Michael Arnold - The Prince's Gambit - Hodder & Stoughton

The Prince's Gambit

Major Stryker and the Relief of Newark

By Michael Arnold

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A standalone short story, part of Michael Arnold's acclaimed series of historical thrillers The Civil War Chronicles. 'Stands in comparison with the best of Cornwell' Yorkshire Post

'Fans of Bernard Cornwell will love Captain Innocent Stryker' Ben Kane


March 1644, and a Parliamentarian victory at the battle of Nantwich is quickly followed by news that the Scots have invaded, placing the King's northern territories in jeopardy.


Royalist officer Major Innocent Stryker is dispatched to hunt a dangerous spy, the link between power brokers in Westminster and Edinburgh. But after running his prey to ground near the Royalist stronghold of Newark, disaster befalls the mission.

A large Parliamentarian army is massing before Newark's walls and the garrison is out-gunned and outnumbered: its fall would spell ruin for the King's cause in the Midlands. But Stryker knows that the monarch's formidable nephew, Prince Rupert of the Rhine, is gathering his own force to march to the rescue. A contest of arms is inevitable, and Stryker, still pursuing his own quarry, finds himself embroiled in one of the most remarkable episodes of the English Civil War. Amid the clash of steel and the stink of powder smoke, he will need all his courage and ingenuity to prevail.

Biographical Notes

Michael Arnold lives in Hampshire with his wife and young son. His childhood holidays were spent visiting castles and battlefields but his fascination with the civil wars was piqued partly by the fact that his hometown and region of Hampshire are steeped in civil war history. You can find out more about Michael Arnold at www.hodder.co.uk or www.michaelarnold-net, or follow him on Twitter at @MikeArnold01.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473620964
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
If you like Cornwell you will like Arnold — Historical Novels Review
If you love Sharpe, you'll be knocked out by the 17th-century civil war adventures of Captain Innocent Stryker . . . at times this one-eyed veteran makes Sharpe look rather civilised. — Peterborough Evening Telegraph
A dark-hued romp, livid with the scents, sounds and colours of a country on the brink of implosion . . . impressive. — Daily Express on Warlord’s Gold
Hodder & Stoughton

Stryker 7

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold

Late Summer, 1644. The King's cause in the north has been shattered and the pivotal city of York has fallen Parliamentarian eyes now look to his remaining territory in the south in a push for total victory. But for Major Stryker, captured amid the bloody carnage of Marston Moor, the war appears to be at an end. Confined within the dank hell of London's Clink Prison, where the stinking floodwaters of the Thames are as deadly as his gaolers, his future is bleak. At the mercy of crazed inmates, murderous soldiers and a sadistic governor, this is a new world of savagery, disease and squalor, where all Stryker's military expertise counts for nothing, and matters take a turn for the worse when an old foe discovers his whereabouts. With enemies on all sides, Stryker faces death at any moment. But he knows he must fight for freedom at all costs, for beyond the Clink's high walls there remains a spy to be hunted, a lover to be found and a war to win.

Hodder & Stoughton

Beyond the Wild River

Sarah Maine
Authors:
Sarah Maine

From the author of The House Between Tides comes a stunningly evocative historical novel, perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent.'Beautifully told and quietly absorbing' - Kate RiordanScotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them. An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.***'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' The Times'Riveting' Publishers Weekly'Stunning' Booklist'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Hodder Paperbacks

The Cat of Yule Cottage

Lili Hayward
Authors:
Lili Hayward

A magical tale of Christmas and cats, perfect for everyone who loves A Street Cat Named Bob and Alfie the Doorstep Cat.It's nearly Christmas, and Jessamine Pike needs a serious life overhaul.Jess moves into Enysyule, a centuries-old cottage in Cornwall, and begins the process of renovating the rundown house by day and finishing her novel by night, planning to have both finished in time for the holidays. She's got good company: a beautiful, arrogant tomcat stalks around like he owns the place, and seems very skeptical of Jess' tenancy. But there's magic in the air... Local legends tell of a spirit that inhabits the area, and an ancient standing stone that keeps watch over the valley. As Christmas comes closer and closer, Jess uncovers treasures from Enysyule's past, and becomes involved in a fight for its future. For Jess has stumbled into a story that's been going on for five hundred years. A story about land, love, friendship, the Yuletide... and one remarkable cat.

