Michael Arnold - The Prince's Gambit - Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince's Gambit

Major Stryker and the Relief of Newark

By Michael Arnold

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A standalone short story, part of Michael Arnold's acclaimed series of historical thrillers The Civil War Chronicles. 'Stands in comparison with the best of Cornwell' Yorkshire Post

'Fans of Bernard Cornwell will love Captain Innocent Stryker' Ben Kane


March 1644, and a Parliamentarian victory at the battle of Nantwich is quickly followed by news that the Scots have invaded, placing the King's northern territories in jeopardy.


Royalist officer Major Innocent Stryker is dispatched to hunt a dangerous spy, the link between power brokers in Westminster and Edinburgh. But after running his prey to ground near the Royalist stronghold of Newark, disaster befalls the mission.

A large Parliamentarian army is massing before Newark's walls and the garrison is out-gunned and outnumbered: its fall would spell ruin for the King's cause in the Midlands. But Stryker knows that the monarch's formidable nephew, Prince Rupert of the Rhine, is gathering his own force to march to the rescue. A contest of arms is inevitable, and Stryker, still pursuing his own quarry, finds himself embroiled in one of the most remarkable episodes of the English Civil War. Amid the clash of steel and the stink of powder smoke, he will need all his courage and ingenuity to prevail.

Biographical Notes

Michael Arnold lives in Hampshire with his wife and young son. His childhood holidays were spent visiting castles and battlefields but his fascination with the civil wars was piqued partly by the fact that his hometown and region of Hampshire are steeped in civil war history. You can find out more about Michael Arnold at www.hodder.co.uk or www.michaelarnold-net, or follow him on Twitter at @MikeArnold01.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473620964
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
If you like Cornwell you will like Arnold — Historical Novels Review
If you love Sharpe, you'll be knocked out by the 17th-century civil war adventures of Captain Innocent Stryker . . . at times this one-eyed veteran makes Sharpe look rather civilised. — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
A dark-hued romp, livid with the scents, sounds and colours of a country on the brink of implosion . . . impressive. — Daily Express on Warlord’s Gold
Sceptre

Bangkok Wakes to Rain

Pitchaya Sudbantha
Authors:
Pitchaya Sudbantha
Sceptre

Varina

Charles Frazier
Authors:
Charles Frazier
Hodder & Stoughton

Breathe

Dominick Donald
Authors:
Dominick Donald

Already a veteran of two wars - in Europe and Korea - PC Richard Bourton has joined the Met later in life than most of his fellow trainees on the rough streets of Notting Dale, a grimy, unloved corner of West London. It is hard for him to fit in. Amongst the bomb-sites and boarding houses, Bourton stumbles on a man who has been beaten nearly to death. This discovery, in the swirly fog of 1952, will either make or break his nascent career.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Red Ribbon

H.B. Lyle
Authors:
H.B. Lyle
Sceptre

Now We Shall Be Entirely Free

Andrew Miller
Authors:
Andrew Miller
Hodder & Stoughton

Court of Wolves

Robyn Young
Authors:
Robyn Young
JM Originals

Game Theory

Thomas Jones
Authors:
Thomas Jones

Alex and Clare have gone to spend the weekend at Henry and Vic's house in the Kent countryside. 'Perhaps nothing would have happened if they hadn't played croquet on the Saturday afternoon,' Clare thinks later. 'Fucking croquet.' Alex, a well-paid young lawyer, plays the ball by Henry's rules, as he has since they met at university ten years previously. Clare is a restless book editor and co-conspirator alongside Alex and Henry from the start, the three of them staying up until dawn, conversation never slacking. Henry, once elusive, now has perfectly proportioned, perfectly composed Victoria firmly by his side and his eye on the horizon of the digital economy.As their relationships unravel and re-entwine over the years that follow, Jones's characters replay a kind of perpetual montage in their minds, trying to fit their younger selves into the adult frameworks they've inherited. The conflicting demands of marriage - of friendship, sex and parenting - require they be at once friend and lover, parent and child, susceptible to love but protective of the rules they have chosen to play by.Knowing and innocent, shrewd and compassionate, this is a funny, felt debut novel shot through with brilliant dialogue.

Hodder & Stoughton

Women of the Dunes

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine
Hodder & Stoughton

The Iberian Flame

Julian Stockwin
Authors:
Julian Stockwin

'In Stockwin's hands the sea story will continue to entrance readers across the world' - Guardian1808. With the Peninsula in turmoil, Napoleon Bonaparte signs a treaty to dismember Portugal and put his brother, Joseph, on the throne of Spain. Meanwhile, Nicholas Renzi, the Lord Farndon, undertakes a deadly mission to stir up partisan unrest to disrupt this Napoleonic alliance with Spain.Thrust into the crucible of the uprising, Captain Sir Thomas Kydd is dismayed to come up against an old foe from his past - now his superior and commander - who is determined to break him. Kydd will soon face the greatest decision of his professional career.Bonaparte, incensed by the reverses suffered to his honour, gathers together a crushing force and marches at speed into Spain. After several bloody encounters the greatly outnumbered British expedition have no option other than make a fighting retreat to the coast. Only the Navy can save them.But the flame of insurrection has been lit - and the Peninsular War has begun.More Praise for Julian Stockwin and the Thomas Kydd Series'Paints a vivid picture of life aboard the mighty ship-of-the-line' Daily Express'This heady adventure blends fact and fiction in rich, authoritative detail' Nautical Magazine on VICTORY'Fans of fast-paced adventure will get their fill with this book' Historical Naval Society on THE ADMIRAL'S DAUGHTER

