Davina Langdale - The Brittle Star - Hodder & Stoughton

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473622067
    • Publication date:21 Sep 2017

The Brittle Star

An epic story of the American West

By Davina Langdale

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An epic debut novel telling the story of a young man's unquenchable spirit, perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy and True Grit.

A DAILY MAIL STARS BOOK OF THE YEAR
A FOYLES BEST BOOK OF 2017

'Langdale is excellent . . . The Brittle Star is a great beginning to what I hope is a long and productive career' Guardian

If a man beats you, you never let your anger show, never at the time. You wait, until he least expects it, until nobody remembers that you were angry at all . . .

In 1860s Southern California, life on the Burn ranch has been peaceful for 15-year-old John Evert since the death of his father. But recently there have been violent raids on nearby properties, where it's not just cattle and horses that are taken, but women too. And when the white-painted men arrive at the Burn ranch on horses in the dead of night, John Evert is near-fatally injured, his beloved mother spirited away, and their house torched to the ground.

Setting out on a journey to find his mother and reclaim his land, John Evert will fight in the Civil War and befriend an outlaw, challenge his assumptions and fall in love, before returning to fledgling Los Angeles older, sager and set on revenge . . .


'Fans of Annie Proulx, or Cormac McCarthy's Border Trilogy will love her eloquent descriptions of California's rural terrain' Henry Deedes, Daily Mail

'This book artfully blends careful research with beautiful writing. This young British writer is clearly incredibly talented and versatile, and I hope this will be the first book in a long and fruitful career' Historical Novel Society

Biographical Notes

Davina Langdale studied Zoology at Bristol University, and worked with 93 chimpanzees and a hippo in Northern Zambia. She returned to the UK to take a postgraduate diploma in journalism at the London College of Printing, and after a brief stint in that field she realised that fiction was her true love. The Brittle Star is her first novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473622050
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Sceptre
Totally brilliant — Dan Snow
Langdale is excellent at delineating landscapes both natural and human . . . She puts it on the page with such detail and self-confidence that I believe every word — Jane Smiley, Guardian
Pacy, thrilling, well-plotted . . . an extraordinary debut novel — Andrew Roberts, author of A History of the English-Speaking Peoples Since 1900
Hodder & Stoughton

The Swap

Fiona Mitchell
Authors:
Fiona Mitchell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Quickening

Talulah Riley
Authors:
Talulah Riley
Hodder & Stoughton

Broken Things

Lauren Oliver
Authors:
Lauren Oliver
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Picoult

Jodi Picoult
Authors:
Jodi Picoult

Hodder & Stoughton

The Orphanage of Gods

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan

A magical, thrilling stand-alone novel from teenage writing sensation Helena Coggan who has been hailed as 'the next J. K. Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)************Praise for Helena Coggan's 'The Catalyst''This year's Divergent' - Sun 'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro

John Murray

Villanelle: No Tomorrow

Luke Jennings
Authors:
Luke Jennings

In a hotel room in Venice, where she's just completed a routine assassination, Villanelle receives a late-night call. Eve Polastri has discovered that a senior MI5 officer is in the pay of the Twelve, and is about to debrief him. As Eve interrogates her subject, desperately trying to fit the pieces of the puzzle together, Villanelle moves in for the kill. The duel between the two women intensifies, as does their mutual obsession, and when the action moves from the high passes of the Tyrol to the heart of Russia, Eve finally begins to unwrap the enigma of her adversary's true identity.

Hodder Paperbacks

Almost Missed You

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser
Hodder & Stoughton

Untitled Sandra Brown 2018

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

Four

Andy Jones
Authors:
Andy Jones

One weekend towards the end of summer, charged on drink and lust and love and disappointment, two couples exchange partners for a single night. But the repercussions will last a great deal longer. Told from the perspectives of all four characters, FOUR is a book about love, secrets, friendship and fidelity. A story full of dilemmas, deceits and twists that will keep you guessing until the final page.PRAISE FOR ANDY JONES'Touching, funny, and real' - Jane Costello on THE TWO OF US'I'm always wary about comparing books but, just this once, I'm going to make an exception because for me this is one of those few novels that deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as ONE DAY. It has everything you could want from a romcom and then some' - The Sun on THE TROUBLE WITH HENRY AND ZOE

Sceptre

CoDex 1962

Sjón
Authors:
Sjón
Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers
Hodder & Stoughton

Not That I Could Tell

Jessica Strawser
Authors:
Jessica Strawser

Drinks in hand, a group of neighbourhood women gather around a fire pit to enjoy a rare child-less Saturday night. Giddy with freedom, they drink too much, share secrets they wish, perhaps, they hadn't, and enjoy getting to know each other better. The single newcomer. The imperfect mom. The new-born parents. The military wife. The almost divorcee. Come Monday morning, one of them is gone. As a police investigation launches, the women will band together and ask whether they should have noticed that something was amiss. But how well can you really know your neighbours, when appearances can be so deceiving? As long as you believe that what you see is what you get, I get to stay this way. Poised. Devoted. Alive.

