Jeffery Deaver - The Cutting Edge - Hodder & Stoughton

The Cutting Edge

By Jeffery Deaver
Read by Jeff Harding

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Lincoln Rhyme is back - and from his New York townhouse, he and Amelia Sachs must contend with a killer who seems to be targeting couples just as they start out on their lives together.

Number one bestselling author and ultimate thriller writer Jeffery Deaver returns with a new Lincoln Rhyme investigation.

Rhyme and Amelia Sachs' latest case: catching a terrifying killer targeting couples...

The happiest time of their lives - will be their last.

William and Anna went to collect her engagement ring.

1.5 carat, almost flawless.

But the Promisor had other ideas for their future...

Their murder - and that of the diamond cutter they were visiting - is only the first of a series of macabre attacks. Someone is targeting couples just as they start their lives together. Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs, newly married themselves, are on the hunt.

But the killer is hunting down any witnesses who can help them. He has promised one thing: to destroy. Rhyme and Sachs will have to use all their own skills and determination to break his vow.

(P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Biographical Notes

JEFFERY DEAVER is the bestselling author of thirty-five novels, including the 2011 authorised James Bond thriller, Carte Blanche, as well as three collections of short stories and a non-fiction law book. A former journalist, attorney and folksinger, he has been shortlisted for and received numerous awards around the world, including Novel of the Year from the International Thriller Writers Association for The Bodies Left Behind, the Steel Dagger for Best Thriller from the British Crime Writers Association, and the British Thumping Good Read Award. He was recently shortlisted for the ITV3 Crime Thriller Award for Best International Author. Last year he received two lifetime achievement awards, one in Italy and one in the United States. He lives in North Carolina.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781473620537
  • Publication date: 17 May 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder & Stoughton
Deaver brings it all together and after drawing in the readers, delivers twist after twist, never letting up until the final chapter. Even then, he gives you a smack in the mouth. It is really top-drawer writing. — SHOTS
The nerve-jangling resolution of Deaver's latest chiller is as sparkling as any of the gems at the centre of The Cutting Edge, but he also manages in the final couple of pages to deliver one of the most vertiginous cliff-hangers any fan of the Lincoln Rhyme stories could ever wish for. — Saturday Independent (Dublin)
The tale is replete with Deaver's trademark twists and turns — Event Magazine
Hodder & Stoughton

Tailspin

Sandra Brown
Authors:
Sandra Brown
Hodder & Stoughton

The Woman in the Woods

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

The new thrilling instalment of John Connolly's popular Charlie Parker series.It is spring, and the semi-preserved body of a young Jewish woman is discovered buried in the Maine woods. It is clear that she gave birth shortly before her death.But there is no sign of a baby.Private detective Charlie Parker is engaged by the lawyer Moxie Castin to shadow the police investigation and find the infant, but Parker is not the only searcher. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in more than a missing child, someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake.And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring.For a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman . . .

Hodder Paperbacks

The Family Next Door

Sally Hepworth
Authors:
Sally Hepworth

Hodder & Stoughton

Never Go There

Rebecca Tinnelly
Authors:
Rebecca Tinnelly
Mulholland Books

A Map of the Dark

Karen Ellis
Authors:
Karen Ellis

A girl missingA woman, searchingA killer, planning...A thrilling new FBI series for fans of Tess Gerritsen and Karin Slaughter. FBI Agent Elsa Myers finds missing people.She knows how it feels to be lost...Though her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, Elsa cannot refuse a call for help. A teenage girl has gone missing from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads hides the fact that she did not go willingly. With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, the case starts to get underneath Elsa's skin. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.In order to save the missing girl, she may have to lose herself...and return to the darkness she's been hiding from for years.(P)2017 Hachette Audio

Hodder Paperbacks

Camino Island

John Grisham
Authors:
John Grisham

*****The Sunday Times 'Thriller of the Month', Mail on Sunday 'Thriller of the Week' and Sun 'Best for Mystery-Lovers'*****Someone is about to make a killingThe most daring and devastating heist in literary history targets a high security vault located deep beneath Princeton University.Valued at $25 million (though some would say priceless) the five manuscripts of F Scott Fitzgerald's only novels are amongst the most valuable in the world. After an initial flurry of arrests, both they and the ruthless gang of thieves who took them have vanished without trace.Now it falls to struggling writer Mercer Mann to crack a case that has thwarted the FBI's finest minds.Praise for Camino Island'A bewitching blend of high-stakes spying mission and summer romance, with a fascinatingly ambiguous central character' - The Sunday Times'The gripping plot will have you devouring the chapters in such a frantic fashion you'll begin to wonder if you are somehow complicit in this perfect crime' - Heat'Grisham shows charm, wit and a light touch' - The Times