Hodder & Stoughton

Marston Moor

Michael Arnold
Authors:
Michael Arnold

The Sixth in The Civil War Chronicles featuring Major Stryker - 'the Sharpe of the Civil War'FIVE ARMIES FORTY-SIX THOUSAND MEN ONE CROWNTHE BIGGEST BATTLE OF THE AGE2 July 1644. Five armies converge outside York. It will be a battle for honour, glory, and the fate of three kingdoms. And it will pit two great leaders - Oliver Cromwell and Prince Rupert - directly against one another for the first time. It is a day that will change the course of history.Into the cannon fire and musket smoke marches Major Innocent Stryker, battle-scarred hero of the Royalist cause. He must not only lead his men through the bloody horror and outwit his Parliamentary enemies, but uncover foul treachery on his own side. He will need every shred of experience and determination to survive.Marston Moor will be the decisive turning point in the British Civil Wars.This is the thrilling and shocking story of that battle.

Hodder & Stoughton

Deadly Election

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis

In the blazing July heat of imperial Rome, Flavia Albia inspects a decomposing corpse. It has been discovered in lots to be auctioned by her family business, so she's determined to identify the dead man and learn how he met his gruesome end.The investigation will give her a chance to work with the magistrate, Manlius Faustus, the friend she sadly knows to be the last chaste man in Rome. But he's got other concerns than her anonymous corpse. It's election time and with democracy for sale at Domitian's court, tension has come to a head. Faustus is acting as an agent for a 'good husband and father', whose traditional family values are being called into question. Even more disreputable are his rivals, whom Faustus wants Albia to discredit.As Albia's and Faustus' professional and personal partnership deepens they have to accept that, for others, obsession can turn sour, and become a deadly strain that leads, tragically, to murder.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Spook Who Spoke Again

Lindsey Davis
Authors:
Lindsey Davis
Hodder Paperbacks

The Emperor's Knives: Empire VII

Anthony Riches
Authors:
Anthony Riches
Hodder & Stoughton

Land of Heart's Desire

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Love That God Forgot

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Wales has reached the apex of her industrial clamour. But young Tom Mortymer, son of rich industrialist Iestyn Mortymer, has turned his back on his inheritance, exchanging the bell-clang and fire of his Upper Forest Tinplate Works in Morriston for the simplicity and wanderlust of a gypsy existence with his young Romany wife, Jen Wildflower. In time they come to settle on Flatholm Island where they become a refuge for the animals. Self-sufficiency is their ultimate goal; the substantial income from tinplate is ignored. But their simple idyll does not last. They are aware of a strange malevolence towards them.One frightening incident follows another until it is clear to tom and Jen that they will have to abandon their home and return to Cefn-Ydfa, their mansion in Maesteg. Their decision coincides with the arrival in Cardiff of Jethro Mortymer, Tom's uncle - whom he had long believed dead. Would Jethro be able to shed any light on Tom and Jen's continuing nightmare?

Hodder & Stoughton

Send Her Victorious

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Tales From Tiger Bay

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

The people who inhabited the dockland area of Cardiff, know as Tiger Bay,have engraved their personalities on the very air of Bute Street and, under Alexander Cordell's vivid pen, the streets are crammed again with everycreed and nationality; from priests and nuns to dockers and drunks; boxers,rugby fanatics, concubines and Bute Street ladies. The place comes alive in all its bawdy strength and colour.

Hodder & Stoughton

To Slay The Dreamer

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

Peerless Jim

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Jim Driscoll, adopted Welshman, one of the greatest boxers who ever lived. Robust, hot-headed, a born fighter - and a legend in his own lifetime. Moving between South Wales, London and America in the early years of thetwentieth century, this is the dramatic story of a true-life sporting hero - a story of fierce pride and burning ambition, but also of human weakness and a lovethat survives against all odds.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Fire People

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The White Cockade

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

An enthralling story of high adventure, ambush and pursuit, plot and counterplot during the ill-fated United Irishmen Rebellion of 1798.When seventeen-year-old John Regan takes on a mission entrusted to him by his dying father, he rides through an Ireland seething with danger with more than just his own life in his hands.The first in a trilogy of books set in 18th century Ireland, from the bestselling author of Rape of the Fair Country.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Healing Blade

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Dream And The Destiny

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

This Sweet And Bitter Earth

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell
Hodder & Stoughton

The Sinews of Love

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell

Orphaned by a tidal wave which claims her parents and her home, Ming Pei Sha is at the mercy of a world of human squalor and degradation. Destitute, she sells her body in a loveless match with an old businessman desperate for a son. Pei Sha witnesses first-hand the savage contrasts of the teeming city of Hong Kong, where the affluence and extravagance of the financiers' palaces cannot hide the appalling poverty of the slums. A city where and ancient and proud civilisation struggles against the corruption and greed of the modern age.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Deadly Eurasian

Alexander Cordell
Authors:
Alexander Cordell