Hodder & Stoughton

The School at the Top of the Dale

Gervase Phinn
Authors:
Gervase Phinn

The first novel in a delightful new series from bestselling author Gervase PhinnNewly qualified teacher Tom Dwyer has been given his first post in Risingdale, a sleepy little village at the very top of the Yorkshire Dales. Unsure if he'll ever fit into this close-knit community, Tom joins a motley staff at the village school. With pupils who know more about sheep than they do arithmetic, Tom has his work cut out for him. Add to that an altercation with the beautiful but stand-offish Miss Janette Fairborn and an argument with the local squire's son, and Tom's first term proves a baptism of fire. But Tom soon finds himself growing fond of Risingdale, and with a class of lively and demanding pupils, an end-of-term show to put on, and a jewellery thief at large, he will find himself at the centre of drama, secrets revealed, and plenty of love, laughter and new friendships. Full of colourful characters, and laugh-out-loud moments, The School at the Top of the Dale is a warm and humorous portrayal of life in a small Yorkshire village.

Hodder Paperbacks

Baby Boom!

Helen Wallen
Authors:
Helen Wallen

No one said the journey to motherhood was easy . . .Increased face-girth, back acne and gagging every time she's in the presence of vegetables isn't quite the beautiful start Emily had planned for her unborn baby . . . Molly's unexpected pregnancy somehow turns her boyfriend into the poncy-vegan-nut-milk-enforcer, but she breezes it, as she breezes everything. (Including still being able to eat avocados much to Emily's annoyance.)Liz quickly realises if she's to move her life on, she needs to get rid of the married man she's in love with - especially now she's realised he's been hiding more than his wedding ring . . .It's a story about becoming parents, but most of all it's a story about love, laughter and chatting to your best friends about your fanny on WhatsApp.

Hodder & Stoughton

One Kind Man

Anna Jacobs
Authors:
Anna Jacobs
JM Originals

A Kind of Freedom

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Authors:
Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Two Roads

The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night

Jen Campbell
Authors:
Jen Campbell

Modern fairy tales of magic, outsiders and lost souls. 'WHAT A BOOK. IT'S SO STRANGE AND MAGICAL AND THE WRITING IS JUST BEAUTIFUL. I LOVED IT.' Louise O'Neill 'ENCHANTING AND ILLUMINATING' Carys Bray, author of A Song For Issy Bradley 'LIKE WALKING THROUGH A MIRROR.' Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry 'THIS BOOK IS FULL OF CHARACTER AND MAGIC, AND I FOUND MYSELF MESMERISED' Claire Fuller, author of Our Endless Numbered Days 'A GEM OF A BOOK ... DEEPLY MOVING' Stylist Book Wars v THE BOOK OF DUST. 'THESE STORIES ARE WEAVED TOGETHER LIKE SILVERY FISHING NETS. LIKE SHIMMERING, JEWEL-BRIGHT WORLDS' Helen McClory 'These days, you can find anything you need at the click of a button. That's why I bought her heart online.'Spirits in jam jars, mini-apocalypses, animal hearts and side shows. A girl runs a coffin hotel on a remote island. A boy is worried his sister has two souls. A couple are rewriting the history of the world. And mermaids are on display at the local aquarium.The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night is a collection of twelve haunting stories; modern fairy tales brimming with magic, outsiders and lost souls. 'I'm fascinated by storytelling, and particularly fairy tales. How humans have always tried to explain things that they can't possibly understand with, sometimes outrageous, stories' Jen CampbellFrom the author of Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops series and The Bookshop Book.

Two Roads

The Bookseller

Cynthia Swanson
Authors:
Cynthia Swanson
Hodder & Stoughton

he

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Winner of the 2017 Ryan Tubridy Show Listener's Choice Award at the Irish Book Awards.John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity and the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists.An extraordinary reimagining of the life of one of the greatest screen comedians the world has ever known: a man who knew both adoration and humiliation; who loved, and was loved in turn; who betrayed, and was betrayed; who never sought to cause pain to others, yet left a trail of affairs and broken marriages in his wake . . . And whose life was ultimately defined by one relationship of such tenderness and devotion that only death could sever it: his partnership with the man he knew as Babe.he is Stan Laurel.But he did not really exist. Stan Laurel was a fiction.With he, John Connolly recreates the golden age of Hollywood for an intensely compassionate study of the tension between commercial demands and artistic integrity, the human frailties behind even the greatest of artists, and one of the most enduring and beloved partnerships in cinema history: Laurel &Hardy.

John Murray

Hoffer

Tim Glencross
Authors:
Tim Glencross

'Cynical, dry, and as sharp as a skewer. A wicked, twisty read' Mick HerronWilliam Hoffer - handsome, refined, a little cold perhaps - is an established figure in London society.But Hoffer has secrets. He is vague about his Midwestern origins. The counsel he offers a Russian billionaire may extend to murkier topics than art investments. Then there is his Kensington flat, which is only rented, and the broader question of his money, which is running out.When a ghost from his past in Mexico surfaces, Hoffer is forced to revive brutal instincts for self-preservation . . .Hoffer is an amoral thriller of intelligence, wit and style, and a coruscating commentary on the world we live in now.