Hodder & Stoughton

Mistress of Justice

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Burial Hour

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder Paperbacks

Bloody River Blues

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Hollywood location scout John Pellam thought the scenic backwater town of Maddox, Missouri, would be the perfect site for an upcoming gangster film. Until real bullets leave two people dead and one cop paralysed. Pellam had unwittingly wandered onto the crime scene just moments before the brutal hits. Now the feds and local police want him to talk. Mob enforcers want him silenced. And a mysterious blonde just wants him. Trapped in a town full of sinister secrets and deadly deceptions, Pellam fears that deal will imitate art, as the film shoot - and his life - race toward a breathtakingly bloody climax.

Hodder Paperbacks

The Sleeping Doll

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Steel Kiss

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Deliveryman

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Lincoln Rhyme Collection 5-8

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Vanished Man

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

A killer flees the scene of a homicide at a prestigious Manhattan music school and locks himself in a classroom. Within minutes, the police have him surrounded. Then a scream rings out, followed by a gunshot. The police break down the door. The room is empty.Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are brought in to investigate. For the ambitious Sachs, solving the case could earn her a promotion. For the quadriplegic Rhyme, it means relying on his protégé to ferret out a master illusionist they've dubbed the conjurer, who baits them with murders that become more diabolical with each crime.As the fatalities rise and the minutes tick down, the pair must move beyond the smoke and mirrors to prevent a terrifying act of vengeance that could become the greatest vanishing act of all.(P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton

Hodder & Stoughton

Night Music: Nocturnes 2

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Fans of THE BOOK OF LOST THINGS and NOCTURNES will be delighted with this superbly crafted collection - with two award-winning stories - of the supernatural from John Connolly.A decade after NOCTURNES first terrified and delighted readers, John Connolly, bestselling author of thirteen acclaimed thrillers featuring private investigator Charlie Parker, gives us a second volume of tales of the supernatural. From stories of the monstrous for dark winter nights to fables of fantastic libraries and haunted books, from a tender narrative of love after death to a frank, personal and revealing account of the author's affection for myths of ghosts and demons, this is a collection that will surprise, delight - and terrify.NIGHT MUSIC also contains two novellas: the multi-award-winning THE CAXTON PRIVATE LENDING LIBRARY & BOOK DEPOSITORY, and THE FRACTURED ATLAS, featuring The Wanderer in Unknown Realms, previously published as an ebook, developed here into a five-part novella.NIGHT MUSIC: NOCTURNES 2 is a masterly collection to be read with the lights on - menace has never been so seductive.

Hodder & Stoughton

The Kathryn Dance Collection 1-3

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver

Three gripping suspense novels featuring Special Agent Kathryn Dance: a kinesics expert whose understanding of human behaviour makes her a brilliant investigator and interrogator.

Hodder & Stoughton

Solitude Creek

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

A Song of Shadows

John Connolly
Authors:
John Connolly

Grievously wounded private detective Charlie Parker investigates a case that has its origins in a Nazi concentration camp during the Second World War.Broken, but undeterred, private detective Charlie Parker faces the darkest of dark forces in a case with its roots in the second world war, and a concentration camp unlike any other . . .Recovering from a near-fatal shooting and tormented by memories of a world beyond this one, Parker has retreated to the small Maine town of Boreas to recover. There he befriends a widow named Ruth Winter and her young daughter, Amanda. But Ruth has her secrets. She is hiding from the past, and the forces that threaten her have their origins in the Second World War, in a town called Lubko and a concentration camp unlike any other. Old atrocities are about to be unearthed, and old sinners will kill to hide their sins. Now Parker is about to risk his life to defend a woman he barely knows, one who fears him almost as much as she fears those who are coming for her.His enemies believe him to be vulnerable. Fearful. Solitary.But they are wrong. Parker is far from afraid, and far from alone.For something is emerging from the shadows . . .

Hodder & Stoughton

The Coffin Dancer

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver
Hodder & Stoughton

The Skin Collector

Jeffery Deaver
Authors:
Jeffery Deaver