Hodder & Stoughton

The King's Witch

Tracy Borman
Authors:
Tracy Borman
Hodder & Stoughton

Phoebe

Paula Gooder
Authors:
Paula Gooder

Sometime around 56 AD, the apostle Paul wrote to the church in Rome. His letter was arguably his theological masterpiece, and has continued to shape Christian faith ever since. He entrusted this letter to Phoebe, the deacon of the church at Cenchreae; in writing to the church that almost surely met in her home, Paul refers to her both as a deacon and as a helper or patron of many. But who was this remarkable woman? In this, her first work of fiction, Biblical scholar and popular author and speaker Paula Gooder tells Phoebe's story - who she was, the life she lived and her first-century faith - and in doing so opens up Paul's theology, giving a sense of the cultural and historical pressures that shaped Paul's thinking, and the faith of the early church. Written in the gripping style of Gerd Theissen's The Shadow of the Galilean, and similarly rigorously researched, this is a book for everyone and anyone who wants to engage more deeply and imaginatively with Paul's theology - from one of the UK's foremost New Testament scholars.

Sceptre

A Shout in the Ruins

Kevin Powers
Authors:
Kevin Powers

Following his hugely celebrated debut novel, The Yellow Birds, Kevin Powers returns to the battlefield and its aftermath, this time in his native Virginia, just before and during the Civil War and ninety years later. The novel pinpoints with unerring emotional depth the nature of random violence, the necessity of love and compassion, and the fragility and preciousness of life. It will endure as a stunning novel about what we leave behind, what a life is worth, what is said and unsaid, and the fact that ultimately what will survive of us is love.

Sceptre

The Mercy Seat

Elizabeth H. Winthrop
Authors:
Elizabeth H. Winthrop
Hodder & Stoughton

Retribution: The Centurions III

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches

The author of the bestselling Empire series reaches the action-filled climax of his epic story of the uprising of the Batavi in AD 69.'A master of the genre' - The TimesVictory is in sight for Kivilaz and his Batavi army. The Roman army clings desperately to its remaining fortresses along the Rhine, its legions riven by dissent and mutiny, and once-loyal allies of Rome are beginning to imagine the unimaginable: freedom from the rulers who have dominated them since the time of Caesar. The four centurions - two Batavi and two Roman, men who were once comrades in arms - must find their destiny in a maze of loyalties and threats, as the blood tide of war ebbs and flows across Germania and Gaul. For Rome does not give up its territory lightly. And a new emperor knows that he cannot tolerate any threat to his undisputed power. It can only be a matter of time before Vespasian sends his legions north to exact the empire's retribution.

Hodder & Stoughton

Pandora's Boy

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

Private investigator Flavia Albia is always drawn to an intriguing puzzle - even if it is put to her by her new husband's hostile ex-wife. On the Quirinal Hill, a young girl named Clodia has died, apparently poisoned with a love potion. Only one person could have supplied such a thing: a local witch who goes by the name of Pandora, whose trade in herbal beauty products is hiding something far more sinister. The supposedly sweet air of the Quirinal is masking the stench of loose morality, casual betrayal and even gangland conflict and, when a friend of her own is murdered, Albia determines to expose as much of this local sickness as she can - beginning with the truth about Clodia's death. ****************Praise for Lindsey Davis and the Flavia Albia series 'Davis's prose is a lively joy, and Flavia's Rome is sinister and gloriously real' The Times on Sunday 'Davis's books crackle with wit and knowledge . . . She has the happy knack of making the reader feel entirely immersed in Rome' The Times 'Always clever and witty with some sparkling dialogue and genuinely comic moments . . . set against a totally believable and colourful background, and rattles along at breakneck pace to a spectacular climax' Crime Review

John Murray

Speak No Evil

Uzodinma Iweala
Authors:
Uzodinma Iweala
Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince and the Whitechapel Murders

Saul David
Authors:
Saul David
Hodder Paperbacks

The House Between Tides

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

'Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for this impressive debut...a beautifully crafted novel.' - Publishers WeeklyA captivating story of a crumbling estate in the wilds of Scotland, its century-old secret and an enduring mystery. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Tracy Rees.Following the death of her last living relative, Hetty Deveraux leaves London and her strained relationship behind for Muirlan, her ancestral home in Scotland - now in ruins. As Hetty dives headfirst into the repairs, she discovers a shocking secret protected by the house for a hundred years.With only whispered rumours circulating among the local villagers and a handful of leads to guide her, Hetty finds the power of the past is still affecting her present in startling ways.

Two Roads

The Sealwoman's Gift

Sally Magnusson
Authors:
Sally Magnusson
Hodder & Stoughton

Stryker 7

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold