing and utterly brilliant''One of my favourite books of 2017''A mix of sensual beauty with underlying darkness'

Hodder & Stoughton

Secrets at the Little Village School

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The fifth Little Village School novel.'It's a small village is Barton-in-the-Dale, Mrs Stirling,' said the shopkeeper. 'You ought to know that by now. Nothing can be kept secret for too long. News travels fast.'In the little village of Barton-in-the-Dale, long-hidden secrets are bubbling to the surface. Ashley Underwood and Emmet O'Malley are set to tie the knot, when a revelation from the handsome Irishman's past returns to haunt him. The town's resident nosey-parker discovers some juicy gossip about the primary school's dishy new staff-member, and head teacher Elisabeth Stirling has a very special secret of her own.As the wedding day draws closer, brewing secrets threaten to boil over. But along with the skeletons tumbling out of the closet comes plenty of laughter, drama, friendship and love. One thing's for sure: for some, life in Barton-in-the-Dale will never be the same again.

Hodder & Stoughton

Bertie's Gift: the perfect feel-good read!

Hannah Coates
Authors:
Hannah Coates

This is the inspirational story of how one cheeky little dog, his sister and two grumpy cats save a family.'If you love animals, you will adore this gorgeous book' - MILLY JOHNSON'Charming, touching - an absolute gift of a book!' - KATIE FFORDE'The perfect feel-good read!' - MANDY BAGGOTBertie is alone, devastated after his beloved sister and fellow beagle Molly is adopted, leaving him behind. When Bertie is taken in by the Green family, it seems he's finally found a place to call home...Yet Bertie swiftly realises that the kind and loving Green family is in crisis. After a tragedy two years ago, they've never recovered, and with Christmas approaching, grief is pulling them apart. Never has a four-legged friend been more in need - and brave, warm-hearted Bertie must rise to the challenge. Can he enlist the help of hostile felines Kitty and Rico to help him find Molly - and can he bring the Green family back together again, all in time for Christmas?

Sceptre

Napoleon's Last Island

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Hodder & Stoughton

Mr Gandy's Grand Tour

Alan Titchmarsh
Authors:
Alan Titchmarsh
Hodder & Stoughton

The Real Liddy James

Anne-Marie Casey
Authors:
Anne-Marie Casey
John Murray

The Good Guy

Susan Beale
Authors:
Susan Beale

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD 2016A deeply compelling novel set in 1960s suburban America for fans of The Engagements and Tigers in Red Weather.Ted, a car-tyre salesman in 1960s suburban New England, is a dreamer who craves admiration. His wife, Abigail, longs for a life of the mind. Single-girl Penny just wants to be loved. When a chance encounter brings Ted and Penny together, he becomes enamoured and begins inventing a whole new life with her at its centre. But when this fantasy collides with reality, the fallout threatens everything, and everyone, he holds dear.The Good Guy is a deeply compelling debut about love, marriage and what happens when good intentions and self-deception are taken to extremes.

Sceptre

Searching For Schindler

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Sceptre

The Widow and her Hero

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Sceptre

Jacko: The Great Intruder

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

With his genial air of an Australian innocent, Jacko Emptor is New York's most public trespasser, invading people's homes at random for a live television show. Until he undertakes the televised hunt for a missing woman and, finally, meets a barrier even he will not transgress. The dramatic tale of Jacko's exploits probes the dubious ethics behind some television programmes and illuminates how a civilized society can harbour appalling evil.

Sceptre

Flying Hero Class

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Sceptre

A River Town

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally
Sceptre

Woman of the Inner Sea

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

A young woman once told Thomas Keneally her life story. It was to lodge in his mind and haunt his imagination, becoming the kernel for this enthralling and emotive novel. It tells of a marriage that becomes a nightmare, of a distraught woman's flight, actual and symbolic, into the Australian interior, a story of pursuit, tragic accident and a final, strange catharsis.

Sceptre

Victim of the Aurora

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

In the waning years of the Edwardian era, a group of gentlemen wait out a raging blizzard in the perpetual darkness of the Antarctic winter, poised for a strike at the South Pole. As the storm lifts, a new challenge faces Captain Sir Eugene Stewart - to discover which of his twenty-five carefully chosen men has become a murderer. The quest for adventure has become a quest for justice.

Sceptre

Shame and the Captives

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

Sceptre

Homebush Boy

Thomas Keneally
Authors:
Thomas Keneally

In this vivacious memoir, Thomas Keneally conjures up his youthful self at a pivotal period in his life - as a red-haired teenager who idolised Gerald Manley Hopkins, had visions of being a sporting hero, and dreamed of winning the heart of the alluring Bernadette Curran. The one role he did not see himself playing was priest, despite the encouragement of the Brothers at his Catholic school - until Bernadette announced her intention of becoming a nun. Drawing an affectionate portrait of the people who inspired and influenced him, Keneally beautifully captures the agonies and the ecstacies of adolescence.